Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

LivingBySpirit

43 F Jamaica Plain, MA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 2, 2013
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Medicine
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), Portuguese (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Peace! I've found my greatest joy in honoring my intuitions, planning to realize my dreams, and following my passions. I take great joy in my friends who have walked with me on this journey, and in taking part in the journeys which they walk.

My spirituality - and how I live it out - is a core part of my life. I smile and say hello on the subway. A small way I remind myself that we are kin, worthy of respect, and for that moment we travel together. I say "thank you" a lot - for a juicy ripe peach, for a newly opened bud, for the waking breath. Miracles are everywhere - the most complex thought is at its most basic an interchange in electrons. Prayer: "Oh Love that fires the sun, keep me burning," to quote Bruce Cockburn.

I've been a Quaker for many years, but really I'm a mutt - my mother is Catholic, by dad Jewish. Interfaith work? I've done it since I was a tot. Today both traditions are important to me.

I am trustworthy, sincere, and compassionate
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working as a labor & delivery nurse. Before that, I was a childbirth doula. Intense work, being with families during such a major life transition. I love it. The hospital where I work serves families from around the world. Some have let me into their lives - their dreams and heartbreaks, victories and challenges. Their personal stories have challenged me to consider the world that shapes their - and our - realities, sometimes so different - and what part we play in each other's interrelated lives. I carry many stories in my heart.

I'm an social justice activist to the core - I so love the world and so wonder at the miraculous awesomeness of it that the broken places pain me. My nursing work has brought me two passions - women's health and globalization & immigration.
I’m really good at
I'm at home in the outdoors.

I love cooking whatever is local and in season, and experimenting with new foods, seasonings, and combinations.

Another new thing I've been taking up is photography - I got a digital camera for a graduation present. A photo is a way of giving focused attention to a moment in time and space, of being present to it, of saying "thank you."

I enjoy hiking and cross-country skiing, and I am a bicycle commuter. Also dance: contra dance, English country dance, salsa. Being present in my body is newer to me - to the miracle of being able to duck under a tree branch on skis without stopping or falling over (and being able to laugh when I do fall!)
The first things people usually notice about me
People often comment that I'm a good listener and reach out to go beyond the small talk. They feel comfortable with me, well-respected, and able to trust me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some favorite writers (in no particular order): Mary Oliver, Marge Piercy, Joy Harjo, Martín Espada, Abraham Joshua Heschel, bell hooks, John Woolman, Leslie Marmon Silko, Wendell Berry

Some favorite musicians (in no particular order): Kallet, Epstein, & Cicone, Dean Stevens, Bruck Cockburn, Peter Gabriel

Food: Anything local and in season! I joke that if I were to run out of garlic, I would starve, because I'd be unable to cook! Hot peppers are good (in moderation) - even in chocolate!
The six things I could never do without
my friends, a community of faith, a social justice community, music, poetry, "my" cat
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think a lot about how to make the world a more just place, where people feel respected and can live up to their potentials. Also how to encourage and facilitate people getting involved in making that happen, of feeling a part of a larger effort of "the universe bending towards justice," to paraphrase King.
On a typical Friday night I am
I work every third weekend. When I'm not at work, I enjoy going out to a forum, movie, or dance; eating dinner with a friend; visiting with my family; or taking a trip out of town to visit friends and get out of the city.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
As a toddler, I flipped cigarettes for my uncle's rock band in Austria. (The band later became famous, after my family convinced my teenage uncle to go back to school).
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like girls
  • Ages 33–64
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are honest, sincere, trustworthy, passionate, daring, secure in knowing yourself, appreciate the simple things in life, know that money doesn't buy happiness, and see yourself on a spiritual path.