MAhawkeye
35 Cambridge, MA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MAhawkeye
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved here from Iowa seven years ago and feel like I've blended the East Coast and the Midwest rather nicely. I work at biotech company in Cambridge. Sometimes I think that I spend too much time on work but I've recruited some of my close friends to work there and really like/believe in what I'm doing so that most days it really doesn't feel like work. That's not to suggest that I can't put my work away and enjoy myself, far from it.
Even though I think it's become a cliche to say this on dating sites, I enjoy rock climbing. I started bouldering about 18 months ago and really like it.
I can be a quiet person at times and much prefers smaller intimate settings, like a dinner party, to a loud club…unless I’m going to see a concert. I value the idea of having a personal set of standards or code and standing by them, even when doing so might be inconvenient. I’m very loyal, especially to friends and family. I consider myself to be emotionally steady and think that very little gets me upset or angry.
What I’m doing with my life
I try to appreciate the smaller things in life like enjoying: a good book, a hot cup of coffee first thing in the morning, day to day successes at work, learning something new, a good conversation with a friend, or an afternoon wondering around the city people watching.
The first things people usually notice about me
My perfectly shaped and aerodynamically sound head.
This is my way of saying I'm bald.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I don't really think that similar interests in these types of things necessarily lead to a better connection but they are a starting point for conversation so....

Books
I don't get to read as much as I use to but some of my favorite authors are;
W. Somerset Maughn, Chuck Palahniuk, Hunter S. Thompson, Irvine Welsh, Nick Hornsby, Dave Eggers, and Chuck Klosterman.

Movies
I don't really go to the movies so much any more but I'll watch any movie by Woody Allen or Wes Anderson.

Music
I listen to a lot of different music but ever since first listening to Johnny Cash's American Recordings I've been addicted to Alt. Country bands like Avett Brothers, The Sadies, The Jayhawks, Ryan Adams, Bright Eyes, Old 97's, Grant Lee Buffalo, and Uncle Tupelo.

Food
I like a wide range of food and will try just about anything. After growing up in the land of endless franchise restaurants (the Midwest) I avoid them if I can.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order and excluding things like family and oxygen;
Coffee, black (it's not even for the caffeine I just like the taste of good coffee)
A Car (I hardly ever use mine but when I want to go somewhere/anywhere I can and do)
The Gym (I injured my leg last year and couldn't work out for weeks, it really threw me off)
Spotify (the vast majority of all the music I've ever wanted to listen to available at a moments notice)
A nice pair of blue jeans (most of my waking hours are in them so I've learned to spend money on them)
Iowa football (it allows me to keep in touch with people I would've probably lost touch with)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, the Universe, Everything
On a typical Friday night I am
Who really has a typical Friday.
Sometimes I have plans, other times things come up, and then there are times I tell people I have plans only to spend the night watching netflix. What I am really trying to say is that I am up for most things.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoyed watching the Gilmore Girls when it was on
More