Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

JAleaxander

29 San Francisco, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 26–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:46pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
As described by my friend Lauren, I'm into "fancy-pants things, but not in like a snobby way—in a fun way." I guess that's fitting, because I do like classical music, art, and cocktails, but I don't want to give the wrong impression—I also love rock shows at dive bars with PBR and cheap whiskey.

Now for more of the typical "About me" type things:

—I have awesome siblings. If we meet, there's a good chance that at some point I will talk about how awesome they are.
—I'm from the midwest.
—I'm earnest. I follow rules and dislike it when others don't.
—I can be indecisive about small things, like what to do for dinner or which task to start first, but I'm determinate and decisive (after the appropriate amount of consideration) about big things.
—One of the favorite parts about my job is that I always get to learn new things.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I spent my college and grad school years in the classical music world, and now I'm in tech journalism. How I made that change is a long story—so for now I'll just say that I feel very lucky to have a job that I love and that music is still a big part of my life!

These days I feel like I have a lot of things in my life put together, so it's time to have more fun. (Read: I'm mostly a real adult and have my shit together, but I want to make more friends and, you know, meet someone :)

Other things that occupy my time include running, going to San Francisco Symphony concerts, looking at art, walking around the city, getting in my share of travel, occasionally playing music, cooking, and hanging out in parks.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
—Standing patiently in lines.
—Using public transportation.
—Being on time.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm presentable.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: Mostly classical (including early music and modern music), but I truly like everything else, too.

Radio Shows: I like all the standard podcasts (This American Life, Radio Lab, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, etc), though I haven't actually listened to Serial yet.

Books: The Elements of Style, short stories, contemporary fiction.

Art: 16th century Dutch still life in particular; painting in general. Also Alex Calder and Claes Oldenburg.

Shows: Seinfeld (bonus points if random references are part of your daily life), Mad Men.

Other things I nerd out on: Air travel and airplanes, furniture and interior design, clothes and shoes, art, liberal arts schools, orchestral scores, musical instruments, wanting to be in a band, light rail, how to be a better writer and public speaker.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Live musical performances
2. Recorded music
3. My trombone and playing music (You're probably noticing a theme here...)
4. Urban living
5. Truthfully? Laptop, smartphone, and internet, or all that stuff that keeps us connected.
6. Knowing that there are smart people out there working on things like global warming, access to education, teaching, and other good things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
—Frequently doing mental harmonic and formal analysis of whatever music I'm listening to (or whatever music happens to be going through my head).
—Also, what to write for my next article.
—If I'm currently on MUNI, there's a good chance I'm thinking about how people could be taking up less space if they were standing differently.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At happy hour after work, a concert, a bar with friends, entertaining at home—just as long as it's out with people. Quiet evenings are good, too, but I definitely like to get out at some point during the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I misspelled my own OkCupid username, despite answering the question about spelling as "very important." Oops.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
—You want to actually meet in person. I'm all for messaging back and forth about how we both like music, the outdoors, and San Francisco, but I'd much rather talk about it over coffee.
—The idea of going to the SF Symphony, the Opera, or Classical Revolution on a Monday night sounds interesting. Or if going to an art museum is your cup of tea.
—Going on a long run or a hike sounds like a great Saturday or Sunday morning activity.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption
You look great!
I’m Done