Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MagicJuggler

27 M Charlotte, NC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:14pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Sagittarius
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), Latin (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Ah hello there. I moved to Charlotte around the tail end of 2011 for a software programming job; still with the job and have found at least a smallish number of friends outside of work as well, but still live in an apartment of one, room for two.

Oh, and for those whom must ask:
-INTP to a T (though the I is borderline).
-no kids/drug history/criminal record.
-"History/tech" nerd, not much of a "fandom" nerd.
-Agnostic-ish (am not a firebrand, one way or the other).
-Never really got into most college sports, though I did fencing (mostly foil, some epee) and archery (and am looking to get back into it) for what that's worth. Otherwise, am open to new things in general.

I'm crafty, forthright, and inquisitive.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
==What are you doing with your life?==
I renovated the apartment.
Work, work, work. Study. Cleanup, maintenance. Some videogames, some literature, some meetups here and there.

==Where do you see yourself in the next five years?==
"I want a wife, house, white picket fence, a dog named Skip, and for the wife to not actually be a Stepford android duplicate that will slowly take over the remainder of the neighborhood..."

In all seriousness, my current goals are roughly:
-Professional: Moving upward towards being a lead programmer, application architect, or some other position that is in the middle of being a pure code-jockey, and strict managerial role. Grabbing a few IT certifications wouldn't hurt either.
-Personal: Travel more! I've only been out of the country once. Put in any "craft skills" or "survival skills" on top of that.
-Relationships: Finding a good partner. I don't believe in a "the one" (though I'm more than willing to be proven wrong), so much as two people motivating each other to do more. Also, more long-term friends.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
==Coding Like a Boss==
If given 100 lines of code, I can probably do everything it does with 20 lines.
Sometimes I write code to write my code for me. And it works!
I used to play piano awhile back; still do now and then. Learned "Mad World" by Gary Jules recently. Although the current apartment sadly lacks the room for one, most my old fingerwork is still intact.
"How can you type without even looking at the keyboard?"

==Inspired Laziness==
Once upon a time, I was asked to translate a database script into another query language. I did so. I was then asked to translate at least a hundred more.
I flat-out told the person requesting that I honestly did not feel like doing it, and if asked to manually do it, I probably would make a lot of errors. Boredom leads to carelessness after all. *However*, I offered to write a quick-and dirty program to automatically parse and convert the queries in question and within two weeks, there was a happy client, and a sense of knowing that I wasn't just a mindless drone.

==Survival Cooking==
I was diagnosed with celiac when I was young. Between that, and dairy allergies, I've pretty much been gluten-free/dairy-free for most of my adult life. Naturally, this meant that come college-time, cafeteria food didn't make the grade. Of course, between roommate potlucks or emergency food preparations, it's lead to conversations like:
>"Hey you want some shakshouka?"
>"WHAT IS THAT EVEN?"

==Patience/Willingness to Teach==
"Thanks for taking the time out of your workschedule to instruct everyone on this program."
"SO MANY ART TUTORIALS! THANKS A MILLION!"
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
==Spanish Surname==
"Is your last name Italian?"
"You're Colombian? But you're white."

==Wikispock==
"How do you remember so many things/know so much/etc?"
"Do people tell you that you remind them of [Sheldon/House/Spock/Monk]?"

==Crazy-prepared==
"You keep spare screwdrivers in your backpack?"
"You keep a hammer in your passenger seat?"
"What *aren't* you carrying in that backpack?
"How many weeks of food *do* you store?"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
==Books==
-Notable Classics: Count of Monte Cristo, The Man Who Was Thursday, The Godfather
-Classic Science Fiction: Dune, I Robot, Starship Troopers, Stranger in a Strange Land...
-Some assorted historical/alternate-history stuff: The Flashman series, Yiddish Policemen's Union, etc.

==Movies==
Usually I find it easier to rate by director, unless it's a hit-and-miss director. That said:
-Stanley Kubrick (whether to credit him for "AI" is another debate).
-John Carpenter (up until Escape from LA)
-Ridley Scott (up until Body of Lies)
-Ivan Reitman (up until Ghostbusters 2).
-Mel Brooks (up until Men in Tights).

==Shows==
I don't have cable, so it's netflix and the internet for this one:
-The Daily Show/Colbert Report.
-It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia
-Portlandia (Put a bird on it!)

==Music==
-Satirical Music: Tom Lehrer is still a classic, as well as a good deal of Frank Zappa's stuff.
-Filk: For a classic example, look up "Banned From Argo" by Leslie Fish, or "When I was a Boy" by Frank Hayes.
-Some Trance: I keep up with A State of Trance, and pick stuff up from there. Currently, this includes most stuff from Armin van Buuren, Dash Berlin, ATB, and some Starchaser/Hoyaa/Aly&Fila.-
-Obligatory Classical Music Part: Requiem in D Minor, Dvorak's New World Symphony, Khachaturian's Symphony No. 2 - The Bell

==Food==
I sadly have a restricted diet and am gluten and dairy-free. As such, I learned to cook early. If I had to choose a "favorite" (thing I fix a lot), I would probably say hummus; nowadays I use it as a carrot dip.

Currently I'm trying out the smaller grocers/"ethnic markets" for specialty ingredients. I haven't done much with fish preparation (fried salmon once), but am planning to visit Clean Catch soon.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
I'm used to scarcity. That said, here we go:
-Caffeine: Still trying to cut back, though I require a lot.
-Limes: Useful for most types of cooking.
-Math: Number theory, magic numbers, pseudorandom numbers, set theory, linear matrix multiplication...being able to measure the world is a mark of power.
-The many many open-source projects that make my life "easier" when writing code.
-My toolbox: Screwdrivers, soldering iron, hammer, dremel, hacksaw...

Want to be #1?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Historically, work has occupied a lot of my thoughts. To ensure I am still thinking for myself, I got a notebook and started writing thoughts. Notably, a lot of the thoughts tend towards self-improvement, upcoming events, or assorted personal tech projects.

Currently I have something along the lines of:

==Self-Improvement==
"Note to self: Get in shape."
"Note to self: Learn how to host a wine party."
"Note to self: Get a better sofa setup."
"Note to self: Learn how to repair car dents."
"Note to self: Have fun."

==Project Ideas==
Just typing out this section, I realized I really should set up a wordpress account. Put "Completed Personal Projects" there.

"Instructables is a cool website for DIY Projects. Its interface overemphasizes pictures though. I better write a webcrawler to index all the articles by category/subcategory." (NOTE: This one is completed)
"Damn, I'm out of shape. But I can't half-ass it at the gym. I need a system. I'm going to write a small database to log my gym performance, and start crunching statistics. Now to progressively add weight, alter reps, and all this stuff."
"That mech engineer was onto something. I should build that doc-oc arm...of course, I don't know a damn thing about kinematics or pneumatics 101. Whom do I go to for help?"
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
In descending order of priorities/availability, I might either be:

-Supporting a project release for work.
-On a dinner/wine date, optional gallery/museum crawl.
-Attending a worthwhile meetup.

If none of the above, default to:
Hit the gym, fight off cubicle fat, then videogame. Or more recently, "code for self/study languages."
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well, there's the whole "no prior relationship/no sex" bit, for what it's worth. *shrug*

Or if this question is supposed to be taken less seriously:
My wallet was ripped on one side, and I had a sock with a hole in it. My solution was to unravel the sock for thread, and stitch the wallet back up.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–27
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
==Interested in Dating/Doing Stuff==
Hopefully we're here for similar reasons. Perhaps interest in:
-Attending a pottery or other craft class together.
-Boardgame/cardgame/etc meetups.
-Learning a historic/regional chess variant (I'm looking to learn Shogi :>)
-You want to work on some collaborative DIY project.
http://www.instructables.com/id/Animatronic-Cat-Ears/ perhaps.
-Attend a concert if some notable DJ or band is about.
-Suggest something proactive and creative!

==Profile Suggestions/Conversation/Snark==
By all means. Go for it.
Things you like/dislike about my profile, things you would consider red or green flags, or questions.
Or knock me off a high-horse.

Thanks for taking the time to read this profile.