Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MKAustria

34 M San Diego, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Portuguese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I grew up as a TCK in Austria, speaking English at home and German in public school. My parents were "missionaries" working with a well-known evangelical ministry. Let me hasten to their defense by saying that they are also very good people. Like anyone else, I have my insecurities, but at the core I feel pretty secure, and I think I owe this above all else to my parents' love for me.

I grew up living in two cultural worlds: the world of church and family, and the world of school and of my secular friends. Just as I learned to speak two languages, I also learned to deftly navigate two very different cultural worlds. The upshot is that I am sensitive to social dynamics, diplomatic, and good at fitting in. The downside is that I can be a chameleon.

My psychology teacher in 11th grade rocked my world. He was brilliant and winsome--and an adamant atheist. He really got me thinking very seriously for the first time about why I believe what I believe. This started an intellectual and religious odyssey which has continued to the present day. I lost my faith in college, then had a re-conversion experience, ended up in divinity school (Yale), dabbled in ministry (one of the most incredible and challenging experiences of my life was working as a hospital chaplain), and then somehow--it's a long story--ended up back in graduate school studying philosophy, where my heart has slowly atrophied and my soul has shriveled. No, but seriously: I'm a hopeful agnostic. That's what I call an agnostic who prays.

I'm friends with a lot of different kinds of people and I like it that way. I have friends of different races, nationalities, ethnicities, sexual orientations, and religious and political persuasions. I also have good friends who are my parents' age.

People often trust me with their secrets and stories and come to me for advice. I find it rewarding to journey with people through difficult times in their lives.

I care about the issues of poverty, equality, human rights, global justice, and sustainability.

I'm constantly seeking to learn and broaden my horizons.

I have done a fair bit of international traveling and I totally love it. I also am huge into the outdoors. My brother and I climbed "The Grand" (WY) last summer in a day--it was quite epic. I would far prefer going for a walk on the beach at sunset to watching television.

I'm on a journey of growth and discovery. I'm hoping to find a partner in crime, someone who wants to have fun exploring the world together, someone who wants to live intentionally and be in a growth-oriented relationship, someone who is relationally mature, someone with a little chutzpah who'll call me to the mat and take a challenge.

I'm also interested in non-romantic relationships. New friends are always great. Let me know if you want to hit the climbing gym or practice German or Spanish or Portuguese. I'm also looking for someone to give me surf lessons...
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a philosophy PhD student, specializing in ethics. I'm planning to be a university professor, and would also like to be involved in some international projects. I'm seriously stoked about the life I get to live. I have to pinch myself sometimes just to make sure I'm not dreaming. I'm also managing an estate, which is hilarious because I have no administrative talent whatsoever. I'm a total klutz at it, but at least I'm learning a thing or two and making some extra money.
I’m really good at
being a goofball
playing with kids
being a space cadet
not judging people
being a listening ear
The six things I could never do without
family
friends
plenty of exercise
the outdoors
books
a sense of wonder
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how i can grow and develop as a person. philosophy stuff. poverty and global justice. how to live sustainably.
On a typical Friday night I am
chillin' with the homies
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I still have PTSD from being abducted by aliens at age 4. (I was also experimented on, but I'd rather not talk about that).
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
my profile resonates with you.