Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Ember_on_Ice

43 F Columbus, OH

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:02pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly), Italian (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I was raised a suburban liberal by hippie-wannabe parents in a largely right-wing part of Columbus. I'm still a big old liberal, but I've realized that the city/suburbs are not where I want to be. I lived in Seattle for a while, which reinforced my wish to find a nice small town where I can put down some roots. There are lots of great towns in the Pacific Northwest, but I was really missing my family, so I came back to Columbus a couple of years ago, just in time for the spectacular Ohio Autumn weather.

My long-range plan is to settle somewhere cozy that's within a couple hours' drive of my family, and I'd love to have a man along for the ride!

Frankly, I think it might be a little tricky, since I seem to have somewhat unusual wishes. I really don't care if a man holds doors open or pulls out chairs for me; I'm much more interested in how he speaks to me and everyone else around him. I don't care how much data he carries in his head about baseball stats, as long as he also remembers to check out the international headlines once in a while and can muster up some compassion for other people. I'd love for a guy to have his own interests and expect me to have my own, and wouldn't it be great if they overlapped a bit? Maybe he could even teach me to appreciate basketball (a longshot, but you never know) and I could teach him to love Pushing Daisies. I would never expect a full-grown adult to bend to my will in everything, but compromise is nice every now and then.

Also, I'm not exactly the grammar police, but I believe very strongly in the power of words and the importance of good communication, so please don't stomp all over the language, or I'll just wince every time you open your mouth. Which would suck for both of us. Articulate, intelligent, witty and sensual men are the most attractive to me; I can be brought to my knees by sheer magnetism, but only for a little while before my brain kicks back in.

I'm a searcher in this life, and I believe that the journey doesn't end here. I believe in the fundamental interconnectedness of everything. I'm looking for a man who can teach me and learn from me, and accompany me on the adventures awaiting us.

I have a dream that one day I'll be standing at the sink doing dishes or something, and my lovely man will come up behind me. He'll nuzzle my neck and run his hands down over my shoulders to points south, and the dishes will be forgotten for a while. The key is that when the appetite is sated, we'll both finish up the dishes, and then play a game, watch a movie, take a walk or do a crossword. This, to me, is a well-balanced relationship: passion, play, work, communication and simple togetherness.

Care to join me?

UPDATE 3/27/14
Following rigorous scientific exploration, I can reliably report that people who are unable to participate fully in making plans, or who flake out on plans more than 25% of the time, will make me insane.
Also, unanswered questions left hanging out there create vast amounts of discomfort in my psyche -- if I ask a direct question, please give me a straightforward answer, even if you think it's not "the right" answer, or even if the answer is, "I don't know, let me get back to you." Trust me, there's no script, and you will not be docked points for having actual opinions or needing time to consider things. Just don't think that your silence will spawn anything good in my head.
Thank you for your attention.
What I’m doing with my life
Searching for balance, fulfillment, and fun.
I’m really good at
Appreciating the little things that are good, overlooking the little things that are not so good, making potato salad, telling stories, fixing stuff, creating processes, punctuating, learning.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have no idea, and I certainly would never assume that I know what other people are thinking/noticing. Guess I'll just have to ask folks...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: I basically like anything I can dance to or that tells a story. My dance style is all about the shoulders and hips, so when they play Mustang Sally, I just can't keep still. I enjoy '80s alternapop, swing, blues, bluegrass, some raucous rock, showtunes, soul, funk, reggae, some folk, and just a hint of country.

Books: Barbara Kingsolver, Oscar Wilde, Douglas Adams (Dirk Gently a bit more than HGG), Tom Robbins, PG Wodehouse, Dorothy Parker, Madeline L'Engle, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Bill Bryson, Scott Fitzgerald (except Gatsby, which I hated), Diana Gabaldon, Patricia Kennealy-Morrison, Adrienne Martine-Barnes, Zora Neale Hurston, and so many more.

Humor: Stephen Fry, Monty Python, David Sedaris, Laurie Notaro, Marx Brothers, Sweet Potato Queens, Ab Fab, Coupling.

Movies: I am fascinated by movies and took a bunch of film studies classes in college, so I can talk about them ad naseum. Some of my favorites are: Notorious, Joe versus the Volcano, The Princess Bride, Fight Club, Follow the Fleet, There's No Business Like Show Business, Victor/Victoria, To Catch a Thief, RED, Finding Nemo, To Have and Have Not, Serenity, The Life of Brian, Mystery Alaska, Silverado.

Food: I like to try new things, but sometimes get stuck in a rut when I find something I really like, 'cause I keep going back to it. I enjoy Mexican, Chinese, Thai, sushi, sammiches, BBQ, and pretty much whatever else there is, as long as it doesn't include internal organs, which I find icky. I've been cooking a lot lately, and am having fun finding new stuff to make for my roommate and family; Donna Reed better watch her back, because I'm taking over!
The six things I could never do without
Daily human interaction
Daily solitude
Memories
Anticipation/Faith in the future
Perspective
Cheese
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The difference between having a job and having a life's work. I am looking for the Work that I am best suited for, but I have so many interests that it's hard to figure out which is The One. Am I making any sense?

Also, I seem to be spending a pretty hefty amount of time recently thinking about sex. Specifically, I can't get enough of FetLife, which is a great website for exploring sexuality and building community. If you want to know more about me, go check it out! (my handle there is the same as here)
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends or home with a book or movie or hanging with family. I'd like to be out a bit more often, bowling, dancing, Gallery Hopping, road tripping, etc., but would like someone to come with me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I sometimes listen to country music...on purpose.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 42–55
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You know how to use full sentences, are able and willing to make (and stick to) plans more than 12 hours in advance, generally show up when you say you will, and can tell me why you think we'd have fun together.