27 Brooklyn, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is David - I'm a sculptor living in greenpoint brooklyn. I spend my days making things, reading whatever catches my eye at second hand stores, watching movies, going to concerts, and adventuring around the city, camera, crowbar, and multitool in hand.

I'm pretty well traveled, having spent four years living in Moscow with my family as a kid and summers and winters from then to now going places with my family or alone. Currently saving up for a fresh stint overseas- I'm thinking Spain or Turkey.

I'm an extremely easygoing guy. I'm open minded and I spend a lot of time simply observing and mentally documenting the world around me.
What I’m doing with my life
I currently have a day job as a moldmaker/woodworker, but im mainly focused on making my own work and meeting people and exploring.
I managed to land a really awesome studio, and i've started throwing parties, concerts, what have you there. I love music and I think my ultimate goal is to start a sort of artists co-op nightclub venue where we would build the place out and then have events. Something like if you combined mythbusters with a concert venue.
I want to build things and have adventures and explore.
I’m really good at
Maintaining a consistently high number of clumsiness induced cuts and scrapes. ImprovisIng and making a lot happen very quickly. Being distracted and getting a lot done at the same time somehow. Welding, woodworking, moldmaking and casting, maintaining an open mind, petting cat.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height, my hair, broadness of shoulder and ability to carry many scavenged things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A) Science fiction in general. Some fantasy. Some historical fiction. A lot of random books by random people. My library is on shuffle because of a much loved but somewhat erratic local thrift store.

B) Blade Runner, Brazil, anything Terry Gilliam, Scorsese, Buster Keaton, many things. If I havent seen it, let's! I also watch tons of bad movies to laugh at them.

B) b) television! Star trek, battlestar galactica, firefly, samurai jack, archer, mst3k, adventure time, bravest warriors, sherlock...

C) RJD2, Fischerspooner, They Might Be Giants, Claude Lamonthe, Frank Sinatra, Perry Como, James Brown, lots of electronic music, generally somewhat minimal in the area of Booka Shade or The Black Dog. A lot of EDM, IDM, goth, rockabilly, post goth, shoegaze, and industrial. Also honkey tonk, dixieland jazz, big band, soviet choral music, beach rock, swing both electro and non. Anything that gets me moving, my heart pumping, and my blood singing

D) I love food. I might love thai food the best, but polish food is a close second.
The six things I could never do without
My bike
bodega cats
My friends
My multitool
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How all of us little nuggets fit into this big city
On a typical Friday night I am
Drinking with friends, seeing a show, watching a movie, prowling the city, and making things. All or some of the above.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Once when I was a kid I had the brilliant idea of swinging upside down on a swingset that was cleverly anchored to a concrete slab. It did not go well.
You should message me if
You want to make things, play with the world around you, and like to get dirty.

I'm open to anything, really.

I'm not particularly looking for any one thing, I'm using okcupid as another tool to broaden my horizons in this city.