Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Karlx1

38 Leuven, Belgium Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Straight women only
  • Ages 29–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 10:45am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.76m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, but not too serious about it
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Dutch (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), German (Okay), Swedish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi there, some general things about myself. If you're curious, just message.

37 years old and engineer by formation; third out of four children. Seen some remote corners of the world in a previous professional live, then decided to work in the renewables industry, returned to Europe, and ended up back in Belgium. Currently working in the energy administration of the Flemish government. A job that leaves me a life-after-work, compared to my previous one: developing offshore wind projects in Belgium. Originally from Antwerp, but living in Leuven for the last x years.

I am honest, sportive, and socialist
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to make a difference at work. Besides that, quite some salsa (and related Latin) dancing lately. I even became reasonably good at it, never thought I would. Enjoy active holidays, such as walking, canyoning, cycling. Taken up freelance work as a travel guide, which recently brought me to places like Cuba, Costa Rica and Nepal. Nice hobby!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Should I say that?

Languages maybe? My voice doesn't sound too bad, but I don't like singing for an audience. I whistle quite well, and very often. Something is seriously wrong if I don't whistle for a couple of days. Used to be very good at running, but I never practiced.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Never asked. Have a look at my pictures. What do you notice?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Reading non-fiction most of the time. Something tough gets my preference over a don't-think-too-much-about-it-novel.
Last one was Antifragile by Taleb. Never got so much inspiration from one book!! Besides that I read too much - no, really - about energy.

Quite some on economics and our monetary system as well. Big inspiration there is Bernard Lietaer on complementary currencies, with Money and sustainability or Mysterium Geld. Boy, so many possibilities!!

Same for movies: rather something new, difficult or surprising than a predictable hollywood -fit for consumption- movie. I almost don't go to the movies. Last one...The immigrant.

Hearing Juan Luis Guerra makes me want to dance more salsa. Leonard Cohen is nice, Manu Chao, Wim Mertens, Sting, Sinead O'Connor... In general relatively soft music where melody is more important than lyrics. And surely no strong beats.

Since I'm single, and don't like cooking for one person, I almost never cook. (Stupid excuses of course, but the interest is there.) 95% of my meals are vegetarian, but I can equally enjoy a good barbeque! Read Taleb!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A bicycle: I'm just addicted. Not in a club, on weekends, but to get around. Recently got myself a Twike too. Just look it up.
Wind turbines: one needs a job.
Wind: for the wind turbines. In Belgium as well for blowing the air pollution on to Germany.
A nearby park/garden/forest: something green, with plants and stuff. Makes me feel good.
Time outdoors, exploring new places or just being out of the house.

OK, that's it. You can take everything else away from me, I'll still be happy. No i-pods, computers, Ferrari collections... Free me from matter! No, seriously, I'm not a material guy, and I feel our Western culture is putting way too much importance on material aspects. That said, I will buy without hesitation what I feel makes my life more interesting or (really) comfortable.

Note that friends, family... are not in the list as those are people. Not things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Energy! And how it drives our economy and how the lacking of cheap energy will impact our future. The earth & environment, social justice and our monetary system.

Don't bring me on the topics of renewables, energy policy, peak oil, energy conservation and the likes: I'll talk for hours!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Salsa dancing. Mondays as well. But having a drink with friends in a bar is also an option. Movies maybe. Visiting my parents.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My teddy bear once saved my life when I was about two...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you're female, straight and...
...have a big smile on your face and twinkling stars in your eyes!
...we have a reasonable match and don't live at the other end of the world.
...you're about my age. (+-x years)

It's still a dating site. ;-)