Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


28 Philadelphia, PA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 21–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 3:48pm
Body Type
Strictly vegetarian
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Aries, and it’s fun to think about
Graduated from masters program
English, French, Chinese
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an educator interested in languages and the classroom as a space for healthy questioning and civic training. I get my jollies from goofy interactions with strangers, strolls, bargain carts, dumpster diving, and French pop music. I landed in education after floating around France as a migrant farmhand and, the son of farmer folk, I feel deeply connected to ag and food culture.
I grew up in Missouri and shuffled between France and the US until arriving in Philly in summer 2013. I collect postcards and geography dinner plates, cook vegetarian things, talk about community, and spend a lot of time on SEPTA. Cooking dinner is my reset button. Philadelphia is my jam. I don't know words beautiful enough to express how hugely I enjoy the I Love you/I Hate You section of the City Paper:
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
It's a process, and it's all how a person responds to it. After bouncing around for several years, I'm growing some roots here, finding my place, trying to show up in the world, corralling kids, writing lesson plans, chatting with neighbors, and practicing my Philly accent. Not settled yet, but I get to do what I love to do in a community that nurtures and surprises me. I'm down and looking for people and also a person. I'm sometimes an old man parading as a younger man.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
So much music, and it changes with the wind. A few with staying power: Rufus Wainwright, Jessica Lea Mayfield, Jenny Lewis, Christine and the Queens, Pierre Lapointe, and Mirah.

Current read: A history of French hip hop. Main literary squeezes: Nuala O' Faolain, Richard Rodriguez, and Voltaire. I impulse-buy spirituality books I hear about on the radio.

I listen to loads of podcasts. My favorites: This American Life, On Being, Les Pieds sur terre, the Savage Lovecast.

I don't really watch TV (not strictly opposed to it; I just haven't owned one in years). I love going to concerts. My first was No Doubt during the Tragic Kingdom days. Most recently, I saw Django Django and Christine and the Queens.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Chutzpah, humility, hummus, pet names, music, and words
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
how we present ourselves to each other; communicative language teaching; lesson planning; new music; kindness; cooking; sharing; the SEPTA rail schedule; money; how much I wish I didn't think about money; poverty; issues of class and race; demonstrating compassion; diversity, difference, and commonalities; power; honest and clear communication; alternative economic models; cars; cities; intention; awareness; place/space; amenity/disamenity; convenience; disruption
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It depends. The work weeks are rough so not often is it party-hardying.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you find resonance with something mentioned above; you're at least a little political; you like to explore (places, ideas, and people)