Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

KSgirl850

34 F Portland, OR

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 28–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:16pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Pisces
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Medicine
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English, French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a transplant like many of those populating Portland. Originally from the midwest, I've also lived in Upstate New York (as an AmeriCorps volunteer), Northern California, the United Kingdom (as a Willing Workers on Organic Farms volunteer), and now here. I've traveled a lot in Europe and across the U.S., but would love to extend my traveling experiences to other continents. Australia is on the top of my list, despite all the many deadly creatures that inhabit its vastness and may eat me, poison me or just give me the evil eye (if you haven't read "In a Sunburned Country," you should.) I'm also enamored with exploring my own native land, and want to see all 50 states, national parks, giant cement creatures in the middle of nowhere, etc.

I have a degree in Journalism, which I have never used directly, but which I value for its many indirect uses. I would love to someday have some land on which to grow my own food and have as many animals as I want (I won't truly be satisfied with my existence if I don't at some point have at least one goat, some chickens, a pig, two donkeys and maybe an alpaca or even a hedgehog?). I believe strongly in living a sustainable life. For now I have far too many house plants in lieu of a garden and far too many cats in lieu of a farm menagerie.

I love hiking, camping, eating, going out, staying in, exploring Portland, spending time with my too numerous pets, dancing, laughing at and with my amazing friends and exploring new avenues of knowledge.

I thrive on being creative. I love to be challenged by my partner as long as it comes from a positive place. I value humor, intelligence and honesty above all else. I am looking for someone to explore the world and all its facets with, whether its trying a new restaurant, hiking a new trail or facing a new obstacle.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I am currently working as a doctor's assistant at a very busy veterinary practice. I value the variety of my job. Every day is different and I never know what might walk through the door next . . . and then you add in puppies and kittens! Gold. That being said I returned to school last fall. I've reached just about as high as I can go in my current employment, and I hate to be without a new goal to set or a new challenge to meet. And I wouldn't mind never being bitten in the face again. I think I've had my fair share of job related stitches (all of them within the last 24 months).

Like I said, I'm in school full time, and I'm still working full time as well. It puts a crimp in my free time, but I just have to make the most of what time I have, and it is fairly short term. I will graduate from the Biology and Management of Zoo Animals Program in June, 2015. I hope to work with program animals in a zoo setting: combine animals and education, and I'm pretty happy. So far I've worked with lions, cheetahs, African wild dogs, caracals, polar bears, sunbears, raptors, toucans, parrots, tigers, leopards, sea otters, etc. Can't complain!

I also returned to my roots about two years ago, and began volunteering again after nearly a 5 year hiatus. I've spent my time pulling invasive ivy out of the Audubon sanctuary, working in their Wildlife Care Center and rocking it at Swift Watch and other special events. Last summer I worked the Puppy Kissing Booth at Beerfest with Indigo Rescue, a local animal rescue group, which was a blast. I also volunteer at the Oregon Zoo with their Enrichment programs, as a Reptile handler and with many of their special events. (I really do like people, but environmental and animal rescue organizations are near and dear to my heart. Obviously non-animal lovers need not apply.) Although with school I have less time to give to these wonderful programs . . .
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Cooking, gardening, nurturing, my job, listening, creative outlets, traveling, laughing and I'm a font of random information . . . Did you know that a Vaux's Swift flies the equivalent of 3 times around the Earth in one year? Damn they're awesome.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile . . . generic I know . . .
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Food: I love ethnic food: Thai, Indian, Chinese, Mexican, Lebanese, Greek, Japanese, Italian, French, Spanish . . I love trying new cuisines . . . although I admit to being a bit squeamish when it comes to offal. One of the best things about Portland is the amazing food scene. Food carts, diners, brunch spots, high brow, low brow, and it's pretty much all amazing. I'm a good cook and a great baker: my homemade bread is amazing!

Books: As the daughter of an English teacher turned children's librarian, I read a lot! Laurie R. King, David Sedaris, Ann Lovejoy, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Bill Bryson, Amy Tan, Elizabeth George, Jane Austen, Will Thomas, Cara Black, Sharon K. Penman, James Herriot, the Brontes, etc. I'm always nose deep in at least one book, but I often have several on my plate.

Movies: I will watch most movies at least once, but my favorites are those that fall in the smart and/or dark comedy catergory (Juno, Kevin Smith flicks, Better off Dead, Grosse Point Blank, Mumford, High Fidelity, Waiting for Guffman, The Royal Tenebaums (anything Wes Anderson really), Silver Linings Playbook, I Love You Man, etc). I like movies for the escape they can provide, and for me laughter is such a great release, so most of the time I would rather watch a movie that will make me laugh vs. one that will make me cry. I see a lot of sad shit in my job, and it's nice to watch a funny flick and have it all erased, at least for awhile. But overall I am just a movie fan, so whether it's Star Wars or Empire of the Sun, I'm in.

Television: The United States of Tara, Downton Abbey, In Treatment, Dexter, A Bit of Fry and Laurie, The Office (British and American), Little Britain, Bored to Death, Boardwalk Empire, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The Big C, Fawlty Towers, Deadwood (Ian McShane is the man). . .

I love live theater, ballet, art museums, gardens and any event/or exhibition that can teach or show me something new. I enjoy trivia, board games, hosting dinner parties and/or game nights. I'm also a live sports fan. For the most part I can't stand watching sports on TV (unless it's with a large group or KU basketball during March Madness), but I love being part of a crowd, rooting for a team and the insane exhilaration of a great win. Timbers games are a favorite, but I'm down to watch pretty much anything as long as it's live.

I've recently discovered the joy of birding, and hope to continue to expand my skills . . . I love being out in search of the elusive, never knowing what I might find or see. I'm also trying to practice yoga on a more regular basis, as I took a 12 week course and loved it . . . now I just need to make it a home habit.

Music: If I'm out dancing I want hip hop, pop or 80's music. I want to be able to sing along as I dance. I have very fond memories of dancing to "Footloose" with a group of friends on stage in a Portland club and equally fond memories of dancing to Tupac's "California Love" in a Paris nightclub. At home or in my car I will listen to pretty much anything. I'm not a big country fan, but I love rock, emo, blue grass, local . . . I have been blessed with some very musical friends in my life and I entrust them with my musical education. And while I don't often seek it out on my own, I love live music as well, preferably on a smaller scale (ie: in a local dive vs. a big stadium).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My Pets (2 dogs, 3 cats . . . scary (maybe even terrifying?), I know!). The danger of working in the veterinary industry . . . I often think of it like this: Their combined weight is less than 60 pounds, so in reality all I have is a smallish lab with a multiple personality disorder.

My Family (They are mostly far away, and spread across the states, but it only make me value them more)

My Friends (I am blessed to have truly wonderful, funny, soulful friends)

Books (movers hate me, because of the sheer volume of books I tote around with me) . . . I have yet to succumb to an e-reader, I still love the feel of a book between my fingers.

Travel (coast, mountains, desert . . I love them all)

Great Food (mexican food, sushi, and desserts involving chocolate especially)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My next camping trip, what to do on the weekend, the books on my current reading list, my job, where I want to travel to (I plan a lot of vacations in my head, now I just need to make them a reality), my intentions and goals for the future . . .
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
You may find me cooking a good meal and watching a movie or out dancing with my friends. I love to go out and I love staying in and relaxing, drinking a glass of wine and having a great conversation. There's also nothing better than taking a walk in the perfection of a warm Portland evening . . .
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I absolutely adore onions and put them in nearly everything (savory) that I cook. I almost made onion-lover my screen name, but I thought that might come off a bit weird.