Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

LosDiablos

34 M Vancouver, British Columbia, CA

My Details

Last Online
Jun 28, 2010
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Spanish (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a recent Master of Publishing graduate at SFU, stymied by a publishing job market that seems to expect people to have "actual" "work experience". In the mean time, I'm working retail and doing the odd freelance job for friends and sending out a lot of resumes.

I'm a huge pop-culture nerd, which basically means I read comics, see a lot of movies, and can quote Simpsons extemporaneously. I'm also a bit of a vocabulary nerd, which manifests itself through the use of words like "stymied," "extemporaneously", and "manifests."

I am awesome, canadian, and a bibliophile
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In theory, looking for a job in publishing, ideally in production or design. In actuality, working at a bookstore and not sending out as many job applications and portfolios as I should be.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Remembering obscure trivia about movies and television. Talking about fonts and typography. Making spaghetti carbonara. Tetris. Not waking up early.

Now that I've been working at the bookstore for a while I'm getting crazy psychic powers that allow me to find books for people based on the barest descriptions. I once successfully filled a request for "The book by that East Indian chap."

(It was Vikram Seth's Two Lives, btw.)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Lately, that I don't have a beard, but that's just because I recently shaved it off and am going clean-shaven for the first time since high school.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: More non-fiction than fiction, and generally stuff that gets nebulously filed under categories like "cultural studies" and "literary memoirs." Recently, I've been re-reading the Lemony Snicket books and am positively giddy at the prospect of Book 13.

I also read a lot of comics and graphic novels. Box Office Poison, Scott Pilgrim, and Iron Wok Jan would rank among my favourites right now.

I'm a little ashamed to admit I've read every one of Piers Anthony's Xanth novels, and even though each one sucks more than the last I'll keep reading them until either Piers or I die. (Although I never finished the last one. It was so bad I've blocked it from my psyche and can't even remember the title.)

Movies: All-time most favouritest movie is the original Adventures of Robin Hood. The one with Errol Flynn, Basil Rathbone, Olivia de Havilland, glorious Technicolor. More recently I've loved Moulin Rouge, Amelie, City of God, Ghost World, Memento, L.A. Confidential, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and Reservoir Dogs.

Music: I listen to a lot of indie pop and rock, and I like stuff with one foot in folk and country. Lately, I've been listening a lot to The Decemberists, Arcade Fire, Metric, Rilo Kiley, Neko Case, Fiery Furnaces. The artists that take up the most space on my iPod are probably Holly Cole, Tom Waits, Johnny Cash, and the Tragically Hip. In fact, why don't you just have a look.

Food: I'm a picky eater and I probably still eat like a six-year-old, i.e., I'm not real big on eating my veggies. Perhaps ironically, I don't have a problem eating things like squid, octopus, or rabbit. I also love pasta, be it fancy spaghetti at a trattoria, a bowl of ramen or Kraft Easy Mac fresh from the microwave.

Why is there no Television: category? If there was I'd list The Office (US and UK versions), Veronica Mars, The Amazing Race, Project Runway, and my Freaks and Geeks DVDs under that. And of course The Simpsons though I'll admit I've barely watched the last five plus years, and really only think it was great for the first seven or eight seasons.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My iPod, my digital camera, travel, reading, Minion Pro and Myriad Pro (respectively my favourite serif and sans serif fonts).

Actually, I recently lost my iPod, so I guess I've shown I can do without it for at least a couple of months. It hasn't been fun, though.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Lately, working a closing shift at the bookstore. In a more perfect world, I'd be catching a movie or having a few drinks with some friends.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–54
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends