Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

HerbertWest1979

35 M Macon, GA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–38
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:47pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t want kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I was, until recently, a graduate student (I am, by training, a college writing teacher and a science studies scholar), and I remain a particular kind of geek. I currently juggle a couple of part time jobs, the more interesting and rewarding being that I am a driving instructor. I'm about to go back to graduate school in Macon to be a family therapist (assuming there isn't a problem with them loaning me a lot of money). I'm excite to move out of the teaching bizness while doing the parts of that I loved.

I'm living with a couple of old friends in Macon with whom I get into shenanigans. I'm currently working as a driving instructor and doing a delivery job a few evenings a week. It's fun to out there working after being in the grad school cloister for a few years.

I'm deeply interested in popular culture, and I'm an obsessive fanboy when it comes to my interests. I'm an information junky, which is a blessing and a curse. I love bars, and I'm something of a regular in a couple of places in town. I love live music and plan some of my life around seeing shows, particularly European extreme metal (black metal in particular), noisy underground music, and alt-country. (Or "Americana" or whatever the hell people call it these now.) I'm into college football also. No other sports though.

If you know what my profile name is a reference to, you should say hello. Or if you know who Varg Vikernes is (and love his records but think he's a dink). Or if you want to shoot the breeze about politics or The Wire. Or if you play the mandolin.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I just got my PhD. I'm in that awkward transition between a degree and a job right now that many academics go through. My "transition" is more complicated than most as I'm not sure I want a job in the academy. I'm not quite sure what the future holds professionally.

I amicably broke up with my spouse a year and a half. The legal part is in the works. (That was put off because of logistical stuff having to do with residency. We're friends, and we're looking forward to getting that last bit of business out of the way.)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing. Procrastination. Running my mouth. Being obsessive about trivia and being obsessive about things that matter.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Among people I don't know at all . . . . I've been mistaken for a bouncer/doorman on quite a few occasions when I've stood in the wrong place, so I guess they notice that I'm a big man who wears a lot of black t-shirts.

Among people I'm getting to know. . . . I'm a funny guy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Sound and the Fury, Moby Dick, Our Band Could Be Your Life, If I Forget Thee Jerusalem, Ulysses, Live From New York (an oral history of Saturday Night Live), Sleazoid Express, Apocalypse Culture.

Movies: The Big Lebowski, Re-Animator, Glen or Glenda, Blood Feast, I Spit on Your Grave, Pink Flamingos, Blue Velvet, Dawn of the Dead (the original), The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (original), Winter's Bone, Sharknado, 36 Chambers of Shaolin.

Shows: The Wire, Community, Parks and Recreation, Arrested Development, Deadwood, Mr. Show, Justified.

Music: Metal (Watain, Slayer, Darkthrone, Devil's Blood, Celtic Frost, Slayer, Wolves in the Throne Room), American roots music (Townes Van Zandt, Mississippi John Hurt, Guy Clark, CeDell Davis), Jazz, although I don't keep up with contemporary stuff (Miles Davis, Charles Mingus, Duke Ellington, Billie Holiday, ), Drive By Truckers.

Food: Southern food (A.K.A. "soul food"), Thai, British/Irish. I'm not picky. My family runs a meat packing plant, so we eat steak a lot. (I should note that I've changed my diet a lot during the past year, and I'm in the process of losing weight. That's a part of my life at the moment.)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Friends and family. The line between the two can be blurry for me. In the South, close family friends get called "Aunt" or "Uncle."

2. Conversation. I need some contentious arguing where it's a sparing match and some harmonious bantering where it's a waltz.

3. Sexuality. I didn't say "having sex with another person," although that can be the most powerful expression of sexuality.

4. Music.

5. Strange popular culture, including both cult and occult oddness.

6. Whiskey. (Well, I COULD do without it, but I'd rather not.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Man's inhumanity to man, man.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At a bar, a show, or a party.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I think this box is silly.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
. . . you want to for any particular or general reason? I'm not desperate hook up with (or "hook up with") anybody, but It's time to see what's out there. I'm newly single after a decade long relationship, and I'm the new kid in town, so I'm up for anything, romantic or not. It would be really exciting to date somebody, and it would be exciting to meet interesting friends. Say howdy if anything about me seems interesting.