Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

DvmPat

31 Hydes, MD Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 27–34
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My details

Last online
Apr 19
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from med school
Job
Medicine
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Status
Seeing Someone
Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a veterinarian who grew up in Baltimore, and moved back from Seattle in June '13, to be closer to family and friends rather than going all-out for career. Priorities change, and I think I've been a lot happier for it.

I like all sorts of things. Sports, hiking, photography, reading, movies, games (board, video, card), karaoke, trivia, anything at all related to animals, photography, shooting sports... a wide variety of stuff. I have also been recently accused of being a gym rat... this may not be far off :p

Also, recently started house-hunting... which is exciting and terrifying all at once!
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a veterinarian working with pets right now. I like exotic animals and conservation, so I'm trying to get involved with that where I can.

Traveling is also a big part of my life, whenever I can afford it. I've been to South Africa and Australia for wildlife courses and would go to either again in a heartbeat. I went rafting on the Grand Canyon in 2012, and that is definitely happening again in the future.

In travel/conservation - currently in early planning stages to hopefully spend a month in the Congo volunteering for the Mountain Gorilla Veterinary Project!

One of my life goals is to go for a trail ride on all six continents where this is feasible. So far, I'm 3/6.

Future plans -- I want to ride around old castles in Ireland, along the Great Wall in China, through the Andes or the Amazon (or both!) in South America... anyone want to come with?

Nearer future plans - Managed a 5K PR by nearly 3 minutes at the St. Patty's run. So now, training to try and beat THAT at the Hopewell Cancer Support 5K in late April!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Animal work. I'm also a pretty fair photographer, cook (desserts, crock pot concoctions, home made cheese), conversation partner, player of games (board/card type, not head-games!), and being there for my friends when they need me.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm generally quiet with new people, but can be chatty once we warm up to one another.

They may also notice I really have no sense of style - polo shirts are about as dressy as I ever get, and that's rare. T-shirts and jeans are about it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: For fun: Terry Pratchett (RIP :( :( )
, Neil Gaiman, Jim Butcher (Dresden - can't get into Codex), George R. R. Martin, Jacqueline Carey, Terry Goodkind, Clancy, King, Christopher Moore, Patrick Rothfuss, Mira Grant, many others. I'm an unashamed fan of Marvel comics, particularly the X-men, Deadpool and, of course, Hulk (strongest one there is!). Other graphic novels like Watchmen, Sandman, Lucifer and Walking Dead are also favorites.

Serious/deeper reading/just plain interesting stuff: Mapping Human History, Reading Lolita in Tehran and looking forward to starting The Red Queen soon. Deep fiction: The Art of Racing in the Rain, and Water for Elephants.

Movies: Marvel movies, LOTR, *good* horror (Silence of the Lambs, not Saw), Broken Lizard comedies, sci-fi/action/drama in general - not a rom-com guy, sorry.

TV shows include Burn Notice, Dexter, NCIS, House, West Wing, Castle, Bones, Lie to Me, Firefly, Dr Who, Archer (daaanger zooone), Sherlock (BBC version with Bilbo as Watson). I tend to avoid reality TV like the plague on humanity that it is.

Music: Most things that aren't rap or boy bands are fine by me. I haven't been to many concerts. Reel Big Fish most recently, Trans-Siberian Orchestra once, Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band four times. Going to see Scythian at Rams Head Annapolis soon

Food: All sorts. Chinese, Italian, American, Pho. I would like Mexican and Indian, except most things spicy do very bad things to my stomach, so I avoid 'em
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family and friends are the only things I *can't* do without - they are the most important things in my world by far.

I'd prefer to not do without my dog (a boxer-pit mix best described as "love bug"), my internet connection to keep up with friends all over the world, and chances to travel and see and learn new things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The philosophies of Terry Pratchett:
"The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely to be preferred to the presence of those who think they’ve found it.” (Wee Free Men)

“If you trust in yourself…. and believe in your dreams…. and follow your star… you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy.” — Jingo
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I work until 7:30ish.. after that, usually at the gym.

I would be glad to replace that with "out and about with fun people" however!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That thing above about how terrible reality TV is? I.. I ignore that when it comes to cooking shows. Aaah, Gordon Ramsay... I want to see him on Iron Chef, taking on Morimoto. I also have a soft spot for Chopped and Cutthroat Kitchen, though Alton Brown seems like kind of a dick.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Update - have been dating a very interesting lady for about a month now (mid-April), and am no longer looking for dates.

You're looking for a FRIEND to share some laughs, some days out hiking in the sun or taking in the zoo, or road-tripping around the area. Someone to chat with, try new recipes with and generally have fun. Along with at least my dog, and maybe yours too! :p

Or, a list of situations!
1) You want to try Dangerously Delicious Pies in Canton with me
2) You also have a goofy lovable dog that it would be fun to introduce to my brainlessly-happy pit
3) To be determined

My only dealbreakers:
1) Smoking
2) Drugs (including weed).
3) Kids (Pretty certain I don't want any of my own, but definitely not interested in someone elses)