Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

FutureofLove

53 F Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Aug 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm positive and bubbly, a fundamentally glass half kind of person with my efforts to practice gratitude deepening that. I laugh about the hard stuff in life without ignoring it - no easy feat. My energy, combined with me being a strong and soulful thinker, means I'm just plain out comfortable in my own skin. Meditating is helping me being even more in tune with myself.

I'm loyal and supportive in my relationships and even when I get busy always connect with friends and family. I try to break down our disengagement with each other in this culture; I talk with people in the grocery store line and say hello to strangers on the street. I also care about the community and world at large and act on it in terms of being part of social and economic justice movements.

I'm a good storyteller but would love to hear your stories too. Someone said recently it seems as if I'm amused and am amusing but in a thoughtful, observant way.

I don't expect us to have identical interests and I bring a lot of openness to this adventure of dating. At risk of sounding overly analytic about romance, I'm open to a few options: 1) I'm most interested in LTR. That means love, passion and dynamism between us but also all the complicated stuff - my kid, probably your kid, and who we are at this point in our lives. 2) A friendship/dating/sexual companionship type relationship without getting involved in each others family life. This is because, quite honestly, I have to spend a lot of energy on my kid and you might be a great person but not into that. "Friend with benefits" seems too trite a phrase and I'm not looking for a booty call. Really more a well-rounded companionship situation given the complexity of my parenting right now. Perhaps you have some kind of limitations as well where this might make sense.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Doing my part to build racial and economic justice movements; connecting people and ideas; and bringing in a sense of humor, gratitude and adventure into everything I do.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Hosting a brunch.

Making up songs with my kid spontaneously, which I've come to understand not everyone does. Why not?

Having my mind wander into the terrain of what is on my grocery store shopping list while meditating.

Making the mundane fun.

Moving effortlessly between insights on life, the world, our souls and politics.

Relating to many kinds of people and moving between different worlds.

Organizing things to happen.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My upbeat and optimistic energy and often, a certain sparkle in my eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Recent books: Octavia Butler's Kindred, Junot Diaz's This is How You Lose Her, a T.C.Boyle book, Diane Ravitch's critique of education and W.E.B Du Bois' John Brown. Just revisited Gloria Naylor's Linden Hills which is so intense. Historical novels relax me and take me out of the day to day so I'm going in that direction these days. I'd like to think I'm going to read Thomas Piketty's book but it's actually unlikely because most of my reading is at night and vulnerable to zoning out. Music - I lean more to R&B, soul, salsa. I love getting lost in dancing in a crowd and don't do it enough. I so exercise/dance a a few times a week. I'm a Scandal freak (I'm fighting it) and catch a few too many Bravo shows which I do recognize as a brain suck and I roll my own eyes at myself.

I've wanted to see more plays and I have been on a roll this spring: Fences, This House Will Not Stand, Amnesia, Raisin in the Sun, Children are Forever.

The good food and drink in the Bay Area is pure happiness. A stark contrast to my upstate NY upbringing - meat, potatoes and vegetables in plastic at the supermarket - although I periodically have a craving for starchy food covered in gravy. Please know you don't have to indulge me in that for us to be a match but you do have fair warning.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My daughter, friends, our dog, and the East Bay hills - my go-to place to refresh and would hike more if I had time. But also romance, sex, and the ocean.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
That special person I hope to meet. How to build badass social justice movements. Meditating. How to be a great mom to an evolving teenager and all the racial nuances of being a white mom to an African-American daughter.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Going out for sushi of late. Or hanging out with friends gathering around the kitchen table to laugh and cook up the crazy novel we'll write about a post-apocalyptic Bay Area. If we connect, you can write a chapter if you like.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I don't think making out is just for teenagers.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 42–60
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like what you read and something resonates (obviously) and you're smart, engaged, and passionate. I'm in a mixed race family with my child and my family overall so my comfort zone is more with white men who have relationships with communities of color or men of color. I'd love to hear about you if you relate to me so get in touch!