Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

FireNorSteel

47 M Alameda, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 13
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Note (November 2012) : My dance card is more or less full these days. I'm only rarely on here and then just to see what a few friends are doing. I'm not likely to respond to messages.

Hi there! I'm a bit of a blend of disparate elements. One portion of me is the consummate ubergeek : I design electronics for a living (usually something that involves processing video and that has me thinking about implementation of complex realtime algorithms in very large, very fast FPGAs) but the important thing is the aspect of creation. To me there's something immensely powerful about starting with an idea in one corner of my brain and through hard work and experimentation bringing it to life to fill some purpose. It doesn't have to be electronics - it could just as easily be carpentry (I've rebuilt a house in the past) but electronics pays better.

The flip side is somebody who enjoys dancing a fair amount either as a performer or just for my own pleasure. I do a bit of improv, and in recent years have even sung a bit in front of audiences. The balance between the geek and the performer helps keep me (mostly) sane.

I read a little bit of everything but have an old love for sci fi and fantasy. I love games (computer, board or whatever) and will happily match you either at a long run of civilization or of Catan. I haven't watched TV for years (although DVDs are a welcome periodic distraction). I'm a generalist by inclination - I love to know perhaps a few subjects in depth but also a little bit about a wide range of things. I am incessantly curious about all aspects of the nature of the world around us.

I am inquisitive, playful, and adventurous
What I’m doing with my life
Growth. Learning. Raising my son. Healing. Wondering what to study next at the moment...
I’m really good at
Designing and making things. Talk with me about it and I'll either have a good guess as to how it could be done or I'll know where to start looking to learn how to do it. I'm also told I'm a pretty good dancer on a ballroom floor.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. My legs (shaped by a life of first swimming then dance and as my usual comfort preference is to wear shorts they're usually visible).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books for me are mental comfort food. The walls of my house are filled with a lifetime's collection of (mostly) science fiction and fantasy, with a liberal dose of history, various technical treatises, and a dash of more wide ranging fare (philosophy & politics in the past few years).

Recent reads : Path of the Fury (Weber), The Singularity is Near (Kurzweil), The Ethical Slut (always a good reread when things get a bit rough), just starting into a biography of Sir Christopher Hatton and after that I just got a copy of the Divine Comedy.

Movies : Blade Runner, Brazil, Star Wars, The Fountain, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Music : Lots of folk and bits of history that I've either danced or performed to, modern elements ranging through pop and electronica, lots of 70s and 80s rock.
The six things I could never do without
- Time with my son
- books all around me
- computers and other bits to fiddle with
- touch, intimacy and connection
- interesting conversations with good friends
- dance of all kinds!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The nature of relationships, both in terms of very personal reactions and what I observe in those around me. Love - what am I brave enough to let myself want and what am I honest enough to understand I need. Observations of the world ranging from bits of history and their bearing on the modern age to the future (ask me what I hope to be doing 100 years from now). Technology and how it's effect on our day to day world is going to be accelerating in the next generation (in short : we haven't seen *anything* yet like we're about to). Wondering how to in practical terms be an openly sex positive man without (at 6'2" and 190#) seeming to some like a predator in this day, age and culture. The realities of day to day polyamory... and yes, sex.
On a typical Friday night I am
Gaming with friends, perhaps home parked in front of a computer, out spending time dancing if I'm lucky.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am openly polyamorous... if that makes you uncomfortable I'm not going to be your cup of tea. If you want to know what that means to me (and each person has a different idea of that) feel free to ask.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 30–50
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you love time in hottubs and can talk at length about the world, science, history or technology. Bonus points for those who can dance a 19th century waltz (or want to learn), or who can help me learn Irish set dance a bit better.

you're looking for somebody to dance with! I am always open to new dance partners, regardless of romantic potential.

I'm looking for partners in adventure as I'm thinking about trying to travel more. I'd love to have a companion to share those adventures with me. My passport is current, and in the past year I've added Malaysia and China to my list of places I've been. What's next?