Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

HopsAndRye

30 Bethesda, MD Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–33
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Dec 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a California transplant working at the NIH up here in Rockville. It's been great out here so far, but I still don't know too many people yet. I love meeting people, exploring new places and finding great food.

I am passionate about many things, about Beer, Food, Music, Books, the outdoors etc.
I really enjoy cooking and tweaking with recipes, my bread and butter is mexican food but anything that tastes amazing I'll take a crack at.
Back in California I did a bit of homebrewing and hope to continue that out here, IPA's and the floral scent of hops pervading an entire apartment is just heaven to me.
I listen to a lot of electronica; everything from Dubstep (Bassnectar, Rusko, Zeds Dead), House (Mark Farina, Joris Voorn) and Drum & Bass (Squarepusher, Pendulum, LTJ Bukem). Recently I've started to listen to more indie rock Andrew Bird, Grizzly Bear, Phoenix, Cut Copy, Passion Pit, Animal Collective etc.
I love backpacking and hiking, to be out there, away from the buzz of cars and the power lines overhead just recharges me. I hear good things about the camping around here, but haven't had a chance to go yet!

It's a wide world and I'd love to see some of it with you!
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a scientist born and bred! Trying to figure out how to regulate metabolism to help solve the problems of diabetes and other disorders of energy balance. I love talking about science and how drugs work on our bodies!
Not sure where precisely this will take me, but if I have a chance to contribute to the happiness and health of others, I'll be happy!
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tall... is that a copout since it's so obvious? It IS always the first thing people say... that and I walk quietly and talk loudly (apologies in advance for this combination :P)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Snowcrash, Omnivores Dilemma, Neuromancer, Game of Thrones (and the whole ASoIaF series), Old Man's War, Perdido Street Station, Ishmael, PIHKaL, Hell's Angels, Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail '72, Electric Koolaid Acid Test, Drop City, Anansi Boys, Neverwhere, Good Omens, Transmetropolitan, 100 Bullets, Preacher, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, Dinotopia.

Movies: Pi, Clerks, Cashback, Mr. Brooks, Mirrormask, Up, Blade Runner, Sin City, Kontroll, City of Lost Children, Dr Strangelove, Stardust, Wall-E.

Shows: Firefly, Dollhouse, The Wire, Dexter, True Blood (is it weird to like a show when you hate several of the main characters?).

Food: Thai (Pad Kee Mao, Tom Yum Kai), Mexican, Ethiopian, Italian, Indian (Paneer is magical stuff), Pho, Ramen, and all manner of other spicy deliciousness.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family
Books
Music
Nature (I cannot deal with concrete and metal all day)
Coffee (especially a great Latte)
Delicious Food
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Just kicking back cooking up some food, having a beer and talking with somebody special or I'm going out to see a band or a DJ if somebody awesome is about.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
So apparently it's a travesty that I haven't watched most 80's movies, jaws have hit the floor when I said I hadn't watched the Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, The Goonies or (up until the last few months) The Sandlot.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You love conversing and learning. Friendship or relationship, if we can't hold a conversation longer than 5 minutes, we are doomed. The desire to learn and educate is paramount in my life, I'd hope any potential partner would feel the same way.

If you're easy going, like new music, exploring new places and keep an open mind, I'd love to hear from you!