Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Mandelblurb

28 M Salt Lake City, UT

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I moved here from Chicago last summer to get my Ph. D. in mathematics. So far, so good! I'm a tragically deficient outdoorsman. I blame an upbringing in the flattest, most built-up expanses of the midwest.

I'm highly self-disciplined. I get up early and I get stuff done. I think of it as giving myself the freedom not to sweat the rest. Besides, at the crack of dawn, the donuts are fresher, and the awesome breakfast places less crowded.
What I’m doing with my life
Burrowing deep into the soft innards of professional academia, stress baking, and cultivating a stupid fake Austrian accent. Two of these three things are going very, very well.

Basically my hope is to become Jeff Goldblum's character from Jurassic Park except I don't really care/know anything about chaos theory. Mostly I aspire to owning those glasses and getting invited to islands.
I’m really good at
Math. It pays my bills. These days I mostly think of this as the ability to stay calm in the face of a very specific kind of wild animal.

Words?

I can whip up a homemade pie crust with brutal efficiency. My pastry blender has seen many campaigns.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably how weird the words coming out of my mouth are, judging by the looks I get from strangers when having conversations in public.

My awesome 'phases of the moon' shopping bag which is probably full of dairy products, onions, and various kinds of cabbage.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm bored of TV. I'm trying to appreciate books again. I went through 'em like nothing when I was a teenager. Gaiman and Dick are my stalwarts. Currently reading Adichie, Atwood is next. (Edit: Atwood is Now!)

If I had a favorite band, it would be Sleater-Kinney. I love me some good, loud guitar music and folk-derived substances. Typhoon and Bombay Bicycle Club have been in heavy rotation. Impatiently awaiting the new Little Dragon album.

I like to follow directors. Werner Herzog will always have a place in my heart, even though (well, if I'm honest largely because) he is a dangerous crazy person. Alfred Hitchcock and Billy Wilder are easy choices. Technicolor musicals, black & white noir flicks, and grimey 70s thrillers.

I'd rather cook than eat out, if only because it brings me the exact opposite kind of satisfaction I get from what I do for the money. Figs, heaps of greens, fresh biscuits, cold carrot juice...

Artists should go on here, too; Klimt, Kahlo, Dali, Weiwei, Qiang, Fairey
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Bein' a tiny, ephemeral creature.

Privilege, justice, and guilt as they pertain to my little corner of human life. see attached scrap of internet. Why men need feminism too.
On a typical Friday night I am
In. Probably with a book and tea. Or it might be movie night/boardgames with the math grad student tribe
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Besides my father, I'm the only member of my immediate family (there are seven of us) without any tattoos or piercings.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 20–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're smart as hell and you will kick an ass if you see one.

You're a feminist.

You need a partner to train for Olympic-level pairs combined documentary watching and cuddling. The Rio games are just around the corner!