Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Extravert_85

28 M Saint Paul, MN

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:50am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Greetings! I am verbose, and I write long sentences; prepare yourself. Also, if you actually read my whole profile, thank you. Every word is genuine. :)

I am a talkative, energetic, skeptical, patient, and tactfully emotive individual, seeking meaning, peace, knowledge, and progress for and in this world.

My Myers-Briggs Type Indicator is ENFJ, about which I’m pretty excited. I am moderately high on the "highly sensitive person" spectrum. My top two love/affection languages are tied in strength: "Words of Affirmation" and "Quality Time".

I am constantly active, physically and mentally, seeking to accomplish innumerable things across the sundry aspects of life in order to live fully and significantly help society. On the other hand, I need and embrace the quiet, contemplative moments of each day. Balance is beautiful.

I love teaching and explaining things, and I also derive great joy in simply listening to others, while giving advice when requested or tactful.

Additional fun/important items:
- I love talking about feelings and hearing other people's feelings (that's what ENFJs do)
- I love talking about ideas and hearing other people's ideas
- I am a feminist (or profeminist, depending on your interpretation of how feminism applies to men)
- My friends call me a germaphobe; I consider myself "hygienically persnickety"
- I love shopping malls -- I find them relaxing
- For some reason, numerous people INCORRECTLY and humorously assume that I am Christian, gay, and/or an introvert. There's absolutely nothing wrong with any of those things; it's simply inaccurate for me and is more amusing than anything that such misconceptions keep occurring.
What I’m doing with my life
Starting in Fall 2014, I'll excitedly be entering a PhD program at the University of Minnesota in "Quantitative Methods in Education", focused on Statistics Education, under the Department of Educational Psychology! I'm SUPER stoked to be heading back to school. I completed my undergraduate degree at UW-Madison with a BS in Astrophysics and a Business minor in 2009, and I completed an MS in Science & Technology Policy with a Public Health minor in 2012 from the University of Minnesota.

In the meantime, I'll be a research fellow for the University of Minnesota working on three different projects in the following areas: (1) how academic funding connects to outcomes in food safety & security, (2) expert consensus on what constitutes "nanotechnology" in various contexts, and (3) women's experiences in science and technology policy careers.

I'm additionally a project analyst for a water quality non-profit organization.

What I like to do in my spare time:
- Fitness/running/sprint training (I'm presently injured and will be in physical therapy for several months; my range of activities is quite limited for now.)
- Improv acting class on Wednesdays
- Trivia Night on Mondays
- Nonfiction reading (there's so much to learn!)
- Shopping/hanging with friends -- always a fun, relaxing time
- Words With Friends, Scrabble, and other games
- Dancing, when practical and time allows (and when I'm not injured -- ugh)

Other things I hope to get to eventually:
- Writing short, humorous skits or stand-up comedy (there's an actor/writer in me waiting to get out)
- Developing a podcast with my friend (we argue about various topics)
- Getting involved with local organizations or governments (there's an activist side to me as well)
- Continuing to self-teach in piano and bass guitar, and perhaps dabbling in music production someday
I’m really good at
- Teaching
- Expending energy
- Extemporaneous explanations
- Cleaning anything
- Diagnosing problems
- Overanalyzing anything
- Listening to others' concerns
- Quirky humor
- Self-reflection
- Seeing all sides of an issue
- Managing details
- Connecting ideas
- Quantitative tasks
- Proofreading
- Somehow getting into long, friendly conversations with most cashiers and baristas (yep, I'm THAT person -- the one holding up the line, because I can't stop chatting)
The first things people usually notice about me
I smile and laugh a lot, and I talk expressively with my hands.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: While I prefer nonfiction (science, technology, psychology, philosophy, anthropology, race and equality, etc.), I do enjoy a well-written science fiction or spy/adventure-thriller. Harry Potter is likewise really awesome.

For a fun addition, the following are the magazines to which I'm currently subscribed: Psychology Today, Scientific American Mind, Pacific Standard, Scientific American, and Discover.

Movies: I appreciate non-cheesy science fiction, spy/political suspense/international intrigue, and not crappy comedy films. My favorite serious and comedic films are “Run Lola Run” and “Mean Girls”, respectively. As a highly sensitive person, I can't/don't do horror films.

Shows: I’m not hugely into television, but I have my favorites, nonetheless. These include Sherlock (BBC version), Frontline, The Daily Show, The Office, Star Trek Voyager, and Shark Tank.

Music: My tastes are fairly specific, though they span a few genres. I seek energy, emotional depth, meaning, or ideally all three from music. I absolutely love hard rock/alt metal and electronica/electronic rock. At present, my two favorite bands are Ladytron and Sevendust, but I’m sure that will change at some point as it has in the past.

Food: My focus with food is health! As a result, I prefer a variety of whole grains, nuts, fruits, vegetables, assorted dairy, and lean proteins. Being born and growing up in Wisconsin and having dairy farmers in my family history, cheese is easily my favorite food (in moderation, of course). Dark chocolate is a magical gift of this world, and I enjoy tea...and ice cream...and green tea ice cream is a thing.
The six things I could never do without
- Lively, intelligent, empathetic, and/or humorous interactions with cool people
- Motion/fitness/exercise
- Meaningful and/or intense music
- Time for introspection, peace, and learning
- Time for noisy boisterousness (my extraversion must breathe every day)
- Daily laughter
I spend a lot of time thinking about
…a lot of stuff.

If I had to summarize, it would be as follows:
- Survival of the human species
- Ethical and social aspects of science/technology/business
- Psychology
- Relationship and marriage dynamics
- Various life philosophies
- Individual vs. societal tradeoffs
- Human equality
- Interconnectedness and complexity
- Creating a peaceful and happy society (and ecosystem)
- Health research & communication
- Many other subjects...
On a typical Friday night I am
…enjoying the company of friends, playing sports or exercising, out shopping, dancing, enjoying a movie at home or in a theater, or working/reading at cafes, among many other options.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
On a lighter note, I (regrettably) used to have hair surpassing my shoulders -- it was bad. (It was THREE YEARS of growth with only one trimming part way through.) Hey, we’re supposed to make a few mistakes in college, right??
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–35
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
…you:
+ can engage in both a totally serious and a totally silly conversation without taking disagreement personally;
+ enjoy looking for humor and meaning in daily life
+ are physically active;
+ are intellectually inquisitive;
+ care about things other than money -- though it’s naturally important;
+ are conscientious regarding health and wellness;
+ appreciate basic food safety guidelines;
+ don't believe in astrology;
+ don't live a highly religious or faith-based life -- we can be friends, though!;
+ enjoy social gatherings;
+ don't travel all the time -- traveling drains me, but occasional traveling is fine.

Lastly, denial of independent friendships or denial of friendships with a specific gender outside of the romantic relationship is not cool.
(I love my friends and I always will, and they span both the gender and sexual-orientation spectrum. You should love your friends too. A relationship shouldn't change that.)

If I sound ridiculously intense, don't worry, I'm not. :)