Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

HistidineTheCat

27 M Madison, WI

My Details

Last Online
Jul 11
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Desperately
Drugs
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t want kids
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English, German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm never sure how I ought to start this, so I guess I'll start with the obvious. I'm a human. I've been on this planet for a number of years, most of them spent in the western US. I've been in Madison for three years, and I like it here.

I'm currently a grad student. I work in a cancer biology lab. If you asked me why I wanted to go for a PhD, I'd give an answer in the spirit of George Mallory and said, "because it's there". I've wanted a PhD since high school (yep, I was a hopeless nerd back then, too).

What will I do with it once I get a PhD? No idea. Job prospects? Thinking about my future? Pffffffffffffffft!

Some time back in Arizona I picked up a cat. She's been a great companion, though she comes at the cost of an increase in entropy around my apartment.

I've taken up rock climbing since coming to Madison. I'm even starting to get decent at it! Plus it keeps me reasonably in shape.

More recently I've taken up homebrewing. I love beer! I love the craft brew scene in Madison (I'll be attending Great Taste of the Midwest for the second time this year!). I've never really thought much about homebrewing, but this spring, on a whim, I figured I'd try it out.

Okay, a couple buddies and I figured we'd try it out. Then the other guys kept putting it off, and I got bored, went to the store, and just bought the supplies myself. And since that day, homebrewing has become my new obsession. It's tons of fun, and the results taste great. Plus, it makes my apartment smell fantastic every couple weeks, with wonderful flowery hop aromas! Thankfully, it doesn't take a whole lot of my time, so it's a nice "on the side" hobby.

When I'm neither brewing nor rock climbing, I'm probably geeking out with video games, board games, or D&D (just started a campaign with some friends!). I enjoy going out to pubs just as much as staying in, and I think of myself as pretty easy going. I'm happy doing just about anything.

I care quite a bit about social justice issues and economic progressivism, and I think religion is on average a negative influence on the world. I am a humanist, an atheist, an agnostic, a feminist, a social progressive, a socialist, a cynic, a beer enthusiast, and an evilutionist.
What I’m doing with my life
Surviving, mostly. Despite the impression the above section might give, I do sometimes ponder what I ought to be doing with my life post-graduation. But I've got enough time between now and then that I don't feel a pressing need to worry about it.
I’m really good at
I have a talent for public speaking and giving presentations. I'm also pretty good at teaching, explaining complex topics, and debating, either in written format or verbally and on the spot.

I'm rubbish at small talk, though.
The first things people usually notice about me
Quite often, it's probably whatever ultra-geeky t-shirt I'm wearing that day. I do seem to have a bit of a theme built into my wardrobe....
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I am, sadly, not a big reader.

Movies: I'm a fan of just about any good movie, regardless of genre, but I rarely watch movies that are in the "bad action" category. A few movies I've liked are Being John Malkovich, The Fall, any of the old Mel Brooks films, and pretty much all Miyazaki movies.

I have a friend who's trying to get me into anime. It's slow going, but I'm not totally against the genre.

Shows: I'm a dedicated fan of Game of Thrones. I enjoy Star Trek, and Picard was the best captain, although DS9 was a better series. I watch Doctor Who, even though I don't think it's very good. However, you might be surprised at my opinion of Firefly.

I also enjoyed Blackadder far more than I probably should have, I thought Mitchell and Webb Look was great, I loved the hell out of Spaced, and I can't get enough of QI. Stephen Fry is one of my favorite people!

Music: Not many seem to share my taste in music. I doubt you will. Almost none of my friends do. I'm fine with that, though.

I enjoy listening to European folk and prog metal. (Told ya.) Also Pink Floyd, Gorillaz, and Psychostick. Think what you will.

Also, I grew up listening to lots of classical, and my taste for it has never left me. Rachmaninoff, Dvorak, Sibelius, and Schumann all have fantastic compositions I would gladly listen to any day.

Food: I'm a fan of it. It's one of the coolest perks of being a human. I'll eat damn near anything, as long as it doesn't have nuts in it. I'm not a vegetarian, but I'm totally veg friendly and I don't need meat with every meal either.

Sadly, I'm rubbish at cooking. I'd happily supply the beverages, however.

(Hmm, maybe one day I'll try a beer diet, just like those guys at the monasteries....)
The six things I could never do without
Socks. Beer. A drinking companion. A towel. Dairy products. A bit of variety.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Well, lately I've spent an inordinate amount of time pondering my next homebrew recipes.

I often think about science, from cosmology to surface chemistry to genetics to why the hell I can't wrap my mind around relativity.

I have no tolerance for woo, quackery, pseudoscience, bad science, bollocks, chopra, or conspiracy theorism, and I will attack these things with fervor.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately, Fridays have been pretty underwhelming. Probably I'll be visiting the Terrace a lot more in the near future. Otherwise, I use it to recover from a long week and prepare for whatever's happening on the weekend.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–29
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
FREE BEER!

Oh, um, also if you think I'm a decently interesting person, think we might get along pretty okay, want to grab a drink sometime, or just want to chat and get to know me.

But also... y'know, free beer.