Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

JohnBL

25 M Toronto, Ontario, CA

My Details

Last Online
Jul 8
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Available
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
This is my second time writing a profile, and I can't say I've acquired any self-promotional skills in the interim. But at least I'll try, goddamnit, at least I'll do that:

I just turned 25 and have began my requisite quarter-life crisis, but sometimes I forget about all that. It's not really very bad, and I'm taking some time to actually figure out what it is I should spend time doing. I spend most of my time with my band I would say. It's pretty fun. I've been playing guitar for 15 years, so I'm almost willing to admit that I'm not terrible at it.

I am on leave from a Master's degree in Philosophy. I love philosophy, but I'm not sure I love academia at the moment. I might give it another go come the new year. Who can say really?

Aside from those things, here are some others you may be interested to know:

I would almost always rather listen than speak, but I can also speak. I am interested in what goes on in people's heads. I would rather spend time with people who are more intelligent or talented than me if only for something to strive toward. I can often accidentally waste half a day playing guitar and then suddenly the sun has gone down, but I rarely regret it. I like vinyl records and think they are romantic. I can find humour in most everything and it isn't always an advantage.

Please ask me anything that might interest you to know. I have trouble knowing which characteristics of mine are initially most important to know. For example, I have new glasses. Is that good?
What I’m doing with my life
I mentioned some stuff above, but also: I am in an open relationship with my long-term partner (capdiamant), and I hope that's okay by you. We love each other a lot, and just happen to like other people too. I'm hoping to meet people who I can care about.
I’m really good at
some guitar playing, making people laugh (I hope), a bit of writing and spooning. I've been told I'm good at spooning.
The first things people usually notice about me
I hope:

my dashing good looks, my radiant wisdom, and my hilarious jokes.

I expect:

my awkwardness, my nerd glasses, and my use of oxford commas.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: East of Eden by John Steinbeck, Catch 22 by Joseph Heller, Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, On the Genealogy of Morals by Friedrich Nietzsche, Sources of the Self by Charles Taylor, The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus.

Movies: anything the Coen brothers have ever done. And Remember the Titans, despite myself.

Shows: The Office (UK), The Wire, Freaks and Geeks, Peep Show.

Music: The Constantines and/or Bry Webb, The Band, Tom Waits, Tragically Hip, Caribou, METZ, Grizzly Bear, Patrick Watson, Radiohead, Wilco, etc.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How embarrassing what I just said was, and where value can be found in one's life, if at all.
On a typical Friday night I am
Playing a show or in a library.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 19–99
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
...you think we might have fun together. I'm here on OkCupid with mixed feelings. I'd almost always rather meet people in person, but I understand peoples' hesitation (and I am certainly not the most confident of humans). As for who I hope to meet, I am fairly open. I like relationships of all sorts: intense emotional ones, strong friendships, sexually driven ones. So, maybe let's talk and figure out what we can be to each other.