Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

JosephWG

25 M New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:26am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Anything
Smokes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Virgo
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Hebrew (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm from Toronto, Canada originally, but I moved to NY in 2010 to study design.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently a graduate student at the School of Visual Arts, studying Design in the most interdisciplinary sense. Honestly, it's incredibly time consuming, but I doubt I'll ever stop socializing. I've worked in education quite a bit, and plan to merge my educational work and my design work moving forward.
I’m really good at
I think what I'm best at is simplifying complex problems. Although it means that I am a better fixer than I am sympathizer, I enjoy helping people I care about through problems they are overwhelmed by. In terms of hobbies, I play piano, guitar, and sing. I write plays, poetry, and I blog about my more complex academic thoughts. I play hockey in a competitive ball hockey league once a week. I take pictures, and I love cooking.
The first things people usually notice about me
I tend to dive deep with people, even if we just met. Obviously I am often light and fun, especially in groups, but given the chance I really like to get into personal one-on-one conversations. I just find that I learn a lot about myself and others from opening up. I also have a lot of initiative, and usually am the one establishing contact and suggesting plans.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite movie genres are like thriller crimes with twists (Pulp Fiction, The Usual Suspects, Inception), "what-if?" style comedies (Superbad, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Horrible Bosses), and documentaries (Planet Earth, King Corn, Who Killed the Electric Car?). I also love TV shows, comedies and dramas (30 Rock, The Office, The League, New Girl, Dexter, The Sopranos, The Wire).
I discovered I need reading glasses two years ago and have since been reading like crazy, but mostly academic stuff. I love fast-paced fiction (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The DaVinci Code), graphic novels (Watchmen, V for Vendetta), but mostly I read essays, journals, websites and books pertaining to design or I guess anything in the realm of non-fiction.
I like different music depending on my mood. Much of the time I'm in a singer-songwriter mood (She & Him, Bon Iver, Edward Sharpe), but I find myself listening to instrumental music while I read (RJD2, Chopin, Album Leaf), but I also listen to all kinds of rock (Red Hot Chili Peppers, Led Zeppelin, Black Keys), hip-hop (The Weeknd, J-Dilla, Lauryn Hill), soul (Marvin Gaye, Raphael Saadiq, Stevie Wonder), and Indie-folk (Phoenix, Flaming Lips, Simon and Garfunkel).
Oh and food. Most of the meals I buy are sandwiches or Asian food, but I eat a lot at home. And I make a mean spaghetti and meat sauce, all kinds of chicken, pancakes, eggs... I don't eat dairy, and I try to eat healthy substantial food so that affects my food choices a lot, but food's my thing. I eat every day.
The six things I could never do without
I've been to over 30 countries so I could never go long without traveling, which goes hand in hand with not being without my camera. My computer is obviously up there. (I find that I'm nervous to make this list because now if I lose any of these 6 things I'll feel even worse). I couldn't do without my reading glasses (unless there was a Duane Reade around), then I'd just need my credit card.
Really I need things to inspire me, things to learn from, and things that serve as creative outlets. That, and someone who cares about me nearby.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I am usually very immersed in reflecting on what I read and on relationships. Because I take radically different courses each semester, it's always a surprise to me too where my thoughts end up, but ultimately it is all rooted in social concern, the design of infrastructural systems, responsible education, the future of technology, and philosophy or psychology. Also, in growing up, I'm trying to embrace the unknowns of my relationships, but I do spend a lot of time thinking about the people I care about.
On a typical Friday night I am
I am not very routine based. I may be at the studio late, but if I can avoid it, I'll be hanging out. I've mellowed out recently, very rarely getting hammered. I'd much prefer catching up with friends, going on a movie-date, watching sports at a bar, sitting home stoned with a movie, or at a friends with an X-box.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am an only child, and I was raised with not many people my age around. I did extra-curricular activities 5 days a week, and rarely saw my school-friends outside of school, until I got my own car at 17. As a result I dislike being alone for long periods (although I often am), but I have a wide variety of skills and interests.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–26
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You should message me if you are relatively happy and together, if you have a good sense of why you are messaging me and what you're looking for, if you feel like we have something in common and not only opposite traits that might attract, if you would be happy to see my reply.