Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

M_M_Shelle

32 F New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 5:02pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish

Similar Users

My self-summary
I live passionately and purposefully. I'm always looking for new things to learn, new adventures and new challenges. You could say I'm curious about the world and engaged in life. I love to bike, hike, dance, read, run. One of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday is to take a stroll around the the northern tip of Manhattan. Living uptown is the best.

I've lived in Peru a few times and spent time in a few Central/South American countries and the Caribbean. Traveling excites me and I use my breaks to get out of the country as much as possible, usually somewhere that I'm able to practice my Spanish. (Which is much better than "OK" but not "fluent" either. C'mon OKC I need more choices!)

I used to teach hot yoga and do my best to practice 3-5 times per week. It keeps me centered, sane and stress free. I'm taking a teaching hiatus as I get used to my new work here and my new city.
What I’m doing with my life
I was a middle school teacher for six years before I decided to go to law school. I wanted more power to address the social injustices I saw as an educator. For me, becoming a lawyer was all about getting more power to work on behalf of communities and impact systems that perpetuate injustice. I'm passionate about immigrant justice, criminal "justice" reform and police practice reform.

I recently moved to the city to start work as a public defender, precisely the work I went to law school for. I love my job and my daily battle to inject a bit of humanity into a system designed to dehumanize. If none of this section makes sense, or resonates with you, or at least makes you curious, we might not be the best match.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm outspoken, cheerful and passionate.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love some good fiction but being in school until recently, I didn't get to read enough of it. Junot Diaz is fantastic and I find myself re-reading his work over and over. I read some Isabelle Allende last time I was in South America and enjoyed her work, hope to read more. Looking forward to Jhumpa Lahiri's new book. As for non-fiction I adore Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and its relevance to my work. I love a solo Sunday brunch and a New Yorker. Suggestions welcome.

I love music, most kinds, but not country. I dance to hip-hop and reggaeton, and I know enough salsa and bachata to make a night of Spanish dancing. Now that school's over I would love to get back into seeing live music. I've been deprived the last few years and I know there's enough music in this city to feed me for a lifetime. Feel free to show me around.

I haven't owned a TV since 2000. I watch some stuff on Netflix/HBOGO - the usual suspects I imagine. House of Cards, Mad Men, Girls, Scandal, Parks and Rec, random documentaries. I'm loving Orange is the New Black for a lot of reasons and seriously critiquing it for others.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order...
1. Community
2. Yoga
3. Challenge
4. Dancing + Music
5. Cuddling
6. NPR/New Yorker
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Ways to drastically change our broken criminal and immigration systems, when I can get in my next yoga class, what fun things are happening on Friday and Saturday night.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out dancing, or in watching a movie, or enjoying a delicious meal in a friend's home, or discussing issues of the day on a happy hour patio. If I'm lucky I'll be at a good concert or tasty restaurant.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Seriously? This is the internet.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 28–37
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're an intelligent, positive, passionate person who enjoys what they do and wants to share all that with someone similar.

You get lots of extra points if you live uptown.