Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MG_the_WaterBoy

39 Madison, WI Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30–39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Nov 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Scruffy, nerdy, quiet guy. I'm about as close to the textbook introvert as one can get, and yet I like hanging out with friends or a party once in a while. Once I get comfortable with a person, I can be as silly and flirty as you could want. With a good sense of humor, there's no such thing as an awkward silence.

I am a research scientist, specifically in forests and hydrology, currently about halfway through my Ph.D. program. I am an analyst, programmer, and dot-connector. I like to do puzzles and figure stuff out. I am outspoken about the things that I pursue with passion, and I fancy myself a bit of a writer. Politically I'm generally liberal and mostly progressive. Intellectually I'm a bibliophile and informavore.

I have a 12-yo daughter who lives a few hours away, with her mother. I love her, dogs, irony (it's way more subtle than sarcasm), baseball, hiking, mountain biking, being outside, traveling whenever and wherever I can, general playfulness...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I was in grad school, then married, then worked several years in a research setting, then unmarried, now back to grad school to finish that off and expand my career possibilities for academic or government research positions.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Hanging out with my daughter, crossword and logic puzzles, sleeping in on the weekends, crafting an argument (intellectual, not emotional), cooking breakfast, turning coffee into science, questioning authority, playing with dogs, negotiating a crisis, appreciating natural beauty...
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Perhaps my hair? It's awesome. Nah, I'm not that vain... I'll try to think of something, but I hardly ever look at myself for the first time anymore.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: Dave Matthews Band, Wallflowers, early Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, blues from any era, old jazz, a little bluegrass.

Books: mystery/spy thrillers, nonfiction (general science, curiosities in math, Earth science, nature, history); favorite authors include John Muir, Aldo Leopold, John Le Carre, Vince Flynn, Alan Furst. I am currently reading my way through the entire Sherlock Holmes canon, among numerous other books...

TV: Sherlock, Game of Thrones, House of Cards, Justified, Lie to Me, Rubicon, House, Homicide, CSI, The IT Crowd, Jeeves & Wooster, The Daily Show, The Muppet Show, The Simpsons

Movies: tons, mostly drama and thrillers, some action movies. It's gotta be either extremely well-plotted and -written and -directed with a hint of moral ambiguity, a fun escapist action/adventure, something that makes me wonder "what would I do in that situation?" or completely absurdist comedy.

Food: Italian, Mexican, Chinese, burgers... pretty much everything except squash, cauliflower, and tofu.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books, sleep, coffee, bourbon, twitter, learning at least one new thing every day, water (it is my work, after all), my daughter's goofiness and smiles, and knowing that some rules can be broken for good reason.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Work and my dissertation, my daughter and the silly stuff we like to do together, science in general, who I hope to find as my ideal partner, things I want to write about, the injustices of the first-world/third-world dichotomy, jokes and puns and double-entendres, how to save the world, sex...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At happy hour with a few friends, or chilling at home with beers and my computer, maybe a movie... it depends on how the day/week/weekend/life is going.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have a very specific irrational fear of flying insects... not pretty and wonderful insects like butterflies and bumblebees, but cicadas just freak me out!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like dry wit and general playfulness in your everyday banter... You like to talk about the books you've read, but you'd prefer to talk about the one you want to write... You'd like go out for coffee or a drink and see where it goes from there...

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!