KateNTheCity
26 Bethesda, MD
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
KateNTheCity
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and went to college in New Hampshire, so I'm a country girl at heart. But I love living in the DC Metro area: I've been here for about four years now, and there's still so much to explore!

I'm a classy girl who loves to laugh. I always like to stay busy, and I'd like to meet someone who can keep up with me! But I'm also looking for someone with whom I can relax and share downtime. And I think "bad boys" with motorcycles and such are overrated: I have a soft spot for old-fashioned gentlemen types instead!

A lot of people talk about traveling around the world in their profiles. While I haven't been abroad many times, I would love to meet someone who could show me new places and has more traveling experience than I do. I'd love to share those travel experiences with someone special!

PS: If you're going to "like" or "favorite" my profile, you might as well message me while you're at it! I like a man who takes initiative!
What I’m doing with my life
I am working in community outreach with The Nature Conservancy, saving one ecosystem at a time!
I’m really good at
Boggle: I'm my grandma's protégé. And samurai sudoku.

Remembering names AND faces

Quoting movies, songs, and TV shows: sometimes people get the references, and sometimes they don't.
The first things people usually notice about me
People usually notice my smile and my intelligence. I'm told I'm a "sexy nerd." And people are always asking me whether my hair color is real (For the record, it's natural. You can't get highlights like this from a box!).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: In Cold Blood, Pride and Prejudice, Machiavelli's The Prince, The DaVinci Code, anything written by Amy Tan, A Midsummer Night's Dream (I guess that's not technically a book...)

Movies: Top Gun, Sabrina (the Audrey Hepburn version), Gladiator, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, Happy Gilmore, Love Actually, Titanic, Talladega Nights, Clueless, Liar Liar, The Wedding Singer

Shows: I don't want too much TV, just the Today Show in the morning and sometimes Family Feud when I get home from work. And anything on HGTV.

Music: Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Jason Aldean, Taylor Swift, The Wind and The Wave, Celine Dion, Madonna

Food: Indian food is by far my favorite ethnic cuisine. I eat pretty much anything, although since college I have become allergic to MSG, so most Chinese food is out. :(

More categories:
Sports: Hockey (watching!), Snowboarding (I'm a beginner), Tennis (wish I were better)

Athletes: Alexander Ovechkin, Shaun White, the Williams sisters, Peyton Manning, Novak Djokovic

Comedians: Jim Gaffigan, Daniel Tosh, Stephen Lynch, Lewis Black, Nick Swardson, Kathleen Madigan, Chris Rock

Places in DC: the Kennedy Center, 9:30 Club, the Warner Theatre, the National Cathedral, Sixth and I, American Art Museum/Portrait Gallery
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:

Family/Friends/Someone to talk to
Self-confidence
Exercise (yoga, spinning, gym-ing, tennis)
Nature (and being in it, like hiking, kayaking, etc.)
Blues dancing
Victoria's Secret
I spend a lot of time thinking about
OkCupid and how it works:

How much of my profile do men read before they contact me? Do they actually try to get to know me by looking at how I answered certain questions, etc., or do they just like my profile pic? haha

Why do some guys "like" my profile, but then don't message me? You've got nothing to lose by saying hello! I like a man who takes the initiative and messages me first!
On a typical Friday night I am
at a concert/show/ballet, meeting up with friends, or going to Shabbat (i.e. Jewish Church which includes happy hour and dinner). Or on an OkCupid date haha.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm pretty much looking for the male version of me. Just taller, older, and maybe a bit more spontaneous. Oh, and good at math. The more things we have in common, the better! "Birds of a feather flock together."
You should message me if
-You don't or can't have kids, and you're okay with that.
-You're looking for more than a one-night-stand.
-You like country music, or at least can put up with it.
-You're metro accessible (or willing to drive).
-You lead a healthy lifestyle: you work out regularly, eat a balanced diet, and aren't chronically sick. I consider myself to be a healthy person, and I want someone who's like that, too.
-Our match percentage is at least 80%.
-You wanted to message me before reading this (rather long) list!
More