32 Portland, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Right now my life centers around grad school at OHSU. With that said, I also work hard at keeping everything in balance.

To keep myself fit and sane, I spend a lot of time rock climbing, biking (whenever the weather happens to be cooperative) and running (when the weather is less cooperative), and working out at the gym.

Around town, I enjoy spending time with my friends, cooking, drinking tasty things, reading, and hiking in Forest Park or further afield.

At home, my version of domesticity can be encapsulated as switching over from listening to Hood Internet mashups to the Economist podcast as I'm cooking dinner from scratch and drinking homemade tonic.

As a leftover from the old summary system, I am kinetic, zen, and eccentric.

I enjoy surrounding myself with people who have their own passions, interests, and ambitions. If I was going to outline the kind of women I'm attracted too, the best way to put it would be that I'm seeking people who have parallel - but not necessarily the same - interests and activities. Are you an engineer, a writer, or practice medicine? Fantastic. Do you kayak, go to yoga, or ride horses? Wonderful. Do you like baking, welding, or knitting? Fabulous.
What I’m doing with my life
Medicinal chemistry, otherwise known as making drugs. Trying to not set myself on fire in the process. Currently writing a dissertation.

Bouldering as much as my fingers will let me.

Getting funny tan lines by spending large amounts of time on my bikes, either commuting or riding longer distances.

Writing a blog about cocktails and spirits.

Traveling when I can tear myself away from the lab - 2013 included a bike tour around SW Scotland to visit distilleries as well as a trip to NYC to see friends, while 2014 was closer to home with some time on Whidbey Island. Trying to decide where to go next. Any suggestions?
I’m really good at
My life has revolved around chemistry and biology of various flavors for almost a decade, so I'd like to say that I'm halfway decent at it. Though it doesn't always feel that way when I've been banging my head on an experiment that isn't working.

I won't win races, but I like to think of myself as a reasonable cyclist. Generally prefer going far over going fast, but sometimes it feels good to push hard.

I've been climbing for almost two decades and can't imagine my life without it. With that said, I'm not so good at top rope or lead climbing these days, but I can tear up the boulders.

I have a pretty good memory... sometimes. This means that I can recall obscure facts that I learned years ago, but often forget why I went upstairs.

I'm almost always willing to help my friends, even if I'm not nearly as good at asking for help myself.

I make pretty tasty drinks and like sharing what I've learned. To quote a friend: "You're like a charity or Jesus, but for booze!"

I can fold a fitted sheet.

I have also been told that I am an excellent source of body heat.
The first things people usually notice about me
Good question...I'm not really sure. Long hair? Legs?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
a) Packing for Mars - Mary Roach, Beggers in Spain - Nancy Kress, Under the Banner of Heaven - Jon Krakauer, The Aztec Treasure House - Evan S. Connell, Replay - Ken Grimwood, PIHKAL - Alexander Shulgin, Uncle Tungsten - Oliver Sacks, A Distant Mirror - Barbara Tuchman, 1491 and 1493 - Charles Mann

b) City of God, 10 Things I Hate About You, Henry V (1989), Saved, Hot Fuzz, Hotel Rawanda

c) Red Dwarf, Coupling, Firefly, Veronica Mars

d) Artists in heavy rotation right now would include Zoë Keating, Kinski, Ratatat, Bowery Electric, Do Make Say Think, DJ Shadow, Justice, Tortoise, Stars of the Lid, Diplo, Outkast, El-P, The Hood Internet, Cannibal Ox, Raekwon, Run the Jewels, and D'Angelo

e) I really enjoy cooking Indian food, shrimp scampi, coq au vin and whatever else jumps out at me from the cookbooks on my shelf. Eating out, I really enjoy tapas, Ethiopian, various varieties of Latin American food, and South Asian cooking. As one of my pictures will attest, I also like sampling the incredibly good desserts on offer in this town. I enjoy making tiki drinks and classic cocktails, but often a neat pour of scotch really hits the spot.
The six things I could never do without
My bikes, climbing gear, good books, some kind of computing device, friends to talk to, water.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I'm going to make my syntheses and assays work.

Ideas from books that I'm reading or conversations I'd had recently. Ta-Nehisi Coates' blog has done a lot of good for stimulating my thinking and pushing me to question my assumptions.

What new and exciting (or perhaps not so exciting if I'm feeling lazy) things I'm going to cook for dinner or drinks that I want to make.

New posts for my blog.
On a typical Friday night I am
If it's been a long week, I'm probably de-stressing at the climbing gym.

Otherwise I'm probably reading, hanging out with friends, staring at my computer or some combination thereof. There will probably be drinks involved.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I noted on the sidebar that I don't want to have kids, I really meant it. Getting snipped was one of the biggest weights off of my mind, ever. Since I'm of an age where kids are a serious consideration for a lot of people, it feels worthwhile to get that out upfront.
You should message me if
You would like to? I'm really only interested in dating people in my immediate area, but penpals from further afield can be fun.