JCM476
27 Madison, WI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
JCM476
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I think there are two main characterisitics that will help you understand who I am. First, I am a scientist, in the truest sense of the word. I get off on understanding the world around me; not just the experiments I do in the lab, but every aspect of the natural world, the people around me, and the society in we live in. My main satisfaction in life comes from understanding the "how" and the "why" of things. Second, I like pushing myself to the limit doing new and extreme things. This normally manifests in the form of sports or outdoor activities. After four years of rowing in college, leaving me very little time to do anything else, grad school has been a great setting to pursue my other interests. I've learned to white water kayak, climbed some 14ers in Colorado, skied the Birkebeiner, and biked a century. Don't worry, I also like more laid back outdoor activities like camping, hiking and fishing.

I try to keep a pretty calm, rational approach to life, but I have been known to get excited like a little kid at the prospect of ice cream. I value my close friendships above pretty much everything else, and I really like people that I can just be myself around.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm mid-way through a PhD in nuclear engineering, and trying to make the best of my years in grad school by keeping a good work-life balance. I love my research, but it need not dominate my life. I've been fully exploiting my free time by pursuing all the athletic and outdoor activities that I might not have time for once I'm out of school.
I’m really good at
-teaching, tutoring, explaining difficult concepts so people can understand them
-finding crazy awesome stuff at garage sales.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: mostly sci-fi or historical fiction, plus some assorted non-fiction. I'm in a book club that meets weekly, and we pretty much cover the spectrum of genres.
Some favorites: The Art of Racing in the Rain, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, A Fire Upon The Deep, Command and Control, Empire Falls. Oh and Harry Potter, for sure.

Movies: old classics like Bridge on the River Kwai, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, and 2001 A Space Odyssey. Also fun stuff like Stand By Me, Up, Star Wars

Shows: Suits, The Wire, Jericho, Sliders, Roseanne, Archer
I don't really watch too much TV.

Music: mostly classic rock, folk, and instrumental jazz.
Simon and Garfunkel, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Tom Petty, The Beatles, The Kinks, Johnny Cash, Elton John, Bob Dylan, Danny Davis and the Nashville Brass
The six things I could never do without
Close friends
Science!
Outdoor adventures
Breakfast - the most important part of my day
A reliable workout partner (or group)
Some peace and quiet
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-Physics. It's my job, but also just the physics of everyday life.
-Human behavior; how to understand people's actions, motivations, and points of view.
On a typical Friday night I am
meeting my workout group after work, and then I'm probably just unwinding and relaxing. There could be beer involved.
You should message me if
you've got something interesting going on between your ears.
More