Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


40 Brooklyn, NY Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Mar 1, 2014
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body type
Mostly anything
Not at all
Buddhism, but not too serious about it
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Working on masters program
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Likes dogs
English (Fluently), Korean (Okay), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
If I could be anywhere right now, it would be with you, in a yurt, in the middle of Kyrgyzstan, looking at a map and planning our next adventure. Or in Budapest, soaking in a hot spring in view of the castle. Or right here in New York, holding hands and walking around SoHo, popping into the shops to look at interesting things.

I believe in intimacy and adventure. I want to see the world and meet the people in it, and I want to form genuine, deep connections -- especially with a partner. That feeling of being vulnerable and open and totally in love? Yeah, that.

So my story: I grew up in Northern California, the child of hippies who became Orthodox Jews. I love the natural beauty there, but I came to New York for college and ended up staying. I've always been a writer of one kind or another -- technical, marketing, diplomatic speeches -- except when I was teaching English in South Korea. When I got out of college, I went off to India and Nepal by myself for four months, and I still love that kind of experience: deep immersion in a challenging, surprising new place. But I also love a week in Paris in the spring, or relaxing on the beach in Playa del Carmen.

When I'm not galavanting about the globe, I'm usually out with friends, or meeting new people, or spending some time at home in Brooklyn Heights, probably reading a history of China and listening to Radiohead or watching The Daily Show. I love music and have catholic tastes. I'm fascinated by the Silk Road and by East Asia, and I'm hoping to go back to school for a master's degree in Asian Studies (but without quitting my corporate job). I'm a decent swing dancer.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working on an MA in East Asian studies. Working as a tech writer at Google. Learning to live better and more confidently. Planning a trip somewhere. Going to the museum.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, editing, grammar. Knowing obscure facts. Synthesizing ideas. Thinking up new ones. Making you laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I have a goatee and that I know something about whatever country they're from.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching by Thich Nhat Hanh, anything by Oliver Sacks, Jon Krakauer, or Peter Hopkirk.

Movies: Not really that big a movie buff, but I could watch The Big Lebowski over and over. I like movies that stand out as different and unique: The Party, This Is Spinal Tap, Being John Malkovich, anything by Bong Joon-ho.

Music: I love Beck, Radiohead, Talking Heads, Indian classical music, Air, Korean traditional music, Led Zeppelin, James Brown, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. I'm sort of all over the map.

Food: I'll try most things and have widely varied taste (as I do in so many areas of my life). I know a good Uighur place.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends, something to read, the dream of the perfect burrito, good shoes, art, music.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Politics. User interface design. International affairs. History. BDSM. Spirituality. Art. Music. Subway routes. India. Korea. Nepal. Asia. Buddhism and its history. Travel.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either home or hanging out with friends. I'm not a party animal. A good conversation beats a bar any day of the week, especially considering that I don't drink.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
A good friend told me to edit this section, and I'll admit she was right about that.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're awesome. You think I might be awesome. Or you happen to know the historical origins of monasticism.