Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Dorothea_Brooke

34 F Somerville, MA

My Details

Last Online
Oct 12, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm an east-coaster, a liberal, and a scientist. I like hiking, biking and cross-country skiing. I also enjoy city things: going to museums, shows and nice restaurants - but I'd rather be in the mountains than anywhere else. Specifically: on top of a mountain. I often prefer cooking at home to going out. I have a sassy streak. I don't get bored.

These are my faults: I'm kind of impatient and I'm not good at filtering what I say - but I'm trying to be better! I'm a poor swimmer. I'm sure I have other shortcomings, but I'll leave the rest to the imagination.

I grew up in the country and in some ways I'm still a country girl: I drive stick, wear jeans and split wood. I wear sensible shoes.

I am not spontaneous. This is a word I see on this site a lot and I don't get it. What does this mean? Is there something wrong with making plans? I think I'm pretty good at planning. I'm also happy to follow other people's plans. In my experience, if no one is making plans, there's a higher probability of sitting around doing nothing. I really don't like sitting around doing nothing.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm doing a post-doc in microbiology. More narrowly: biking to work, pipetting liquids and mucking about with bacteria, biking home, cooking dinner; repeat with occasional interludes of hanging out with friends and family.
I’m really good at
Not getting discouraged in the face of repeated failure, saying what I think, eating all the vegetables I buy (unfortunately, I'm also good at eating all the cookies I buy).

I'm moderately good at: cooking, knitting, adjusting the brakes on my bike, brewing coffee before having coffee, bacterial genetics, squashing bugs, waiting tables.

I'm not very good, but wish to improve at: frisbee, swimming, biochemistry, relating to my nieces.
The first things people usually notice about me
Oh god, if you ever meet me, please don't tell me. I do not need to start worrying about how people perceive me like I did when I was 22.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I don't really think these things are important for relationship compatibility, only as conversational topics. I don't want to be defined by what I like. But I'll do a few.

Books: Middlemarch, P&P, The House of Mirth, Candide, The Blind Assassin. Getting into some fantasy with Game of Thrones and Ursula K. Le Guin. Lately: books by and about women. Right now: The Sot-weed Factor by John Barth - I'm mostly finding it sexist and offensive.

Movies: The Shawshank Redemption, Star Wars (old ones), Pride and Prejudice (The BBC miniseries, NOT the egregious travesty with the loathsome Keira Knightly), anything by Ang Lee or Pedro Almodovar. Braveheart! I know Mel Gibson is not cool to like, but it is still an awesome movie, and I especially love the kick-ass princess and the fabulous scenery - I want to go hiking in Scotland!

TV shows: Veronica Mars, Mad Men, The Wire. I haven't been watching that much TV lately.

Music: Lucinda Williams, Kristin Hersh, Kasey Chambers, Lady Gaga, Van Morrison, Andrew Bird, M. Ward, Camera Obscura, Johnny Cash, Wagner's Ring Cycle, Beethoven, Dvorak. Funk!
The six things I could never do without
I can't help but take this literally, and that makes for a boring answer, so instead I'll list my six favorite things - not including people - in order with respect to my affection for them:
bike
hiking boots & wool socks
chef's knife
cross-country skis (it's supposed to be a snowy winter this year!)
library card
car - makes leaving the city so much easier!

But if we're playing the post-apocalyptic scenario game, then I'd like to have:
antibiotics
rifle and ammo
hunting knife
seeds
ax
shovel

But that said, I really could not live without my family. I have the best family ever.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to be better at my job, how to be a nicer, more patient person; how to be healthier; what to cook for dinner; how to do things more efficiently.

How to have a freedom beyond "the freedom to be lord of my own tiny skull-sized kingdom, alone at the center of all creation." (paraphrased from David Foster Wallace)
On a typical Friday night I am
Gaah! I don't know. Nothing very cool. Lately: going to bed early so I can get up early and hike on Saturday.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 30–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are a featherless biped possessing a soul. By a soul I mean that: you think about how to be a better person, you are thoughtful about how you impact other people, and you do something with your time that you find meaningful.

You are the sort of person who can call people out on their bullshit - I need someone in my life who can tell me when I'm wrong.

Also - maybe we are a little bit different. While I think it's important to have in common a general perspective on life, it's also nice to be with someone who is different from me and who can thus push me to expand my experience a little. Maybe you are more musical, artistic or socially outgoing than me, or are different in some other way - that would be good for me. Maybe you think I would be good for you, too.