Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Frank_Bascombe

38 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Jul 19
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I would love to say that I’m wry and cool, but I’m too much of a dork for that. I come from good-hearted Midwestern parents, and hopefully some of it rubbed off, despite the fact they chose to raise me in sin-filled Los Angeles. In high school, a friend and I staged a walk out to protest our stupid trigonometry teacher, and being nerds, we actually stuck around in the hallway to teach the other dissidents how to do the math. In college, a drunken professor kicked me out of a huge lecture for laughing at his joke – at least I thought it was a joke. Despite the evidence to the contrary, I'm not a trouble maker, but I like getting in trouble every once in a while.

I tend to go for guys who are curious and clever. A good education is nice, but many of the smartest people I know are the ones who've kept learning outside the classroom. Witty and weird are plusses too.
What I’m doing with my life
I’m a librarian, and my current position has me working in collection development. Basically, I'm a professional book shopper. It's pretty nerdy, but just right for me. In the parts of my day that no one pays me for, I am likely cooking or eating or thinking about eating. I am the manservant of a lovely mutt named Trixie and I do my best to keep my nephews stocked with good books and fart jokes.
The first things people usually notice about me
It probably depends on where you find me. If I'm at work, people might notice my preppy library costume. If I'm walking around Brooklyn, they'd likely notice my dog. She's pretty awesome, and far more desperate for attention than I am. Hopefully, people notice my friendly demeanor. I smile a lot, so they'd probably notice that too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books & Writers: Richard Ford, Eudora Welty, George Orwell. Recent favorites have included Waterland by Graham Swift and An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine. Guilty pleasures include true crime and hardboiled detective novels by James M. Cain and the like.

Movies & Directors: Pedro Almodovar, Robert Altman, Todd Haynes, the Bourne movies with Matt Damon, and many more.

TV: The Good Wife, Antiques Roadshow, Drag Race. Recently deceased favorites include Friday Night Lights, The West Wing, Lost

Music: Rufus Wainwright, Ray Charles, Willie Nelson, Joni Mitchell, The Avett Brothers, John Grant and on and on and on
The six things I could never do without
I try not to care to much about things, but the following are several things I don't want to live without:

A library
A park
Oysters
Coffee
Asparagus
Bourbon
I spend a lot of time thinking about
when I get to eat next.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I get the hiccups when I've had too much to drink. Not every time, but enough that people notice and make fun of me.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 30–50
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
something in my ramblings piqued your interest. Maybe you'd like to talk about books over beers. Maybe you're also a member of the hungry people's club, and you want to grab a bite to eat. Maybe your life is dog-less, and you'd like to make friends with mine.