Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

LIFE_is_G00D

35 M McLean, VA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 7:26am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$150,000–$250,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Arabic (Poorly), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi! My name's Dave!

Aside from teaching Criminology at George Mason University (used to teach at UMD too...Go Terps!), I'm a behavioral scientist who dabbles in decoding human behavior. Like everyone else in the DC region, I travel a lot, but have had some pretty unique experiences (watching the sun rise from the summit of Mt. Fuji, checking the Great Wall of China for cracks, wandering around Iraq for two years, inspecting former Soviet radar installations, surfing in Hawaii, and much more).

I love my job and especially enjoy teaching Cold War history to students who would rather play Candy Crush. I cross-country ski every time it snows (yes, in McLean), love to cook and make artisanal blue cheese and brew a hell of an IPA to go with it at monthly dinner parties.

For fun, I attend the the f'n'ng Catalina Wine Mixer, race half-iron distance triathlons (Savageman 70.3...also training for the USMC marathon), grow basil, tomatoes and peppers, and can be caught dancing outrageously from time to time. I know some of the best secret trails and restaurants around DC, and camp (with obligatory winery visits) about once a month. I use Oxford commas all over the place and walk to work every day :-)
What I’m doing with my life
Sitting on my balcony in the morning sun with a plate of fruit, yogurt and mug of tea, checking emails from undergraduates at GMU and discussion-board posts from graduate-level students at an online university. When I get home I might fix myself a homegrown tomato & mayo sandwich and turn on Tosh.O, but will quickly turn it off again to sit on my balcony again and watch a summer storm roll in, or watch the sun sink out of view and the sky darken (all the while checking student messages...or OKC...a man's got to handle his business).
I’m really good at
You should come sit in on my class sometime and find out for yourself...

I'm also fairly old school in another respect, and that means manners, chivalry, consideration, and respect. I consider myself to be a gentleman, and am not on here to play games or lead anyone on.
The first things people usually notice about me
Big smile, and I'm full of jokes, stories and pretty much unquenchable energy...introverts beware. Given this energy and my diverse set of interests, you've probably never met anyone like me before. Its hard for me to find people who can "keep up". Can you?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My little brother's band opened for Coldplay a few years ago
The six things I could never do without
-The feeling of complete and utter exhaustion after my weekly Bikram yoga class in Tysons
-Spending time grilling sausages and making s'mores with friends around the campfire on summer camping trips. I've gone camping four times already in 2014 ;-)
-Learning new things, meeting new people, seeing new places, eating new foods, not trying Tinder
-Thai food. Who doesn't like Thai food? I like mine "Thai spicy" too
-Sprinting the last 200 meters in a triathlon, much to the surprise of those who thought they had beaten me
-I love the outdoors and am happiest when outside in the sun!

Hard work never killed anyone, but why take the chance?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why the call the W&OD trail the W&OD trail. I prefer to call it the WTF trail, since WTF are so many people doing on that trail whenever I try and go biking?!

I'm from a small, historic town in Massachusetts and I grew up swimming in Walden Pond, reading Thoreau and Emerson, shoveling snow and helping my parents in their garden. These values (hard-work, self-reliance, love for nature and the value of education) are central to my life and my work.
On a typical Friday night I am
No such thing as a typical Friday night for me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
why did the mushroom go to the party?
Because he was a fungi

Why did the fungi leave the party?
Because there wasn't mushroom

Cheesy? Yes, but not as cheesy as this one pizza joke I know :-)

Yeah, I'm 35...never been married, been engaged in my early 20's to a woman who had 18 cats. Grad school for seven years at UMD, then Iraq for a couple more, and now McLean. Been in a couple year-long relationships lately, but still haven't found that one person who can really make me smile.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 27–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are looking for a real and meaningful relationship and you believe in the importance of honesty and good communication as being foundational in a great relationship. I know online dating can be frustrating, full of unmet expectations (and unexpected surprises) and it can be tough to avoid being jaded. I hope, despite the challenges associated with the electronic medium, that I can meet someone amazing on here :-)