LauraCanuck
36 Portsmouth, UK
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
LauraCanuck
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a Canadian happily living abroad, back in the UK after three years in the Netherlands. I enjoy travel, theatre, opera, jazz, cinema, books, good food and good friends. I'm a lecturer who is passionate about teaching and known to get geekily excited about my research on musical theatre. I've been spending quite a bit of time in East Asia this year, not a long term goal but an exciting development I've been enjoying.
What I’m doing with my life
Teaching, researching, writing. Travelling near and far. Running, swimming and pilates.
I’m really good at
Motivating and supporting my family, friends and students. Getting things done, organising, trouble-shooting, being a bit silly, seeing the bright side.
The first things people usually notice about me
...my loud voice, bubbly personality, positive outlook on life, curiosity, propensity to go out on a limb
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books
Jane Austen, Timothy Findley, Maggie O'Farrell, Richard Yates

Movies - It Happened One Night, The Apartment, Cabaret, The English Patient, Date Night, Spy, Phoenix

Shows - Nashville, House of Cards, Nurse Jackie, The Good Wife, The Americans

Music - Brad Mehldau, Diana Krall, Sarah Harmer, Ingrid Michaelsen, opera

Food - Italian, steak frites, sweet and sour chicken, chocolate
The six things I could never do without
Family and friends
Theatre
Chocolate
Forest
Ocean
Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Possibilities, passion, adventure.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out for drinks with friends, home enjoying a movie, or on a train/plane off for a weekend city break
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I feel a lot younger than I am
You should message me if
You want to go see a film/for a run/cook me dinner/share a newspaper/visit an art gallery/share one of your passions
More