GirlNextDoor704
45 Grand Rapids, MI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
GirlNextDoor704
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a positive, strong person who likes to hang out with my family and friends, but can take on the world (or a major corporation, city council, etc... ), if necessary. I'm a very loyal friend, and straight forward (but still kind and loving). Every once in a while, I'll say something funny, and certainly enjoy being around others with a smart wit. My career background is in news media and international public relations.

I approach everything as friendship, and if it turns into more, then cool. But admittedly... I've found the latter to be a pretty rare occurrence. I click best with people who are intelligent, open minded, active while being a good sport, make me laugh when I least expect it, willing to tell me fun stories from their childhood, and like to learn constantly (not necessarily academically, but just life in general). I also like to cuddle and tend to be huggy with my good friends. My favorite sounds are thunderstorms, waves crashing on the rocky shore of Bois Blanc Island, and my children laughing uncontrollably.

I'm now branching out my life in more than one direction and loving it. I've never been very athletic (although I sometimes surprise myself), but I do like staying in shape though team sports. In yoga, I achieved a full wheel, just days before my 40th! I love to try new things - whether it's a food or an experience. So far, I've found few rushes that can top jumping out of an airplane solo at 3,000 feet.
What I’m doing with my life
Saying what others won't on my show No Limits RadioTV www.nolimitsradiotv.com. Also, consulting/freelancing in PR and media. I have a massive social network that also includes work contacts. I've played kickball, flag football, bowling, and dodgeball. :) Unfortunately, I popped my knee out of socket playing a double-header of dodgeball, which has ended my club sports for now.

I love new places and historic spots, but find myself in Chicago at least every other month for one reason or another. I love that city!
I’m really good at
Writing, editing, working with the media, handling my money, inquisitiveness, being a trusted listener, diving into new things to learn, finding the good in about any situation, spatial reasoning, using common sense, projecting my voice, hugs, building a huge campfire with one match, a full wheel in yoga, and wearing many hats for the different aspects of my life.
The first things people usually notice about me
My upbeat nature, naturally curly hair, smile, firm handshake, lack of shyness, generous hugs, borderline humor, intelligence, that I love meeting new people, and that I'm easy to talk to. A good guy friend described me as "intense," and the perfect combination of Ginger and Mary Ann. ;)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I gravitate toward books based in history, human nature and psychology, and the classics. I also try to get to whatever my kids are reading, which is hard to keep up with. I usually listen to them on CD due to lack of time to actually sit down to read. I'm writing my own book based on life experience. People kept telling me I should.

Movies: I like about anything except slasher or horror. Documentaries are great.

Music: I'm an 80s girl, grew up in it and still love the music, but can also appreciate many different types (but no headbanger). Most of the time, my radio is on talk or public radio.

Food: I love to try new things (Bulgogi is a favorite), but can also enjoy the classic comfort foods of meat and potatoes. I love milk and drink a ton of it. After years of working and traveling with Asian journalists and government officials, I perfected my chopsticks technique under their watchful eyes. I recently tried eel and thought it was fantastic. I'll basically try anything that isn't looking back at me. I hope to get there someday, but not quite yet.
The six things I could never do without
1. My loved ones
2. Exploring the world around me (I've done 83 of the things on this list and still counting! http://www.buzzfeed.com/samstryker/how-many-items-have-you-checked-off-your-bucket-list?s=mobile but only 23 of these.... I need to get out more. ;) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/article-2598724/The-50-visited-tourist-attractions-world-revealed.html)
3. Staying active
4. Being smart with my money and bargain shopping
5. Hugs and cuddling
6. Finding the "Fuck, Yes!" in my life in friends, life experiences, and love. (See article) http://markmanson.net/fuck-yes/#.uohers:nMJO
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to talk about on the show. How to ramp up my freelance business. The best way to raise my children and the next steps in my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
After we are done at the studio, if my kids are with me, I hang out with them, often having a movie night and popcorn at home. If I'm on my own, I'm almost always with friends. I attend various events around the city where I can get dressed up. I sometimes go out with friends just to laugh and have a drink, play pool, do something more laid back. I have a big network of friends who tend to plan random things to do together, and just enjoy seeing whoever can make it.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I say so much on the show that most would consider private. But... I acted like a complete goofball in the Grand Rapids LipDub video that went viral on the Internet. Just look for the cheerleader about 20 sec in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPjjZCO67WI
You should message me if
You're smart, educated beyond high school (so far everyone I click with has a Bachelor's at minimum), have a direction in life, open-minded, enjoy talking about the world, open and honest communicator, a varied sense of humor, and live a healthy, active life. If you are wise with your money, that's a major bonus.

EQ.... emotional intelligence is important. No one hits them all exactly, but you should recognize yourself in many things listed here.....
http://themindunleashed.org/2015/03/18-signs-of-high-emotional-intelligence.html

I am open and loving, but very strong. You need to be ready to date someone like this. ...
http://www.puckermob.com/relationships/8-things-to-know-before-dating-a-girl-who-is-perpetually-single

Also, you must be very open minded to other cultures and people different from yourself. You need to be comfortable with people who are homosexual. The father of my children is gay, and we work very closely as parents.

I have had many kind people contact me on this site, which is flattering, and have even met a couple of good friends. Please feel okay to send me note (that is more than a generic greeting), but also understand if we don't seem to be a match. The last thing I want to do is hurt anyone's feelings, but as much as I wish I had the time to get to know everyone who wanted to chat, I simply don't. Thanks for understanding.
More