Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Gacawiga

33 M Mountain View, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 6:47am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 4″ (1.93m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Okay, where to begin....

I've been living on the Peninsula for just over a year and am jumping back into the dating pool after what I would consider a long break. I've worked really hard for a really long time to get where I am (although I still have a long way to go!) and finally feel like I am starting to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

My weekdays are spent masquerading as a Scientist for a biotechnology company. I try to cycle into work at least 4 times a week and spend about an hour on my bike everyday.

My weekends are spent trail running, exploring the Bay area, tracking down the elusive 'world's best' cocktail, and having awesome BBQs and dinners with close friends. Toss in random road trips, board game nights, dance clubs, and some live music and you have a pretty good picture of how I spent my time.

Some would consider my circle of friends pretty small and I would probably agree. I tend to have a small but deep circle of friends. There are some people in my life that I might not talk to very often, but would get on a plane for in a heartbeat.

While I love hanging out with my friends, at my core I'm a pretty big introvert. I need my alone time for deep thinking and to recharge.

I'd much rather be outdoors hiking in the rain than plopped in front of the TV letting my brain leak out my ears. I'm not blatantly anti-TV, but if you are a big couch potato then we probably won't get along for very long.

I live well within my means and live debt free. I believe in saving for a rainy day (and also saving for fun stuff!). A good partner for me would have a similar viewpoint on finances.

I love to travel but wouldn't say that I'm addicted to it. I've been to England, Ireland, India, Thailand, and, most recently, Guatemala. Every couple of years I seem to go on a long trip outside of the States as a way to 'reboot' my life. Strangely, I recently spent almost an entire week in Boise, ID for a music festival, but I've never been to New York city.

The beard comes and goes in waves. It is probably the longest it has ever been right now. I might decide to randomly shave it off someday or I may carry it to my grave.

From my username, you can figure out all of the states and which order I have lived in them (minus my most recent move to California). Clever, I know...
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a Scientist pretending that I'm a protein engineer for a large biotechnology company.
I’m really good at
Making and executing long term plans.

Attempting tasty meals with just a couple of ingredients.

Taking naps after really long runs.

Going to comedy clubs and being the only one laughing at truly offensive jokes.

Running very slowly for long periods of time.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall. My glasses (currently orange in color with a blue liner). My fabulous beard.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: William Gibson, Neil Gaimen, Neal Stephenson, Bill Bryson, Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, Paolo Bacigalupi

Shows (I watch these piecemeal over very long periods of time):
Warehouse 13, Workaholics, 30 Rock, Futurama, The Walking Dead, The Venture Brothers, SeaLab 2021, Archer, Breaking Bad, True Blood, Battlestar Galactica, The First 48, The Wire, The Shield, That Webb and Mitchel Look, Sherlock Holmes, Peep Show, I.T. Crowd, Little Britain, Jekyll, Hustle, Doctor Who, Torchwood, etc.

Music (sadly, I haven't had time to actively explore new music in a very long time):
Wilco, Counting Crows, The Black Keys, Jack White, The Carolina Chocolate Drops, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Radio Head, etc. My favorite type of act to listen to while I'm out on the town are live DJs (preferably deep house, techno, and minimal techno) and bluegrass bands.

Food:
I'm down for Thai, Mexican, Sushi, Pho, and just about anything else you can throw my way.
The six things I could never do without
Science
Running
Cycling
Cooking
Comfortable blue jeans
Shoes without arches
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How fast and drastically Science and Information Technology will continue to change our world at a fundamental level.
On a typical Friday night I am
Planning a long trail run or decompressing from the work week with friends over dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
While I typically work in a very high tech field, I tend to be a bit of a Luddite in some regards, but I'm working on this. I just recently got my first smartphone (21st century, here I come!). Going to graduate school for as long as I did means I missed out on 3-4 generations of consumer technology. I'm catching up and upgrading at what my friends call a 'snail's pace'.

Tattoos? I've got em'.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You love to laugh and are kind.

You can put your phone down for an entire evening to interact with someone.

You love to talk about the future interactions between society and science and how it may fundamentally change what it means to be human.