Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

JCDavis

35 M Shoreline, WA

My Details

Last Online
Jul 22
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English, Japanese (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
(This is all a bit out of date, I'll try to fix it up a bit soon.)
After a whirlwind year or so, I've found myself in Japan, back in Idaho after 7 years away, and now to the Seattle area. I was living in Japan for about 6 months teaching little children English. I've lived there on and off for about 3 years total.

I'm geeky, but I don't let that define me. I like movies, comics, games, but I also like hiking, travel, cooking. I have too many interests and never enough time to indulge in all of them, so I tend to get into an interest for a few weeks, drop it for another, and repeat the cycle.

I'm really missing dancing. I had classes in ballroom and swing and it would be fun to get back into them.

I have a lot of interest in Japan. I lived there for two years previously and I had a great time. My Master's thesis was on anime fans in America and how a Japanese cultural export became so popular in the U.S., a place notorious for ignoring the rest of the world's entertainment. I love talking and learning about other cultures and places. My degrees are in anthropology, but I have a lot of other academic interests as well, like history, linguistics, and geology.

I like cooking and know a few Japanese recipes. It's a fun hobby and great to share with someone. I hate cooking for myself and will eat instant crap too often without a motivation to cook.

I love playing games. It doesn't matter if they're board games, video games, word games or whatever. There is something about the mental exercise and the competition that I love.

I am a certainly a smartass at times. I like to make people laugh, but I can content myself to making myself laugh if no one else gets my humor.

seplusplus
What I’m doing with my life
Working at the Home Depot (I've worked in most departments at this point) while I search for something that involves me using my degree and doesn't involve me losing all faith in humanity. I'm not content to barely scrape by, I want a job that I enjoy and that keeps me with a decent wage. The American dream and all that.
I’m really good at
Observing.
Possibly cooking. I can make decent salad sushi, fried rice and a few other dishes I learned in Japan.
Telling stories about teaching, Japan, and growing up in rural Idaho.
Cracking jokes. Often either a bit too inappropriate or just horrible puns.
I'm really good at trivia games, a mostly useless, but fun skill.
Ruining songs for people by making up alternate lyrics.
Crane games for stuffed animals. Japan had really cool prizes, and I got a bit obsessed with it for a while.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall or maybe my eyes (blue with green in the center).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: H.P. Lovecraft, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Carl Hiaasen, Kurt Vonnegut, Haruki Murakami, George Orwell, Anthony Burgess, etc. Murakami's Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World might be my favorite book.
I've read all the Harry Potter books and liked them.

Movies: The Incredibles, Wall-E, The Big Lebowski, Grosse Pointe Blank, The Princess Bride, Kikujiro, Tampopo, Water Boys, Star Wars (the original trilogy), Let the Right One In. That's off the top of my head. I'm a bit of a film buff. I like serious dramas, but I think there are times when you just need a popcorn movie to sit back and enjoy.

Television: I don't watch too much tv, but I love Bizarre Foods. I like seeing people eat weird foods that I couldn't eat. I also like Supernatural, Arrested Development, and True Blood. I got hooked on Game of Thrones and subsequently read all four books in under two weeks. Counting anime, I'd add Cowboy Bebop, Slayers, GTO, and Azumanga Diaoh.

Music: My music taste is extremely eclectic. At any point in time I could be listening to Lana Del Rey, Santogold, The Knife, Gorillaz, Bill Withers, Queen, Polysics, Kanye, David Bowie, K'Naan, Dean Martin, Lykke Li, Aqua, Tegan and Sara, Die Antwoord, Goldfrapp, Crazy Loop, The Killers, Fever Ray, Ben Folds. I listen to a lot of Japanese music like the Blue Hearts, Utada Hikaru, Yaida Hitomi, Mr. Children, and Kishidan. I've recently been introduced to eleki, which is a mix of surfer music and traditional Japanese music and I love it. My interests in music go everywhere and depend on what I feel like at any particular moment. The current favorite are the Protomen and if you know who they are, you are already pretty awesome in my book.

Food: I love trying new things. I don't always like them, but that's a risk that worth taking because sometimes you find something wonderful, like hummus or taiwan ramen. And sometimes its bizarre like jellyfish or just nasty like sea cucumber (so nasty, just bitter with a chewy yet hard texture).

Board Games: Settlers of Catan, Arkham Horror, Betrayal at House on the Hill, Trivial Pursuit. I love board games and if I haven't played it yet, I'm down to try any game.

Video Games: Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy IV and VI, Dragon Quest games, Katamari Damashi, Tetris, etc.
The six things I could never do without
Learning new things.
Books.
Good friends who understand me.
Computer and the internet.
Nostalgic media (books, video games, movies) from my childhood.
Good cheese.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything. The past, the future, you name it. I tend to over-think things in my life. It's a hard habit to quit. Or what type of rock/bug/plant that is, or wtf am I doing back here, or what the origins of some everyday word might be.
On a typical Friday night I am
I almost always work on Saturdays, so Friday nights just aren't that special.

I dream of having a set schedule again so I can better plan a social life.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tend to curse often and I'm pretty sure that's why a date ended very abruptly. Whoops.

If that bothers you, we probably won't get along.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You liked what you've seen so far.

You can spell and use basic grammar properly.

You have any questions on Japan, academic or otherwise. I'm always up for conversation.

I was going to put this huge list of traits that someone must have to write me, but I realized that people actually are serious about that sometimes and that took the fun out of it.