Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


33 Bristol, UK Woman


I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 30–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Mar 26
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body type
Strictly vegetarian
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Working on Ph.D program
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Has cats
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Spanish (Poorly), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an archaeologist working in local government as well as studying towards a PhD (part-time - it takes forever!) and teaching a bit at university. I also do quite a lot of dancing, which I've been doing for about 5 years, now - swing and blues, but mostly blues these days. Which looks like this (when really good teachers do it): I'm generally pretty cheerful, like intellectual conversations and geeking out over things I care about (archaeology, dancing, stuff going on in the world, the idea that there might be an epic fire-zombie/golem-zombie showdown between certain brothers in the last GoT book). I quite often make jokes to cope with awkward situations. I don't always judge them well.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
See above - teaching, studying, working, dancing, going to the pub. I quite often go to dance events in other cities and sometimes abroad - I've been to Switzerland, Inverness, London and Berlin for big ones this year as well as fairly regular trips to London and Oxford. I have lots of friends in a lot of different places, so do my best to stay in touch with people - facebook seems to be useful for this.

Other things I love: travelling, my job, anything to do with palaeolithic archaeology, books, good sci fi (books and tv - more Firefly than Star Trek, though), hiking in the countryside/by the sea, going to interesting performances or exhibitions, singing, blues music (and loads of other genres, but I DJ blues for dancing at the moment and am getting very into it), parties/dancing with friends, drinking tea/gin/wine/ale, cooking/eating great vegetarian food (Vietnamese is my current favourite).

I love finding random things to do at weekends, like to get out of the city for a stomp in the countryside or a visit to somewhere historical/archaeological when I can, go to the Watershed or Cube to see foreign-language/independent/arthouse films, occasionally make it to the Old Vic for plays, read proper books when I have time and listen to a lot of music (swing to make me happy, blues and lyrical stuff to help me feel sad or thoughtful – e.g. Tom Waits, Joni Mitchell, Elliot Smith, Nick Drake, Anja Garbarek – and classical to help me work).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Archaeology things like identifying random metal objects people find in the garden, academic-type sciencey thinking (aka critical analysis), dancing, singing, dressing up in a vintage frock or raincoat and wellies, depending on the occasion and the weather, not taking myself too seriously, making people laugh, being silly, ranting about politics or discussing evolutionary theory in the pub . . . Also occasionally completely reinventing myself or packing a bag and heading off to the other side of the world for extended adventures.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Short, gingerish lefty, maybe a bit bossy . . .
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books –
Mara and Dann, Doris Lessing
Blindness, José Saramago
A Room of One's Own, Virginia Woolf
Death and the Penguin, A Matter of Life and Death, Andrey Kurkov
The Disposessed, The Left Hand of Darkness, the Earthsea books, Ursula Le Guin
On the Road, Jack Kerouac
Philip Pullman
Neil Gaiman
Loads of others, plus a pile of must-reads that I swear I'll get around to one day . . .

TV: The Thick of It, Borgen, Miranda, The Killing, Friday Night Dinner, Fresh Meat, Dr Who, Never Mind the Buzzcocks, QI, Black Books, Father Ted, Green Wing, the Mighty Boosh, Flight of the Conchords. Classics like Monty Python, Jeeves and Wooster, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers, M*A*S*H (Alan Alda as Hawkeye was my earliest crush, which probably explains my soft spot for men in 50s Hawaiian shirts). Radio 4, e.g. the News Quiz, the Now Show, a good play without too much wrist-slitting. I love a bit of R4 drama like the Complete Smiley by John Le Carré. And more recently The Waves, by Virginia Woolf. And you can't beat In Our Time for a lovely bit of Melvyn Bragg and his brain!

For music, see above.

Films – too many to list. Prefer independent/foreign language. I recently saw Beasts of the Southern Wild and On the Road, both of which I loved – though you should never see the film instead of reading the original Kerouac. Saw Surviving Life (Theory and Practice) last year, also excellent (funny and dark at the same time). Another independent one called Frozen River. Studio Ghibli, Ken Loach, foreign language, e.g. anything with Jaques Tati, anything by Almodovar. Amelie for romance. Easy Rider, The Shining, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. Silly British comedies like Sean of the Dead. Classics, like anything with Alec Guinness or by Hitchcock.

Food – vegetarian, preferably non-British (Vietnamese, Thai, Indian, Italian, Spanish, Mexican), though I do a pretty good veggie sausage toad-in-the-hole.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family and friends (that's one!), dreams, music, science, green/old places/the sea, intelligent conversation. Rebelliousness.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Human evolution - e.g. what could the evolutionary explanation for that behaviour/trait be? Friends and family, places I've been or want to travel to, politics/how the world could work better if I was in charge ;-) (or nobody was in charge), stories, music and dancing, how on earth to manage all the things I'm doing at the moment, pay the rent and still work on my thesis . . .
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Hunting down danceable jazz/blues in Bristol/further afield like a chrome-soled tiger! Or choir rehearsals followed by pub, or pub with skittles or bar billiards, or going to the cinema to see a strange surreal Czech film, or cooking vegetarian Vietnamese noodle soup and summer rolls for friends, with beers, wine or gin and tonic. Or eating a pizza and knitting a new hat (not at the same time - tomato) in front of a film or box set.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
For a sciencey person, it's a bit odd that I occasionally do my own tarot readings. But it's all based on Jungian psychological principles about archetypes, symbols and the unconscious, you know!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think I sound interesting.