Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Globetrotter924

34 M La Jolla, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:07pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Politics / Government
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), Chinese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a northeasterner born and bred, but I'm in San Diego for graduate school. I'm open-minded, adventurous, adaptable, intellectually curious, a voracious and passionate reader, traveler and seeker of new experiences, but pretty low key in my personal relationships (my last girlfriend and I never had a serious fight over the course of a near three-year relationship and I am known among my friends for being calm and drama-free). Despite this generally easygoing nature, I can be stubborn and uncompromising on things that matter to me. I have my outgoing phases but am an introvert at heart and need my quiet time. I like to cut loose every once in a while and know how to have a good time at a party, but I also have a profoundly geeky side and enjoy reading, role-playing games, and dreaming up fantastic scenarios and stories. I enjoy both physical activities (cycling, hiking, swimming, team sports) and mental ones (Scrabble, chess, crossword puzzles, intellectual conversations). I have what I like to think is a decent sense of humor but if you don't appreciate the occasional whimsical reference, nerdy intellectual joke, or cheesy pun, you may not agree.

To be honest, I don't have much free time these days and hence don't have a lot of energy or patience for the typical dating dance. But I want to meet people outside my program who are down to hang out in a low pressure, fun way.
What I’m doing with my life
The travel bug bit me early and hard and I have spent the last decade afflicted with wanderlust, living in three different countries and traveling to close to thirty others (lifetime goal: 100+ countries and all seven continents). Job-wise I have worn many hats, including teacher, editor, magazine writer, actor, and freelance translator. None of them quite fit, so I am now working on a Master's Degree in International Relations at UC San Diego with an eye toward a career in diplomacy or international business.
I’m really good at
Writing, cooking, taking photographs, changing light bulbs and getting things off the top shelf, killing cockroaches, parallel parking, remembering useless trivia.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. I can't count how many times "do you play basketball?" has been one of the first questions someone I've just met has asked me. For the record, I do, just not well enough for it to serve as anything other than a source of intermittent exercise and the occasional twisted ankle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS: I enjoy literary classics, particularly Shakespeare and the works of the great British and Russian novelists, and love the English Romantic poets, especially Wordsworth and Keats. I'm a recovering English major if you hadn't guessed. Some of my favorite contemporary lit fic authors are Jonathan Franzen, Haruki Murakami, Jeffrey Eugenides, David Foster Wallace, and Michael Ondaatje, but I like genre fiction (especially fantasy and sci fi) just as much. I also enjoy nonfiction, particularly works of popular science, histories, and biographies. Currently reading: A biography of Eleanor of Aquitaine.

MOVIES: There are too many to list them all, but the only things I reliably dislike are torture porn, dumb action flicks, and sappy, formulaic romcoms. Some of my all-time favorites: Seven Samurai, Lost in Translation, This Is Spinal Tap, Star Wars, Groundhog Day, Blade Runner, Goodfellas, Rashomon, Fargo, Amelie, The Godfather, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Princess Bride, Network, Pan's Labyrinth, City of God.

TV: I don't watch a lot of TV but there are a few shows I have been/am passionate about, namely The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Game of Thrones, The Simpsons, Seinfeld, Friday Night Lights, and The X-Files. I know that list will get me some flak from the "Stuff White People Like" crowd but what can I say, I am incapable of even ironically enjoying The Jersey Shore or Keeping Up With The Kardashians.

MUSIC: The most-played list on my iTunes is an unwieldy melange of indie and classic rock with large dollops of blues, jazz, folk, soul, and classical and the occasional gooey nugget of pop cheese mixed in. Some favorite groups/artists: The White Stripes, The Beatles, The Kinks, New Pornographers, Howlin' Wolf, Otis Redding, B.B. King, U2, The Magnetic Fields, Outkast, Muse, Blonde Redhead, Roy Orbison, Marvin Gaye, Smokey Robinson, Miles Davis, Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen, Wilson Pickett, Son House, Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Hives, The Killers.

FOOD: Almost anything. Favorite cuisines are Italian, Mexican, Vietnamese, Korean, Indian... I'll try anything once, an approach which has resulted in gustatory encounters with stewed jellyfish, steamed silkworms, and raw cod testicles, among other delights. I also like to cook and to invent my own recipes, several of which have proven to be edible.
The six things I could never do without
(In no particular order) friendship, music, the Internet, books, my passport, cheese.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Human behavior, politics, economics, the nature of reality, how to live an ethical life, how to cook the perfect pasta sauce, whether Chip Kelly will be a successful NFL coach.
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing at home. If I'm going to go out, it's usually on Saturday after I've had a chance to recharge from the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I actually enjoy the occasional chick flick or cheesy pop song, typical straight dude interests aside.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You are intrigued by my sales pitch and are capable of being honest and straightforward with me. If there's chemistry, maybe we can pursue something more than friendship. If there isn't, but we find each other interesting company, I'm always happy to have additional friends. I just want to meet people who are worth the time.