Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


41 Chiang Mai, Thailand Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 18-42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Nov 21
Relationship Type
Mostly non-monogamous
5' 6" (1.68m)
Body Type
Average build
Not at all
Buddhism but it’s not important
Working on Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but might want them
English (Fluently), Korean (Somewhat), Spanish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm on an extended stretch of travel in the US and then Southeast Asia, and then I'll be moving to Seoul. I'm also writing a book about how Jews raise kids, to sell in Vietnam. Go figure.

Travel plans, subject to change:

Oct 2015: Phoenix, Seattle
Oct-Nov 2015: Thailand
Nov- Dec 2015: Burma
Dec 2015-Jan 2016: Thailand
Jan-Mar 2016: Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos
Mar-May 2016: Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore

All of this comes at the end of 23 years of living in New York City, finishing a master's degree in Asian studies, in which I wrote my thesis about Westerners who've become Korean shamans, and a long stint as a corporate person at Google, where I did nothing all that exciting. But hey, Google.

I want to meet and connect on the way. I believe in intimacy, open hearts, exploration, juiciness. I want to form genuine, deep connections, though I know they might be fleeting. That feeling of being vulnerable and open and totally in love? Yeah, that.

Backstory: I grew up in Northern California, the child of hippies who became Orthodox Jews. I came to New York for college, and I stayed. After college, I went to India and Nepal for four months, and a few years later I taught English for a year in Korea, then went back to India and Nepal for six months. I'm excited to get out into the wider world again.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Quitting my Google job to travel Southeast Asia and move to Korea. Writing a book about how Jews raise their children, to be sold in Vietnam. I'm also passionate about North Korean human rights, and I work with Liberty in North Korea on the issue.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, editing, grammar. Knowing obscure facts. Synthesizing ideas. Thinking up new ones. Making you laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I know something about whatever country they're from. That I'm a white guy speaking Korean.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching by Thich Nhat Hanh, anything by Oliver Sacks or Peter Hopkirk. And now that I'm out of grad school and have some time, I can go back to reading The New Yorker and The New York Review of Books again.

Movies: Not really that big a movie buff, but I could watch The Big Lebowski over and over. I like movies that stand out as different and unique: The Party, This Is Spinal Tap, Being John Malkovich, anything by Bong Joon-ho.

Music: I love Beck, Radiohead, Talking Heads, Indian classical music, Air, Korean traditional music, Led Zeppelin, James Brown, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. I'm sort of all over the map.

Food: I'll try most things and have widely varied taste (as I do in so many areas of my life).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends, something to read, the dream of the perfect burrito, good shoes, art, music.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Politics. Korea and Korean shamanism. International affairs. History. BDSM. Spirituality. Art. Music. Southeast Asia. Buddhism and its history. Travel. Backpacking gear.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I don't think I'm going to have many typical Friday nights for a long time. But I like to be with people, socializing, enjoying life, exploring new places. So I'll probably be doing that.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I don't drink or do drugs, and haven't for over eight years.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're awesome. You think I might be awesome. You'd like to meet up wherever I am and you are.