Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

GaryMe

63 M South Pasadena, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 10:10pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Medicine
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I tried two careers before deciding on my present one. Now that I've been in practice for 28 years, I think I'll keep this one.
I have two Chiropractic practices. One in Glendale and one in South Pasadena. I taught at the college level for over 15 years but stopped doing that to take some time to myself, and to enjoy life a little more. I'm well-known and a real part of my community. I can't go into some restaurants without a patient saying hi, or the waitstaff making a fuss over me. I love being a part of a community.
I like to cycle with my cycling group or by myself. Sometimes I'll take my trusty Trek to the beach and just wander with my IPod on. Sometimes I'll have a goal.
I either cycle or go to CrossFit 2-3X a week.
I have two sons and a family and I'm very close to them, even now that they're up and gone. I get "Face Time" IPad updates every few weeks. One is in college, the other a Physicist.
When they have a big problem, I'm the one they call first.
I sit in meditation twice a day, every day, and have for (exactly) 40 years. It keeps me solid. I'm the go-to guy for emergencies, for everyone.
What I’m doing with my life
I find that it's important for me to make plans and set new goals often. I'm a maker and a planner and a get-it-done kinda guy.
Once I decide to do something, it gets done.
I read voraciously. I read everything.
I don't do much halfway, ask my kids. I'm either not at all, or all over it.
Right now I'm planning to open a new Chiropractic practice. My third. I will either drop or sell my Glendale one.
What am I doing with my life? Cooking to music. Tasting wine with my friends. Chatting up my sons. I used to run a political discussion group for a few years so I go to talks and seminars sometimes. I like Physics so I'm at Cal Tech presentations.
I like Opera, but have particular tastes in that regard. I don't care if you do or not.
I love classical music, but also all forms of rock, old and new.
I work a lot. I'd work less if I were dating someone.
Love museums and art. Long drives to nowhere. New restaurants.
Two weeks ago for the first time I drove my car to my office in South Pas, then got on the Gold Line and took it to Union Station, then took the Surfliner Amtrack metro along the beach to San Diego. I had my own little 4-seat suite and a huge window to look out with my feet up and shoes off. It was $37 one way and awesome to not drive.
Came home with my son later the same day. He was coming up from a meeting and I went down just for the adventure. The train stops ON THE BEACH in San Clemente. There's a day trip for sure.
I'm really creative and always looking for interesting and fun things to uncover and play with. 'Twould be nice to have a partner in crime.
I’m really good at
Diagnosing, Creating, achieving, dancing, cooking, reading.
I'm really good at being patient while the other person tells me their point of view that opens my mind up to new possibilities and understanding.
I'm good at making people....laugh. I especially like to do it while they're eating (it's deliciously evil.."oh, I'm sorry, did that wine come out your nose?? I bet the bouquet is ...well...").
I'm good at Dreaming. I dream of my future, hopefully with someone I rather adore, and dream of us making something that all our friends will envy, but only because we have one of those relationships that ....."work". I'd like people to envy us that.
I'm really good at waiting. I'm waiting for the woman that I've been waiting for. I'm doing things to meet her, but I understand that sometimes you have to wait for really special things to happen in your life.
I'm good at getting at the hard things with people. I've spent most of my adult life listening to people tell me their problems; mental, physical, emotional, financial, and then we arrive at solutions together without judgement or pre-supposition.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm balding. I'm content and people can read me like a book. I endeavor to life a life of such transparency that I don't have to ever lie or hide anything. Ever.
Thank the lord for Bruce Willis and Sting or I wouldn't be hip at all.
They notice I'm in charge of whatever it is that's happening. I can't help myself. I see solutions almost instantly, and when I don't I'm smart enough to wait until solutions show themselves.
They notice people are laughing around me, especially when they just had wine come out their nose from a sudden laugh. (PS, this is not required to date me).
They notice I fit in with nearly every social situation. I can swear with sailors and discuss Proust with professors. I can be quiet when its time to be quiet and audacious verbally when that is appropriate. I have big words and I'm not afraid to use them.
I'm erudite, locquacious (and yes, I checked the spelling on that), but my Joisey accent can drop out in a flash.
The first thing people notice when I'm with a woman at an event is that I'm WITH that woman, and not with everyone else at the party, even if we aren't in proximity at the moment.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The Way of Life: Lao Tzu.
Picasso by Norman Mailer.
Broken Music by Sting.
Kitchen Confidential: Bourdain.
The Unbearable Lightness of Being: Kundera.
Business at the Speed of Thought: Gates.
Zen Flesh, Zen Bones, Reps.
It's Even Worse Than It Looks: How the American Constitutional System Collided With the New Politics of Extremism by Thomas E. Mann and Norman J. Ornstein

Movies: Lawrence of Arabia, Zero Dark Thirty, Hansel and Gretel, Django Unchained, Silver Linings Playbook, and Lincoln.

TV: No Reservations. Newsroom, Game of Thrones, Treme, Big Love, The Wire.
I've recently discovered the new BBC "Sherlock" and have both seasons on DVD.
I like to take my IPad3 into bed and curl up with a good Netflix or HBO Go movie.

Music. Classical: Mozart, especially his piano concertos.
Bach: his Brandenburgs and organ works.
Stravinsky's symphonies, and his Ballet, "Petroushka"
Opera: mostly Mozart, and the Italians.
Tomas luis de Victoria's acapella works.
Classic Rock. New Rock. Wynton Marsalis, Sting, classic jazz.
I love the Beach Boys' harmonies, Poco, the Police, Annie Lennox, and more.

Art: Monet, Manet, Ansel Adams, Picasso, Braque, Apollinaire, Beaudelaire, Eliot (TS not George), Zen poets, Chinese poets, Garcia Lorca, Emily Dickinson, and Walt Whitman.
I love the MOCA, LACMA and Norton Simon.
The six things I could never do without
Coffee.
my GPS
My Ipad.
Daily meditation.
Talking to friends about everything, preferably over dinner.
Sharp Wustoff knives. Mauviel (if I could afford it) and the occasional Le Cruset.
Sunday calls from my sons.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to improve my practices and services.
World affairs.
Where my oldest is going to do his Post Doc.
My next adventure.
I think about Dating at times, and wonder why I'm still single.
Where my weaknesses are as a person and how I can improve on what I've already built.
On a typical Friday night I am
Home.
I've probably cooked something to music. A glass of wine, maybe two were involved. Friday evening is my wind-down night. Saturdays are often insane with patients in the morning. Everyone wants to come in on that morning. I'm off at noon.
Saturday and Sunday nights I'm out with friends, an occasional date, or sitting by myself watching a movie at the local theater.
Sunday is often a very early morning bike ride and home before most have breakfast. Sundays I cook and do home stuff, or do stuff with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
is that I only have about 30 years left, and there are too many things to do and be to stuff that into just 30 years, but I'm gunna try....
OkC doesn't give you the option to say so on the bottom, but I'm looking to date to meet someone I think is wonderful, then enter in a monogamous, committed relationship. If it leads to marriage fine, if it just stays stuck on wonderful...it's enough.
Also. I'm 30 pounds lighter now than my pictures.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 45–65
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You want to create something together.