Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Herschel18

56 Omaha, NE Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 34–52
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Jul 9, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
Trying to quit
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm often either working or engaged in the search for more work. I did tax returns this year during tax season. Then I rewarded myself in May by taking a trip out West. It does me a lot of good to experience the change in scenery, change in the people I'm spending time with, and the change in perspective, all of which I get from travelling.
I sometimes try to make up for an erratic youth by catching up on books and subjects I should have gotten through when I was young, but didn't. It's not the ideal of course to do things decades late, but I trust that late is better than never. I've dreamt of doing some writing for a long time, but I am much better at the daydreaming and planning parts than actually grinding out sustained intelligible discourse. I garden, but just enough to prevent Total Weed Takeover and Catastrophic Lawn Wipe-out, and to add nice plants to the yard like seedum or hyacinths, but I have not found much time to plant anything edible and harvest it.
The pattern is that I'm coping in life, treading water, but my life is not yet as exciting or fun as I'd like it to be. Having someone in my life I look forward to seeing, to talking to, and to experience interesting things with, would make a big difference.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Eating pizza and chatting with the wait staff and bartenders at the restaurant, discussing books and magazine articles I've read, listening to friends' and clients' troubles and offering what useful advice I can, continuing to wear clothes that are now too big on me or perhaps even (how awful!) out of style, going for long walks outside or around the track at the gym, being informative about matters I studied and still remember well, avoiding saying or writing anything extremely seriously misleading, maintaining legitimate confidences, remembering my nephews' and niece's birthdays with a card and perhaps a small gift, continuing to generally grow up a little bit at a time, without rushing it of course, spending too much time watching sporting events on TV (I hope to cut down on this in the near future), coming up with an occasional funny remark, witticism, or play on words, attending free concerts I find out about, heating up, serving, and eating frozen cheese blintzes with sour cream, trying to save the lawn with heroic acts of watering and weeding, and sometimes going on longer on a certain subject or point than I may actually have to.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Whether I've shaved recently or not.
My blue eyes.
Whether I'm blocking their car and need me to move mine.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I'll start with books I've read recently first: Pericles of Athens and the Birth of Athenian Democracy, Passages (by Gail Sheehy), Lovesong to the Plains (a historical work by Mari Sandoz), The Lovely Bones, Breadwinners, and Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar; examples of some great books I read further back in time are Michener's The Source, Dostoevski's Crime and Punishment, and Leon Uris' Exodus.
I like jazz and blues music a great deal, and attend afford classical music concerts around town that I find out about fairly regularly.
One movie I have seen fairly recently was an excellent movie telling the story of Temple Grandin, who grew up with a serious autism problem but learned how to function in the mainstream and even pioneered some more humane techniques of raising and handling cattle (she is good at empathizing what things are like from their perspective). The movie starred Claire Dane.
In general, I watched too much TV and too many movies when I was young, so I feel kind of "blah" about those mediums at this point in my life. Maybe at some point some enthusiasm about the best examples of those things may return someday, however.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Pizza, wine, my cell phone, my computer equipment, my membership at Prairie Life, and my glasses.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How frustrated I get sometimes living in Omaha without a kind, intelligent girlfriend to talk to about life and the good and bad things it brings us, to go out with to concerts and other cultural events, to travel with to fun and interesting places, and to generally spice things up! And, consequently, about where I'd like to move if my situation in Omaha does not improve significantly in that area of my social life within two or three years or so.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Attending a Narcotics Anonymous meeting (I don't use drugs anymore, but it lowers my stress and boosts my spirits to share the tale of the effort involved in abstaining with those with similar experiences).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I knowingly, premeditatedly, and outrageously plagiarized my older sister's old high school Emerson-and-Thoreau paper and turned it in as my own work. I've of course deservedly hated myself for it ever since.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you can communicate in English and/or basic Spanish. I prefer good spellers but will bend in cases where the writer is in a big hurry.