Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

LoverOfRain

32 Mountain View, CA Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 25–39
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Dec 1
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Vegan
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Other
Sign
Libra, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Medicine
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Grew up in Chicago, which I love though it's too cold. Went to a hippie liberal arts school where I deepened my interest in Buddhism and activism. Then moved here to California 7 years ago to study clinical psychology at a small graduate school for transpersonal psychology. The anticipated move up to San Francisco has yet to happen, but perhaps within the next year!

Generally wanting to live life to the fullest, finding joy and peace through mind, body and spirit. I love people, friends and community to be together, talk, inspire, dance and be.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I completed my PhD in clinical psychology (of the transpersonal variety, feel free to ask) last March, and since have been working as a psychotherapist in clinics oriented toward the integration of therapy with mindfulness, yoga, and social justice. Professionally speaking, I'm focusing on getting my hours toward licensure, and hoping to get in gear to go back to writing and hopefully start publishing based on my dissertation work.

Aside from work, I aim to live a balanced life where I connect with friends, am actively engaged in community/social transformation, feeding my spiritual life, practicing yoga... and oh so much more. Which makes the balancing act tricky at times. :)

One thing that is really important me is engaging with my community. Right now I organize a political book club where we discuss books, have salons, and cultivate constructive engagement around important issues we face in society today.

Ultimately, I hope that all I do is oriented around giving and receiving love. I've been called naive for many years, but I still do firmly believe that without the guiding principle of love, all our work toward a better society will fall short.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Loving people, showing empathy, listening. Oh, and parallel parking.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have big eyes like a cat.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Me Talk Pretty One Day, The Art of Loving, 1984, The Alchemist, The God of Small Things, Franny and Zooey, Getting to Yes, Eva Luna, The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr., The Autobiography of Malcolm X, Peace is Every Step, Siddhartha, Mountains Beyond Mountains, Like Water for Chocolate, All About Love

Books from growing up: Matilda, Anne of Green Gables, Wrinkle in Time, The Dark is Rising, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

Movies: Defending Your Life, The Royal Tenenbaums, Lost in Translation, Ordinary People, Midnight in Paris, Meet the Parents

TV: Mad Men, The West Wing, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Arrested Development, The Good Wife, Drop Dead Diva

Music: Earth, Wind, & Fire has geared me up for many writing projects or given me needed boosts when necessary, so thank you to them. I find myself listening to R&B a good deal of the time: Stevie Wonder, Sam Cooke, The Temptations. Sometimes Indie-ish: The xx, Regina Spektor, Rilo Kiley, The Postal Service. Often I listen to playlists of many varieties ranging from the Jackson 5 to Nick Drake to The Ronnettes, to Hot Chip, to Nina Simone etc... Heavy metal isn't really my thing.

Food: I love food and cooking when I have time. I'm Vegan, though in my experience this is less restrictive than popularly believed. I am obsessed with Thai drunken noodles.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends, family, food, sleep, and all that aside...

1. Drunken Noodles
2. My pets: Bella (the dog), and Emerson and Mariposa (my cats)
3. My yoga practice
4. Good books
5. Political engagement and dialogue
6. And I'd likely not make it without my contacts or glasses (good thing I'm not a cavewoman, I don't think I would have made it past cavegirl)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My friends took a look at my profile and said I seemed very "staid." Their advice was to let my freak flag fly. Consider this a tip of my hat to flying that flag.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!