Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

FleurDElise

34 F Cardiff, United Kingdom

My Details

Last Online
Mar 15
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White, Other
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Smokes
Trying to quit
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Job
Other
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), Japanese (Fluently), Russian (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
First off, I'm not all that good at writing these sorts of things. I never particularly know what to say.

I tend to be the sort of person that, even when everything's blowing up around her, is quite happy to help her best friend out on the paper that she's been tearing her hair out about. That's a pretty central feature of my personality - I like to be there for people I care about, though I also try to make enough time to be present for myself, as well.

I tend to be something of a romantic. For me, emotional intimacy alone is already lovely. When it inspires physical intimacy, it's absolutely wonderful. Romance is something that I can see being found almost anywhere - over a delicious dinner with lots of wine at a good Italian place, at a movie, on a night-time walk down the street, or over TV and beer in my living room.

I also tend to be very good at messing with people's assumptions (or, perhaps, their assumptions happen to be good at messing them about, and I just provide the venue). For example, my aesthetic tends quite markedly in the 'femme' direction (though not in all things: I almost never wear makeup and my shoes are pretty much all flats). When it gets warm, I practically live in dresses (when it gets cold, I switch to jeans straightaway - I like feeling the wind on my legs, not having frost on my arse), and, of course, that leads many to assume that I must have a rather demure temperament and conventional philosophical views (it also leads a lot of men to apologise for swearing around me, which fucking cracks me up). I have to say that it is no small pleasure to watch people realise how little their assumptions are actually worth when I point out why the capitalist system needs to go and how to help it find its way to oblivion, swear frequently and artfully (and if you don't realise that there's an art to it, you're doing it wrong), and am quite well versed in the intricacies of the LBW rule.

As far as work is concerned, I'm a translator (Russian, Japanese, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Dutch, English), writer, editor, and photographer (wildlife, landscapes, cityscapes, travel).

I can be reached at ElisitadeCinci (on AIM), eliserh (on yahoo), or lizska@hotmail.com on MSN, eliserh (skype), 57636319 (ICQ)

I am smart, funny, and caring
What I’m doing with my life
Translator (mostly of extremely boring things) writer (political satire and commentary, poetry, and the occasional recipe), and photographer.

At the moment, I'm gradually typing up and editing the various travelogue chapters I wrote during the two months I spent travelling round Europe.

Anyone interested in reading what I've completed so far can find it at http://reuniontravelogue.wordpress.com

I'm also in the preliminary phases of trying to get a stand up show at next year's Fringe.
I’m really good at
Writing, cooking, helping people, languages. I'm also a fair hand with a bat and a very occasionally useful offspin/medium pace bowler. I've also often been told I should do stand-up.

I'm also brilliant at the best time-waster in the history of ever: Geoguessr. Once you work out a systematic approach to the information in the images, it's actually quite easy to get within 100 km of the site.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm reading something in an alphabet they're not familiar with, and that I rarely sound like I'm from where I'm from. I'm something of a phonetic chameleon, and whatever accent is being spoken around me generally rubs off on me without my noticing it or having much control over it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Manufacturing Consent (Chomsky & Herman), Герой нашего времени (A Hero of Our Time - Lermontov), La casa de los espíritus (Allende), The Shining, Das lyrische Stenogrammheft (The lyrical steno tablet - Mascha Kaléko), just about everything Kurt Tucholsky ever wrote, A People's History of the United States (Zinn)

Movies:
Good Will Hunting, Aimée & Jaguar, Four Weddings & A Funeral, Das Kaninchen bin ich (The Rabbit is Me), Office Space, La Haine

Music:
El último de la fila, INXS: Kick, Víctor Jara, Quilapayún, Die toten Hosen, DAM, DDT, Rudi Schuricke, Edith Piaf, Fabrizio de Andre', JAVASPA

Food:
Chicken vindaloo, spaghettoni all'arrabbiata, panzerotti, Georgian wine, Brunello di Montalcino, Barolo, Benedetto Cavalieri artisanal pasta (best in Italy)

TV:
Prime Suspect (I love Helen Mirren), City Homicide, The Circuit, Rake, Prófugos, Test cricket, eagerly awaiting the next instalment of A Touch of Cloth ('Ask me how much I like doing crime! One to ten! You'd be surprised.')

Clothing: 50s-style swing dresses

My current reading list includes:

Leena Lehtolainen's 'Luminainen'
The Da Vinci Code in Finnish (more as a language-learning device than anything. Translated editions are an old standby of mine)
Dave Hann, 'Physical Resistance: 100 Years of Anti-Fascism'
Bradley & Ewing, Constitutional and Administrative Law
Simon Hughes, 'Cricket's Greatest Rivalry: The Ashes in Ten Matches'
The six things I could never do without
1. Books (For reading and for writing)
2. Chess
3. Good food, music & conversation
4. Cricket
5. Vintage and Repro Dresses
6. Love
7. Yes, I know that's more than six. No, I don't care that it's more than six.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Things I really ought to write but don't get round to writing.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home, reading and having a nice dinner with a glass of wine
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I consider MST3K to be one of the best things ever put on TV.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like girls
  • Ages 25–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
The above sounds interesting to you, you like homemade Italian and Indian food, you would derive enjoyment from long, meandering conversations that cover a lot of ground in a short time and contain a substantial amount of snark...

If you ever find yourself thinking that Iain Duncan Smith must be the most irredeemable git alive, only to have to reconsider the minute George Osborne opens his mouth.

If Alex 'Lord Acton' Callinicos has blocked you on Facebook, that's also a plus.