Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


39 Phoenix, AZ Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 23-42
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Relationship Type
6' 0" (1.83m)
Body Type
Full figured
Doesn’t have kids but might want them
Has cats
English, French (Somewhat), Spanish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Some people like the anonymity of the Internet because it allows them to be whatever they want to be.

I like the anonymity of the Internet because it allows me to be myself.

I am, generally speaking and historically, a happy fellow with a broad sense of humor. I smile often and big; laugh easily and loudly. Being human, I also have a little darkness inside which means that I get angry once in a while (rarely, and not for long) and cry on occasion (but only for good reasons... like when sad orphans get happy playing with wiggly puppies).

I have a broad back, thick limbs, gold teeth, and a big hairy belly. I'm never going to win a beauty contest but I clean up pretty well when I have to. I know how to tie a tie and I can iron my shirt if needed, but I'm usually dressed for comfort first and style second. I wear Chuck Taylor's often.

I was lovingly raised by a pair of very talented artists (if we get close you should ask me how they met...funny story!) Here is their website to give you a better idea of how awesome they are:

This imbued me with some fair amount of creativity and artistic ability, most of which has been used in the context of food preparation, but I'm also a competent sculptor and can draw / paint / write / craft / etc. better than your average citizen.

I'm interested in lots of things, and can carry on a conversation, but I've always been more of a listener than a talker. I've traveled a bit...around the state, around the country, around the continent, around the world...but I would like to do a lot more of it. High on my list: Argentina, Vietnam, New York, Austin, Bisbee, Silver City. Everywhere else too. I like culture, culture of all sorts, and would like to be exposed to more of it.

For those of you that are interested in practical matters:
-Yes, I am educated.
-Yes, I do have a career that I enjoy.
-Yes, I do own a car (it's of the sensible variety).
-Yes, I do own my home, and I own another (rental) home as well.
-I am also, for what it's worth, debt free.
-I guess I'm ok at adulting.

For those of you that are interested in more impractical matters:
-All of these speak pretty accurately to my character.
-Though I might be ok at adulting, I way prefer childlike wonder.

I'm a very loving person. I love lots and lots of people. Family, friends, acquaintances, strangers, ex-girlfriends, and strangers. That doesn't mean I don't have plenty left for you. I do have plenty left. It's bottomless, I think. That being said, I might be a hard match to make. I'm not quite like anyone else (my first experience with internet dating was eHarmony telling me that they wouldn't accept me because I'm too weird or something), and although I'm happy to spend SOME time with pretty much anyone there are very very few people that I want to spend ALL of my time with. Maybe you're one of them? If you're not, that's ok. I've found that one of the benefits of loving lots and lots of people is that you end up with lots and lots of people loving you back. So, while I would like to find an extra special number one for all time friend and partner and lover, if I have to settle for having a large circle of people that I care about that also care about me that will be fine too.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working. I'm a high falutin' chef at a giant resort. I have a French title and a small army of minions to do my bidding. I don't really talk much about work outside of work but I'll gladly answer any questions you have and share the occasional anecdote.

Mourning. My mom passed away last year. She was an extra awesome mother and matriarch. I am the youngest of her six children and was her clear favorite. I guess I'll always miss her. I feel kind of weird bringing this up on a dating site but it's easier than bringing it up on a date, and it still takes up a not inconsequential amount of my headspace.

Caring. I'm in the position now of being a sort of hub for my large and loving and esoteric family. Thanksgiving, Christmas, other holidays and events are mine to coordinate. I'm also easing into being a part time caregiver for my father, who is still functioning pretty well but is definitely feeling the years.

Trying. To be a good person. To do right by society and humanity and the planet and the future. To treat my body more like a temple and less like an amusement park. To get things done.

Thinking. I've had an idea in my head for years. Knocking about. Modifying itself. Changing itself into a better idea. The problem is that I'm not sure whether this idea is crazy or horrible or brilliant or inevitable. I guess I should find out.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making foods.
Throwing parties.
Chilling the fuck out.
Whistling along with Andrew Bird and Disney princesses.
Convincing lumps of clay they can be anything they want.
Rubbing your back to the point of optimal relaxation.
Making it better.
Seeing both sides.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: yes. Mostly fiction. Sci-fi, fantasy, horror, mystery, literature, comedy. Last book read: The Circle by Dave Eggers. Currently reading: Killing Time by Caleb Carr. Next to read: Anathem by Neal Stephenson. I've read many books multiple times but the only two books I've ever read twice in a row were Snowcrash and The Stranger. I always take multiple books with me on trips but I'm scared to commit to (or even try) an electro reading tablet thingy.

I looooooove movies. All of them. Especially at the theater but also at home. Favorite movies so far this year: Fury Road, Wetlands, Inside Out, A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night, We Walk In The Shadows, and probably others. I'm probably more excited about the new Star Wars than I should be. Will you go with me? Marvel, maybe DC (we'll see), and assorted auteurs. Movies! Movies! Movies! Yay! I like to hold hands and share treats in the theater and I like to pause occasionally while watching movies at home (sometimes for practical reasons and sometimes for nefarious ones).

Netflix and HBO. Jon Stewart. John Oliver. The Walking Dead. Cooking shows. I don't usually tend to binge more than a couple of episodes of anything at a time, although I did watch the entirety of Game of Thrones s5 in one day. I haven't had "cable" in years, and I don't plan on ever getting it again, but I do manage to watch my fair share of programming. It's all high quality programming though, believe you me.

Food? Yes. All of it. Although less junk food and more healthy food.
Pho, green chili, cheeseburgers, hummus, pizza, salads, balut. American, Indian, Thai, Peruvian. Everything. All of the foods, please. There's a place south of down town called Hola Cabrito that serves nothing but goat. I'd like to go there. I also haven't been to Bragg's Factory Diner, and would like to go there. I haven't been to Binkley's, and I would like to go there. I would like to go eat everywhere, and I would like to cook everything, and I would like to eat it all. Except natto. I don't want any more of that very much. I'll try some again if you order it though

Music? Yes. All of it. Although less country and more hip hop. I like music festivals although I haven't been to many lately. Recently I've been listening to: Run the Jewels, Kendrick Lamar, Andrew Bird, Tame Impala, Tuneyards, and La Femme over and over and over again. I love live music. I need music in the car. I need music while I'm working or cooking. I also like music in the shower and while I'm getting ready. I love playlists. I will be honest and admit that I enjoy receiving them more then making them, but I will always be delighted to share with you all of the music that I know.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family, Friends, Food, Fun, Fiction, and other F Words.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Mostly I think about whatever it is I'm doing with my life (please see above).

I also spend some time thinking about online dating. I don't have much faith in it. There are thousands and thousands of dudes on the internet, a real honest to god legion. "I am legion for we are many." It's hard to stand out in a legion. How many unsolicited messages do you get an hour? Five? Ten? Twenty? A hundred? It must be overwhelming. There are no more than a small handful of women in Phoenix on Okcupid that I think I might be compatible with in the long term. Trying to get their attention is overwhelming too. Paradox of choice, right?

I also spend more time thinking about cats than I would like to.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either working or having so much fun. SO MUCH FUN!!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you'd like to go see a movie with me.
If you'd like to go see The Book of Mormon with me.
If you'd like me to cook you something.
If you think I could enjoy your Ipod for a couple of hours.
If sometimes I can be the DJ.
If you'd like to take me for an adventure.
If I can take you for an adventure.
If you'd like to go for a long walk.
If you'd like to help me turn into a good dancer.
If you'd like to read together.
If you'd like to hold hands.
If you enjoy being enjoyed.
If you would like to inspire me.
If you'd like to be my voice of reason.
If farts are ever funny.
If you are going to vote for Bernie.
If you are Kate Winslet.
If you can play the violin for me.
If you can play anything else for me.
If you like nice guys with naughty streaks.
If you enjoy making new friends.