Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

GumshoeGal

29 Mountain View, CA Woman

Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 27–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 8:34pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Education
Status
Single
Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Things for which I am a sucker:

1. Heartwarming sports movies
2. Coats with toggles
3. Stationery
4. Credit card commercials
5. Kids with permablush
6. Peter Dinklage
7. Shortbread
8. Even-numbered lists
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I work in education (not a teacher) and for the most part, really enjoy my job. My employer is really big on work/life balance and I feel like i've been spoiled for just about any other job, so I may never leave this one.

When I'm not working, I can be found blowing off steam at any of a number of local watering holes. I tend to start the night classy and slowly devolve to trashy (location, not behavior). I go to a Farmer's Market most weekends, for both the fresh produce and the people watching. Also, Netflix.... lots of Netflix.

Here is a random assortment of things I like to do but perhaps don't do enough or would possibly like to do more:

Pub quiz - I used to be a part of a championship team, but people started to get married and have babies and stopped wanting to have fun.

Hiking/biking - There are so many great places in the area and it seems like such a waste not to go hiking all the time, but alas... I do try to walk the Dish once every week or so. That kind of counts, right? I'm also trying to get more into biking. I ride my bike to the train most days (weather permitting) but I haven't spent too much time outside of my commute on my bike and I'd like to change that.

Travel - I have had some really great BIG trips recently (Malaysia and Thailand in 2014, Ireland and England in April 2015) but I haven't taken advantage of little weekend trips in California as much as I used to. Wine tasting in Carmel Valley or a trip to SF to the Legion of Honor, anyone?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Cooking. I am comfortable and at home in a kitchen - preferably with glass of wine in hand. I know what I am doing and am in control, but I actively seek out opportunities to improve. I love cooking for others and need more taste testers. And I am great at delegating, so I'd love to find a sous chef ;-)

Making others feel comfortable. I can talk to just about anyone and make a real and genuine connection. This probably comes from a natural curiosity and desire to learn about other people and their experiences.

Entertaining myself. Although I'm not an only child, I spent a lot of time alone as a kid and learned how to enjoy being on my own. I also wasn't allowed to take naps during pre-school so I became very good at playing quietly. That being said, I do love spending time with good people and enjoying their company.

Napping. I think because I was deprived of naps as a kid, I became an exceptional napper as an adult.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I am muttering to myself in the grocery store.

And let's be honest... I've got a great rack. Spice rack, that is (see album: Spice Rack). Get your mind out of the gutter.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
My tastes are very eclectic and ever changing, but here's a glimpse at each category...

Books: The Stranger, A Confederacy of Dunces, Famous Pictures of Naked People, The Beach, Tales of the City, Predictably Irrational, Norwegian Wood.

Movies: I have an endless list of movies I'd like to go see but I never think to go see movies in theaters. All time favorites include Gosford Park, Children of Men, Casino Royale, Vertigo, The Sweetest Thing.

Shows: Sherlock, Game of Thrones, Community, Doctor Who, Breaking Bad, Arrested Development, Cougar Town (it's not even a guilty pleasure - it's a good show!). The only show I watch on a regular basis on TV is Jeopardy. Recently started watching Hannibal.

Music: 1960s R&B and soul, 1970s folk and classic rock, 1980s pop, 1990s hip hop. Nothing else.
http://youtu.be/CMrfM711vXI and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xp5wID1FWOk

Food: I'm a pretty adventurous eater - things I don't like: sour cream, pickles, and coconut (unless it's on shrimp).

Podcasts: Radiolab, This American Life, Reply All, Invisibilia, Snap Judgement, All Songs Considered, Freakonomics, Judge John Hodgman, Pop Culture Happy Hour, The Nerdist.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Post-its
My incredibly supportive family and friends
Wine
My library card
A chef's knife
A camera
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How I'm going to get to 10,000 steps every day (woo, Fitbit!).

How to bribe my way to the top with pastries. So far, this has gotten me an upgraded computer at work so I'm well on my way.

How to survive an apocalypse.

How it is that in Mountain View, essentially home of the internet, my wifi at home can be sooooo slow. I blame Google.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Infiltrating a gang in order to gain access to the bouncy castle at the house across the street from me.

It really depends. I could be relaxing at home after a hard week at work, hanging out with friends playing board games, out at a bar, or up in the city at a show. But in all honesty, probably trying to get into that bouncy castle.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I stole a pint glass from a bar within the last 2 months. I'm not proud.*

My friend asked if I would be writing my OKC profile all in haiku. My response:

Obvi, that is the
Only way to find a man
In my opinion

*update: It has been much longer than 2 months at this point and I think the additional time since I committed the transgression has made me less remorseful. This pint glass has become a treasured possession and a point of pride for me.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You want to go adventures.
You want to introduce me to new music.
You don't take yourself too seriously.
You know what you want and are decisive.
You know of an awesome dive bar you'd like to show me.
You can cut an onion without crying (the ultimate turn-on).
You look good while pouring me a glass of wine.