Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MaineGuy17013

40 M Carlisle, PA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:05am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm very tall, very gentle, and quietly sarcastic; I throw around clever-yet-painful puns and hopefully half of them entertain. I'm easily attracted to those who have similar wit--handing it back to me when necessary, and hopefully laughing at any clever-yet-painful puns & playful sarcasm. I'm also a fan of the sometimes-goofy and silly, although I do have a serious side I'm known to turn a phrase or act the opposite my fair share of the time. Chemistry is immensely important on many levels, but one of the most attractive qualities of a woman, to me, is "sweetness"-- I'm a sucker for a sweetheart. I'm a hopeFUL romantic, not hopeless, and I'm the one who gets donuts or choco-croissant-things for good friends if they've had a bad day, "just coz".

I'm a stew of contradictions: quiet yet engaging; I crave solitude but gravitate towards people (and I'm accurately called 'shy' but my closest friends tend to be social and outgoing); I shun the limelight but love to be on stage singing with my old a cappella group; I'm a cat person who's growing to like dogs.... the list goes on. I'm a Gemini, so apparently that shouldn't surprise? (I had to look that up, by the way, astrology isn't my thing) Teachers run in my family, which is partly why I'm so partial to those who are also educators. "Those who can't, teach" is not an idiom that'll fly with me!

Family and Maine are more important to me than I can express, and I'm fiercely loyal to my friends and those who have touched my life either personally or professionally. I've lived in Nashville (grad school) and PA but my home state and family & old friends are never far from my mind.

I love laughter, and humor both subtle and overt, high-brow and slapstick, and I especially like to make others chuckle (even if it's as they roll their eyes).
What I’m doing with my life
College admissions - fast-paced most of the time, high-stress, but high-reward, too.
I’m really good at
reaching things on top shelves; making people groan (but smile) at puns & witty silly phrases; being Uncle Awesome to (read: a corrupting influence on) my 6-year old nephew; providing colleagues and visitors with endless supplies of snacks -- 42-oz bags of MnMs are currently popular.
The first things people usually notice about me
my height; or, if close enough, my eyes? blue-green, with (I'm told) long lashes
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
History & education-related (thanks, undergrad and grad school!), admission files, and sometimes quick paperback novels when running through airports. Waiting for "SuperFreakonomics" to come out in paperback.

MOVIES/TV: I like to laugh, so the high-brow ("Brighton Beach Memoirs", "Office Space"), the low-brow ("Dumb & Dumber", anything "Monty Python") and the flat-out ridiculous ("Zoolander", "Johnny Dangerously") are all good. And despite my protests to the contrary, I've been known to sit through a "chick flick" ("Serendipity", "Notebook", yadda yadda) and survive, if only temporarily scarred. Lots of SciFi works for me, the History Channel, and I wish CNN and other outlets weren't so "newsertainment" now, I prefer my commentary straight up with no informal (and unprofessional) opinions.

MUSIC: Most anything by Ray Charles gets me goin ("Halleluja I Love Her So" is tops), and assorted classics--some say "Oldies", I prefer the former term. Older Moxy Früvous, a few Broadway shows, and a cappella if it's done well. And "Tainted Love", thanks to friends old & new. "Walking bass lines" in jazz make me groove, and a little more Chet Baker in life is all you need. I have old 90s rock tapes, I easily do EasyListening, but sorry, not a country music guy. Not even 2 years in Nashville could change that tune.

FOOD: Big G's in Waterville, ME; garlic; shredded cheese; various pastas; Indian; various family recipes that I attempt on my own-- my mom and both grandmothers are/were phenomenal cooks! I need to be more on the healthy side so cutting fr food, fried stuff, etc. out of the diet has been tough but necessary.
The six things I could never do without
in no particular order: family (especially the nephew); wit--mine and especially someone else's; close friends, colleagues and favorite students/alums; contact lenses; my Mac (or the work PC, sadly); and Steve Martin's "The Jerk" - which I invoke in case I ever want More Things Than I'll Ever Need.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I can make life easier and more entertaining for people I know; how to help my 23-lb cat lose more weight; Maine; household physics (e.g., how computer or cell phone cords impossibly entangle themselves, even though they'd been carefully coiled once before); coming up with clever turns of phrases; how fascinating life and people can be.
On a typical Friday night I am
hopefully not working! But a possibility, sadly, as I love my job and it can envelop all of us in the office. Sometimes out, sometimes in @ home--watching "Daily Show"/"Colbert", or some "Arrested Development", "Family Guy" or Sox/Celtics. On the phone or IM with friends, family (nephew!), etc. Movies, reading or an occasional outing with friends & colleagues.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I watch the Original Kings of Comedy a few times a year; Steve Harvey is damn funny. Also, I might dance juuuuust a little bit in my seat when I'm eating something really tasty-- nothing too embarrassing for company, tho. Anything deeper than that, will cost you a message...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you think "stable" doesn't equal "boring" -- just like "observant" and "pensive" don't equal "quiet" or "brooding"! ; you're patient and relish time in a comfort zone... while thinking of how to extend it slightly; and if you like being up on your toes (especially tall girls) but also grounded on your feet. And if you like to smile & chuckle-- that'll happen a lot.