56 Cranford, NJ
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been living in the Tristate Area for half my life now, but grew up in Florida. I moved here to follow my first love, which is the cinema, to attend NYU film school and never left. I lost my wife of 12 years to breast cancer four years ago, and have spent the intervening time dealing with the loss. I now feel ready to again meet someone special, and am excited about seeing all that life has to offer!

I'm smart, quick-minded and funny (am fond of good-natured sarcasm), and passionate about a lot of things. I'm also a giving person by nature, so I'm looking for the right person with whom I could share all that is within me.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a proofreader/copy editor, but am looking to find more creative outlets, even pursuing dreams long put on hold. I have a core group of close friends, with whom I am very close, but I make new friends quite easily.

I'm looking to meet someone who is smart, affectionate, with a good--if slightly skewed--sense of humor, who "gets" me and the things that make me unique. Someone with whom I can be myself, and upon whom I can shower kind words, hugs, affection and passion. And have them love every minute of it!
I’m really good at
I like making others laugh, and enjoy interacting with people. I like to find the humor in most things, and sharing it with others. I'm a loyal friend and a sympathetic listener, and can usually help someone going through a rough time.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile and my warmth. I have a good sense of humor and like to put people at ease with a joke or two. People tend to remember me for that.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I tend to read nonfiction books, but I really liked "The Grapes of Wrath" and "Catcher in the Rye." My favorite films and music are from the 1960s and 1970s (Patton, both Godfathers, Cool Hand Luke, The French Connection). I am a big film nut. My favorite band is Steely Dan, hands down. Lately, my favorite foods tend to be anything that I haven't had to cook!
The six things I could never do without
My good friends and family; my mind, my passions and my ability to articulate them; the three non-summer seasons (I don't like the heat); my little three-cup coffee percolator; love, or the prospect of love: the ability to laugh whenever something strikes me as funny.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
All the things I'm going to do when I get home and over the weekend...things haven't changed all that much, I guess!
On a typical Friday night I am
Hard to say. Anything's possible!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've never seen "The Wizard of Oz" in color!
You should message me if
Feel free to contact me if anything I've written here has resonated with you, or if you're just curious. I do believe getting a chance to meet in person is far preferable to online messaging. I play much better in person!