Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Josh_Erb

23 Durham, NC Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 18–23
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Aug 26
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Status
Single
Type
Monogamous
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Energetic, nerdy to a fault, closet romantic. I'm a scientist, an avid reader, and mediocre tennis player.

I graduated from Columbia in 2014 and am about to enter my second year in a PhD program in neurobiology at Duke. To corroborate my professional geekiness (geekitude?), I also enjoy things like D&D, Battlestar Galactica, fantasy RPGs, etc. I also try to stay up with new music, which I might describe as indie for lack of a bettor word, from Pitchfork.

I grew up in Durham, and though I attempted to get away in college, it just drew me back in. But this is because I genuinely love the city.

Also, I have strong opinions about pretty much everything. Sometimes, I can be overbearing about them, but I always love to have them challenged.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm currently in Durham working on a PhD in Neurobiology at Duke. I work in the lab of Dr. Chay Kuo studying adult neurogenesis (how the brain generates new brain cells after development). My particular focus is on how the brain controls its own growth through direct contact between neurons and stem cells.

In the long term, I plan to stay in academia and continue to do research in neurobiology, hopefully in a professorial capacity.

I'm also working on expanding my social circle and finding a niche for myself here in Durham. I would love to get more involved in the rich cultural production of Durham, it's art, music, and performance. Oh, and of course it's food!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Analyzing things, people, and ideas.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height. Or the beard (which, I might add, I now regularly trim XD)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I simply don't know where to begin with this category. However, I will say that Proust's In Search of Lost Time is the single most impressive novel I have ever read. To all the non-believers out there: yes, it is better than Ulysses.

Movies: I am completely ignorant about film.

Shows: Various geek staples (Battlestar Galactica, Dr. Who, Firefly) as well as Parks and Recreation, 30 Rock, and Portlandia.

Music: I like music that challenges the listener. I expect my music to create space. Here are some of the artists I listen to:

65daysofstatic, Air, Aphex Twin, Baths, Broken Bells, Broken Social Scene, Burial, Caribou, Clams Casino, Crystal Castles, Delorean, Destroyer, DJ Shadow, Eliot Lipp, Fennesz, Flying Lotus, Four Tet, Gang Gang Dance, Girls, Glasser, How To Dress Well, Imogen Heap, James Blake, Kings of Convenience, LCD Soundsystem, M83, MGMT, The Most Serene Republic, Mount Kimbie, My Bloody Valentine, Neon Indian, Nick Drake, Nicolas Jaar, of Montreal, Oriol, Portishead, The Postal Service, The Radio Dept., Radiohead, Salem, Shabazz Palaces, Sigur Ros, Stars, St. Vincent, Surfer Blood, Teebs, and Zombie.

Food: Peanut butter, eggs, bagels, chocolate of various kinds, and tikka masala.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
-My Headphones
-Google Scholar (why are you so much better than PubMed?)
-Diet Coke
-Black-out curtains
-Hookah (I frequently go to hookah lounges to read. Note, however, that I do not smoke cigarettes.)
-Self-respect
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Space exporation, nuclear disarmament, the problems of organized religion, international government, consciousness and the Gestalt school of psychology. Also etymology, for some reason.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Reading classics at a hookah lounge.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've read more than a couple romance novels. And not in the renaissance sense.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're a bit geeky yourself, if you're a writer or artist type, or if you just want to hang out sometime.