Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

KateVln

31 F Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:35am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Medicine
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English, Spanish

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a scientist and a musician, a baker, dancer, hiker, organizer, worrier, observer, teacher of toddlers, and singer of folk tunes.

My favorite weekend spots and activities include farmers markets, libraries, coffee shops with couches, hosting or attending dinner parties, hiking moderate distances, and playing the fiddle. I really like grammar and words. I enjoy cooking for friends and with friends. More on music and food below, I suppose.

I studied biology, mostly ear development, in school. I have burst out of the lab, but I still get to think about science every day at work and use sciency words to talk about non-science concepts. It makes me smile to be around people who (in the course of a conversation abut parallel parking or romantic relationships or new glasses) say "oh, there was a study that showed that..."

I have lived in California, Minnesota, Maryland, Oregon and now DC (in that order). I definitely consider myself a westcoaster. I am enamored with Portland, OR (where I went to grad school); maybe I'll find a way to live there again someday. I'm feeling more and more at home in DC or at least in the life that I have in DC. Hurray!
What I’m doing with my life
I work on genomics research policy. I'm really interested in bioethics, and I've gotten to participate on some interesting projects this year. It is fun to be at the intersection of science, ethics, law, and policy.

Otherwise, I'm living my version of DC city life, spending a lot of weekend time walking around northwest DC, exploring the region, cooking, and playing music here and there. I try to get out of DC for a hike or something most weekends, or at least go on a substantial bike ride around town. I sing in choir and play in a Bluegrass band. I designed and completed my own triathlon-for-fun; several friends joined me for the event (I might do another one soon).
I’m really good at
I'm really good at making pancakes. I can make pretty amazing cookies sometimes, too. I am sometimes good at writing and sending letters and postcards. I'm also good at wearing lots of summer dresses and playing the violin. I would like to become a great writer someday. I often notice if somebody is feeling left out of a conversation or struggling to keep up on a hike, and I try to fix it if I can.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Surely You're Joking Mr. Feynman, The Kite Runner, The Family That Couldn't Sleep, Bridge to Terabithia, Lewis Thomas essays, Devil in the White City. I'm currently reading Stones from the River, which is very good.

Plays: Arcadia, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, God's Country, Emma's Child, Turn of a Screw

Music: Newgrass (Bela Fleck, Darol Anger, Edgar Meyer, Mike Marshall, Chris Thile, Abigail Washburn), Crooked Still, Avett Brothers, Blind Pilot, Matt the Electrician. This is generally also the kind of music I like to play. I sometimes play in the NIH orchestra-- every federal agency should have its own orchestra. Also, big band swing, gypsy jazz, Beatles, Ingrid Michaelson, Fleet Foxes, Pink Martini.

Radio: This American Life, Prairie Home Companion, The Moth, Radiolab.

Movies: Ray, A Beautiful Mind, Forest Gump, Mr. Holland's Opus, Tell No One, The Fugitive.

Food: Indian food, Thai food, dessert-- especially chocolate, ice cream, colorful vegetables, rooibos tea.
The six things I could never do without
1. Making music
2. Getting outside among trees
3. Family
4. Conversations about learning, development, biology and language
5. Friends, near and far
6. Dancing
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Learning, development, biology and language!

I think about how to be a better person-- more honest, more compassionate, more engaged.

Planning trips to visit friends all over the country. Fantasizing about trips to South America or Central America.
On a typical Friday night I am
I didn't know the answer, so I had to look it up in my calendar. This is what I found:

1. Doing something with the friend I'm visiting in another city.
2. Going to a potluck
3. Dinner and a walk with a friend in DC
4. Seeing a Bluegrass show (or some other show)
5. Camping/cabin adventure
6. Nothing
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I got a pair of toe socks, and I actually liked them. I'm not quite sure what this means for me.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 28–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating