Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


36 Santa Monica, CA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 31-39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 7:15pm
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
5' 7" (1.70m)
Body Type
Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but might want them
English (Fluently), German (Fluently), French (Somewhat), Swahili (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I spent the first big chunk of my conscious life studying. About five years ago, I finished my PhD in linguistics. I worked with a startup for a while, co-founded one of my own, and then, about a year ago, I joined a large company. It's been very interesting to see exactly how different that is.

I'm proud of my Hoosier roots and love my new Santa Monica home, but somehow I feel most myself when I'm traveling abroad, often in Germany. I think it has to do with the way that people make allowances for foreigners, so any of my idiosyncrasies can just be chalked up to "he's not from these parts."

I'm happy most of the time. I like cats and dogs, but I don't have any pets at the moment. I was raised Catholic and still consider myself to be one, but I find that the moments I feel closest to God are when I'm sharing food and drinks and good conversation with good company. I'm not a vegetarian, but I try to be very conscious about the amount of meat that I eat.

My favorite word in the English language is "apparatus." Just about anything can be an apparatus.

I am intelligent, kind, and loyal.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In 2010, I finished my Ph.D. at UCLA. While I studied and for a few years after I graduated, I worked for a small Santa Monica company developing a system for automated analysis of text. The system has been deployed for a variety of purposes, like evaluating the effectiveness of anti-depressants, generating leads for wealth-management companies, monitoring mergers and acquisitions, and reputation management.

I also co-founded a company that uses the technology from that company and adapts it for the Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Bribery and Corruption markets.

In September 2014, I decided to get out of the startup scene and find something more stable, so I work for one of the big companies now. This has had unexpected advantages, such as a big improvement in the quality of the food that I eat and easy access to the on-site gym --- I've lost ten pounds since I joined!

I'm training for a half-marathon this coming October.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
My job, for starters. Last time I picked up a clarinet, I played that pretty well, too---but it's been a while. I'm an excellent rummy player. I'm also very good at saying "thank you."
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I like to wear nice hats, and these get noticed. When I'm not wearing a hat, I don't know what gets noticed first.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
10 movies I like a lot: Map of the Human Heart, Antonia's Line, Man Facing Southwest, Wings of Desire, Far Away So Close, Krull, Highlander, Repo Man, Friday, and Fifth Element.

Food? I love it all. Indian food maybe most of all, but Lebanese food is awesome as well. In Santa Monica, though, my favorite food comes from Fritto Misto.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
"Could never" is really strong language. But I'd much rather never have to do without:

1. My sense of hearing --- I get so much joy from hearing music and voices that my life would be greatly diminished if I couldn't hear them.

I'll try to think of some others...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How do people put their thoughts into words? I came up with an answer in my dissertation... I think it's on the right track.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
These days, a Friday night is either dinner and drinks with my coworkers, if they're feeling social, or a catching up on what my Tivo collected for me during the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have lived in a nudist colony, but do not currently lead a nudist life.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You should message me if you think we'd have fun getting to know each other.