Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Dukedog9

57 M Panama City Beach, FL

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 2:23am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Before starting this online dating thing I was wondering why I put myself through this stress. I mean, I believe in the abundance of the universe, and that wonderful new adventures are out there to be experienced. But surely if something is meant to be, won't it just happen?

But I am reminded of an old joke about a hapless, down-on-his-luck fellow named Paddy O'Brien who continually prays to God to let him win the Irish Sweepstakes. Winless, hopeless and seemingly foresaken, Paddy cries to his Lord, "Oh God, Why Not Me?" Then the clouds part, a brilliant sunbeam shines on Paddy and he hears a booming voice respond, "Paddy, will you meet me halfway and buy a lottery ticket!"

So began thinking of how I could open myself to the abundance of the universe and meet that special someone. I am sure God has his plan for me just like he did for ole Paddy O'Brien, and so I decided that I should meet him halfway. So here goes...

"I'm a modern man, digital and smoke-free; a man for the millennium. A diversified, multi-cultural, post-modern deconstructionist; politically, anatomically and ecologically incorrect. I've been uplinked and downloaded, I've been inputted and outsourced. I know the upside of downsizing, I know the downside of upgrading. I'm a high-tech low-life. A cutting-edge, state-of-the-art, bi-coastal multi-tasker, and I can give you a gigabyte in a nanosecond. I'm new-wave, but I'm old-school; and my inner child is outward-bound. I'm a hot-wired, heat-seeking, warm-hearted cool customer; voice-activated and bio-degradable. I interface with my database; my database is in cyberspace; so I'm interactive, I'm hyperactive, and from time to time I'm radioactive."

George Carlin wrote that; but I wish that I did since it describe me well. Sadly he's gone now. I believe he's up in Heaven laughing with Jesus at how wrong most of his earthly opinions were while he was alive here on Earth. But I like him and his comedy anyway - especially because it's true that I'm interactive, I'm hyperactive, and from time to time I'm radioactive (i.e., a nuclear engineer by training).

So here are a few facts about me.

I've been divorced for 5 years.

My son lives in Gulf Shores, AL and I disappear from time to time to go over and visit him. We play a lot of golf together.

Dukedog9 is a tribute to my Border Collie / Black Lab named Duke who just passed away. Who knew there were so many Dukedogs out there.

I like intelligent women, humor, theater in all forms, big cities, quiet moments, playing golf and tennis, good books, romance, electronic gadgets, good friends, and for music I like classic rock, jazz, Gregorian Chants, and classical guitar and piano.

I have developed many useful and wonderful skills but few of them relate to camping. Poison Ivy and I just do not mix despite several youthful attempts to power through. So now my idea of roughing it is staying in a hotel that doesn't have room service.

Dogs like me. Cats, well it's hard to get an honest opinion from them sometimes, but only one has ever complained.

I'm fully domesticated. I am able to fix just about anything or able to find out who can fix it.

I've been cooking for over 40 years and I'm pretty damn good at it. I learned to cook Italian in Naples, Italy.

What do you do after watching Dancing with the Stars? I stay on ABC and watch the Castle murder mystery show. Remember, Richard Castle's Surprise Birthday Party this past season? That episode was very well written, directed and acted. But of course I would think that, I like Alfred Hitchcock movies.

I don't drink often or very much because there's just no upside to it anymore.

I am an "Officer and a Gentleman", but we may have to compromise a little if you want me to come into your work and carry you off in my Dress Whites. (Hint: I'm better standing around and being charming like Richard Gere in the "Pretty Woman" shopping spree scene, than carrying someone through a building in a manner other than the basic fireman's carry. And no matter how hard I try with that fireman's carry, it's just not that romantic, even in Dress Whites.)

Right now, I want to be more social and see if I met God halfway.

I expect him to surprise me when I least expect it.

My Perfect Match will:

Be at least one year out from her last serious relationship.

Have clear goals and have focus in her life.

Be pretty, and witty, and bright! And feel pity, for any girl who isn't her tonight!

Be quietly, but firmly, spiritual. One who practices random kindness and senseless acts of beauty by nature and not just for public recognition.

Be willing to meet me in the middle.

Know her own mind, talents, emotions, and foibles - and loves herself anyway.

Be open to a healthier lifestyle that includes less junk food, packaged food, and fast food.

Be willing to share her kitchen and cook with me.

Enjoy exercise, and play or be willing to learn golf and/or tennis. Oh, and she should be able to tolerate watching football.

Appreciate Popular Culture.

So thank you for taking the time to read this. Hopefully these words have piquéd your interest. If they do, please send me an email and introduce yourself. If not, good luck with your search.
What I’m doing with my life
I've got some pretty big plans for the future; but this is nothing new. I like to be focused and productive reaching the little goals that I set for myself. I'm having a blast being more social and meeting new people. The world's a pretty amazing place filled with interesting people - wouldn't you agree?
I’m really good at
Procrastination! I'll explain all about it tomorrow.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
It's all good. I listen to lots of audiobooks since I'm frequently in my car traveling somewhere. I can usually appreciate any movie, but some should be seen on a big screen and almost all others are better in the home sitting on the couch with a special someone. I usually have music playing somewhere in the house at any given moment. I like food. Food is best when fresh ingredients present a feast to the eyes, nose and mouth (and someone else does the dishes...).
The six things I could never do without
Olive Oil
Basil
Lemons
Water
Sunshine
Moonshine (think astronomy, not distillery)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My son and the less than stellar choices that he is making right now.
Quantum Entanglement's effects on manifesting reality.
New recipes to cook.
New business ideas for work.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either cooking for, or out to dinner with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
A vestigial tail - I don't have one, ... anymore. Or do I!?!
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 49–59
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You like what you've read and would like to know more about me.
You need a golf buddy or you'd like to be more social.
You haven't met a gentleman lately.