Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


22 Ottawa, Ontario, CA Woman


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 20–23
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Jan 26
5′ 8″ (1.72m)
Body Type
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from university
Politics / Government
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Has dogs and has cats
English (Fluently), French (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hey, I'm Melanie, and at any given moment I've probably got a Go-Go's song stuck in my head.

I live for life's fascinating discoveries. I absolutely adore it when I stumble across a revelation that blows my mind. It just gives me a sense of fulfillment.

I'm into music, sexuality, feminism, the '70s and '80s, language, and philosophy. I like to talk about these things a lot. I love meeting new people, particularly if they're weird like me. I'm outgoing, sweet, chatty, and creative, and I get ludicrously enthusiastic about the things I'm working on. Despite how I come across, I'm a total introvert.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've finished my degree! Who knows what's out there for me now. I'm currently working as a casual editor in the government, until March. So that means my weekends are open again!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
making terrible puns related to my favourite bands.

Actually, making terrible puns in general.

Seriously, though, I'm good at making people feel better about themselves by telling them all the wonderful things about them. I'm great at smoothies, pizza, Sudoku, making flower arrangements, singing (contralto for life), spelling, and employing my vast vocabulary correctly.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
is my hair. It's now short, in a retro bob, but still curly as ever.

(Or my longtime habit of engaging strangers in conversation?)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Ooh, this section. Okay.

Books: I am a major bookworm, but it's mostly of the music-related nonfiction variety. I carry a tote bag with me now, and it's not rare to find me taking home five or six books from the library. Consequently, my room is a book-filled mess. I love reading about the development of musical genres, the association of genres to social movements, and especially the codification of so-called "bad" musical genres. I find it fascinating to discern what our culture considers "bad," and how long it takes for a maligned genre to become okay to like again. Anything sexuality-and-music-based is great, too.
That's not to say I don't like fiction, however. I do; I just don't read it as often. I seem to like pretty much anything feminist/queer-themed from the 60s-80s. Or anything where the protagonist ends up in an asylum. Book recommendations are always appreciated! (At the moment, I'm reading Giovanni's Room and The Garden of Eden.)
(And I read a ridiculous amount of Uncle John's Bathroom Readers, which accounts for my vast knowledge of historic ephemera.)

Movies: Heavenly Creatures, Rocky Horror Picture Show, The Room (oh hai), Wayne's World, Lilo and Stitch, Mulan, It's a Wonderful Life, Pulp Fiction, and pretty much anything light-hearted and funny or cultish. Movies I've watched recently that I've enjoyed: Rent, I Am Divine, Female Trouble.

Music: Yes. tells me I'm "into indie, rock, 80s, pop, and new wave," which is pretty accurate. Indie pop is my favourite genre, followed closely by new wave (especially female-led new wave), and then anything with a strong pop foundation. I could go on all day, but suffice it to say that I'm a big music nerd and am predisposed to like any band that uses the double-single handclap (clap-clap, clap!). My top 3 of all time are Belle & Sebastian, the Cars, and Architecture in Helsinki. Also, the Go-Go's are my everything right now.

I think it's probably best to link to my, actually.

I'm also always open to music suggestions! If there's a band you think I need to get into, message me.

TV: The only TV show I watch with any regularity is Archer. And Dancing with the Stars when it's on. I'm like the anti-hipster when it comes to TV. I did like Bojack Horseman, though!

Food: Hummus, sweet potato fries, caramel corn, chicken, bananas, peanut butter, veggies of all kinds. Oh, and I really like garlic. I've even had garlic fudge before (verdict: surprisingly good!).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Music. Muuuuuuuusic. The absolute love of my life, above all, currently occupying 75% of my day's thoughts and 50% of my pie-in-the-sky dreams. For me, music is a balm, a healer, an energizer, an inspiration, a release, a source of joy, and a means of making sense of the world. I listen to music, I sing, I dance, I write lyrics and I'd love to learn to make it. All of my favourite date ideas have to do with music - seeing live shows, going through record stores, and just sitting somewhere cozy and listening to each others' favourite songs.
2. The internet. I probably spend too much time online, but my god is there ever so much stuff to discover! New fandoms (mostly music ones for me, though I've been in all sorts), new music, new places in the city to visit, new people, and countless other things. The internet fuels my mind.
3. Learning. As I've said above, one thing that keeps me going in life is learning new astounding facts. Enriching my brain is a constant goal.
4. Friends. My friends are all uniquely interesting people with fascinating views on life. Discovering their many, many sides, drawing emotional support, and enjoying their company are things that I cherish.
5. My family. They're extremely near and dear to me.
6. Words. Ha, I almost typed "worlds" there. Which makes sense, because to me, words ARE worlds. The more I know, the more I can describe.

(If I had a seventh, it'd probably be parentheses.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Music, and how to connect my favourite bands so that they all make internal, consistent sense. Queer new wave music. Language, food. Mostly music, though. (How many times have I mentioned music in this profile?)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
reading, listening to music, drinking tea, browsing online. Solitary pursuits, mostly. I generally stay at home unless there's something really fun and specific to my interests out there, like, idk, new wave/indie pop night? Is that a thing? Poetry slams sometimes.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've got anxiety. It's generally more of an annoyance than an actual impediment, but it's there. I dunno, I'm not an especially private person.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you live near me, first off. You're within my age range. You're friendly and similarly passionate about things. You like staying in.

I'm more attracted to women than I am men, on average, but I do like both.